Cannot get PHP to load php_imagick.dll

Problems with the Windows version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

Cannot get PHP to load php_imagick.dll

Postby Handler » 06. May 2014 22:14

Hello!

I'm having an issue trying to get php_imagick.dll to load. I tried all the tricks I know and it still isn't working. Tried giving the full path to the dll and php still complains that it can't find it.

[06-May-2014 20:47:07 UTC] PHP Warning: PHP Startup: Unable to load dynamic library '\xampp\php\ext\php_imagick.dll' - The specified module could not be found.

in Unknown on line 0

[06-May-2014 20:47:10 UTC] PHP Warning: PHP Startup: Unable to load dynamic library '\xampp\php\ext\php_imagick.dll' - The specified module could not be found.

in Unknown on line 0


My php.ini file is where its supposed to be and there is no other one in the Windows directory. I double checked that, been bit to many times!

Image

Apache know where the ImageMagic installation is

Image

I'm loading the extensions from the correct place as well

Image

and php_imagick.dll is in that path

Image

I don't understand why it isn't finding the dll when it is there!

Any help would be appreciated!

Regards,

Dave
Handler
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 01. April 2014 03:07
Operating System: Vista x64

Re: Cannot get PHP to load php_imagick.dll

Postby JJ_Tagy » 06. May 2014 22:35

I doubt it will find it in /xmapp/ImageMagick
JJ_Tagy
 
Posts: 678
Joined: 30. January 2012 13:44
Operating System: Windows 10 Pro x64

Re: Cannot get PHP to load php_imagick.dll

Postby Handler » 07. May 2014 00:07

JJ_Tagy wrote:I doubt it will find it in /xmapp/ImageMagick


bah! Ok, I fixed that!

Still won't load the dll. :(
Handler
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 01. April 2014 03:07
Operating System: Vista x64

Re: Cannot get PHP to load php_imagick.dll

Postby JJ_Tagy » 07. May 2014 00:43

Where did you get the dll? What PHP was it compiled for and what version are you running? Is it a new error or the same?
JJ_Tagy
 
Posts: 678
Joined: 30. January 2012 13:44
Operating System: Windows 10 Pro x64

Re: Cannot get PHP to load php_imagick.dll

Postby Handler » 07. May 2014 02:11

JJ_Tagy wrote:Where did you get the dll? What PHP was it compiled for and what version are you running? Is it a new error or the same?


Ok! It's the latest version of XAMPP so the PHP version is 5.5. And I got the dll from http://www.peewit.fr/imagick/ I took the thread safe. And ImageMagic is from this ImageMagick-6.8.9-0-Q16-x86-windows.zip

The failure to load the dll is the same message from when I first posted this thread.

If you know of fool proof documentation on how to setup XAMMP with ImageMagic point me in the direction. I'll start from scratch it doesn't bother me!
Handler
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 01. April 2014 03:07
Operating System: Vista x64

Re: Cannot get PHP to load php_imagick.dll

Postby JJ_Tagy » 07. May 2014 18:59

To get imagick to work on Win7 and XAMPP 1.8.3-4, I used: ImageMagick-6.8.9-0-Q16-x86-dll.exe and imagick 3.1.2 dll (5.5 thread safe x86). I also needed to download vcomp110.dll and place it in the magick home directory. Finally, I edited the httpd.conf to add the MAGICK_HOME ENV variable, php.ini to add the extension, and the system path to add the MAGICK_CONFIGURE and MAGICK_CODER module and filter paths.
JJ_Tagy
 
Posts: 678
Joined: 30. January 2012 13:44
Operating System: Windows 10 Pro x64

Re: Cannot get PHP to load php_imagick.dll

Postby Handler » 07. May 2014 22:27

I forget to mention. This is a portable setup, on a thumb drive. Sorry!
Handler
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 01. April 2014 03:07
Operating System: Vista x64

Re: Cannot get PHP to load php_imagick.dll

Postby JJ_Tagy » 08. May 2014 03:12

I would install the files into xampp/imagemagick or something like that and then establish the ENV variables on each machine you use it on - or have a batch file set them.
JJ_Tagy
 
Posts: 678
Joined: 30. January 2012 13:44
Operating System: Windows 10 Pro x64

Re: Cannot get PHP to load php_imagick.dll

Postby Handler » 08. May 2014 13:30

JJ_Tagy wrote:I would install the files into xampp/imagemagick or something like that and then establish the ENV variables on each machine you use it on - or have a batch file set them.


I basically did that. Except for using ImageMagick-6.8.9-0-Q16-x86-dll.exe I used the .zip and unzipped it into /xammp/imagemagick of the thumb drive. Only difference here is the php dll and I didn't have the vcomp110.dll. Which I'll get and put in the imagemagick folder.

Now the MAGICK_CONFIGURE and MAGICK_CODER module and filter paths. What should I do with those?
Handler
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 01. April 2014 03:07
Operating System: Vista x64

Re: Cannot get PHP to load php_imagick.dll

Postby JJ_Tagy » 08. May 2014 14:24

From the command prompt (or in your advanced system settings to set user or system variables), I set the following:
Code: Select all
SET MAGICK_HOME=C:/xampp/imagemagick
SET MAGICK_CONFIGURE_PATH=%MAGICK_HOME%/config
SET MAGICK_CODER_FILTER_PATH=%MAGICK_HOME%/modules/filters
SET MAGICK_CODER_MODULE_PATH=%MAGICK_HOME%/modules/coders


After that, you can type 'SET' from the command prompt to verify those variables are set.
Code: Select all
...
MAGICK_CODER_FILTER_PATH=C:/xampp/imagemagick/modules/filters
MAGICK_CODER_MODULE_PATH=C:/xampp/imagemagick/modules/coders
MAGICK_CONFIGURE_PATH=C:/xampp/imagemagick/config
MAGICK_HOME=C:/xampp/imagemagick
...
Path=C:\xampp\imagemagick;...
JJ_Tagy
 
Posts: 678
Joined: 30. January 2012 13:44
Operating System: Windows 10 Pro x64

Re: Cannot get PHP to load php_imagick.dll

Postby cynardata » 27. August 2014 04:57

JJ_Tagy wrote:From the command prompt (or in your advanced system settings to set user or system variables), I set the following:
Code: Select all
SET MAGICK_HOME=C:/xampp/imagemagick
SET MAGICK_CONFIGURE_PATH=%MAGICK_HOME%/config
SET MAGICK_CODER_FILTER_PATH=%MAGICK_HOME%/modules/filters
SET MAGICK_CODER_MODULE_PATH=%MAGICK_HOME%/modules/coders


After that, you can type 'SET' from the command prompt to verify those variables are set.
Code: Select all
...
MAGICK_CODER_FILTER_PATH=C:/xampp/imagemagick/modules/filters
MAGICK_CODER_MODULE_PATH=C:/xampp/imagemagick/modules/coders
MAGICK_CONFIGURE_PATH=C:/xampp/imagemagick/config
MAGICK_HOME=C:/xampp/imagemagick
...
Path=C:\xampp\imagemagick;...


would you put how you add apache httpd.conf?
i still got this : "PHP Warning: PHP Startup: Unable to load dynamic library 'H:\xampp\php\ext\php_imagick.dll' - The specified procedure could not be found."
cynardata
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 27. August 2014 04:21
Operating System: windows 7

Re: Cannot get PHP to load php_imagick.dll

Postby JJ_Tagy » 27. August 2014 15:57

Code: Select all
SetEnv MAGICK_HOME "C:/xampp/imagemagick"

This can be verified on your phpinfo() page if successful.

However, when I deleted everything and started fresh with new XAMPP, the 6.8.9.0 is no longer available and 6.8.9.7 with the above combination doesn't seem compatible with this build any more. I'm still going to try to get this to work some time in the future.
JJ_Tagy
 
Posts: 678
Joined: 30. January 2012 13:44
Operating System: Windows 10 Pro x64

Re: Cannot get PHP to load php_imagick.dll

Postby JJ_Tagy » 27. August 2014 17:43

I've reverted back to 6.8.9-0 and all works fine, so you can't use 6.8.9-7 in this environment.

Archive: http://ftp.sunet.se/pub/multimedia/grap ... 86-dll.exe

Make sure you copy the core dll files from imagick 3.1.2 on top of the 6.8.9-0 files.
JJ_Tagy
 
Posts: 678
Joined: 30. January 2012 13:44
Operating System: Windows 10 Pro x64


Return to XAMPP for Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 58 guests