apache crash

Problems with the Windows version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

apache crash

Postby IberoMedia » 23. April 2014 20:16

Hello,

Every time I start Apache from xampp's control panel I get the following errors:

[Wed Apr 23 12:12:26.593575 2014] [core:warn] [pid 5696:tid 260] AH00098: pid file C:/xampp/apache/logs/httpd.pid overwritten -- Unclean shutdown of previous Apache run?
[Wed Apr 23 12:12:26.826588 2014] [mpm_winnt:notice] [pid 5696:tid 260] AH00455: Apache/2.4.9 (Win32) OpenSSL/1.0.1g PHP/5.5.11 configured -- resuming normal operations
[Wed Apr 23 12:12:26.826588 2014] [mpm_winnt:notice] [pid 5696:tid 260] AH00456: Apache Lounge VC11 Server built: Mar 16 2014 12:13:13
[Wed Apr 23 12:12:26.826588 2014] [core:notice] [pid 5696:tid 260] AH00094: Command line: 'c:\\xampp\\apache\\bin\\httpd.exe -d C:/xampp/apache'
[Wed Apr 23 12:12:26.828588 2014] [mpm_winnt:notice] [pid 5696:tid 260] AH00418: Parent: Created child process 7300
[Wed Apr 23 12:12:27.657636 2014] [mpm_winnt:notice] [pid 7300:tid 272] AH00354: Child: Starting 150 worker threads.

Previous to this start, I stopped the service through the stop button of the XAMPP's Control Panel. But one of the errors indicates
"Unclean shutdown of previous Apache run?"

What is the proper way to shut it down?

How do I correct these errors?

Thank you
IberoMedia
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 03. May 2011 23:05

Re: apache crash

Postby JJ_Tagy » 23. April 2014 22:31

I don't see any errors.
JJ_Tagy
 
Posts: 678
Joined: 30. January 2012 13:44
Operating System: Windows 10 Pro x64

Re: apache crash

Postby IberoMedia » 24. April 2014 04:28

[Wed Apr 23 12:12:26.593575 2014] [core:warn] [pid 5696:tid 260] AH00098: pid file C:/xampp/apache/logs/httpd.pid overwritten -- Unclean shutdown of previous Apache run?
IberoMedia
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 03. May 2011 23:05

Re: apache crash

Postby JJ_Tagy » 24. April 2014 10:40

Make it as big as you want, it doesn't become an error.
JJ_Tagy
 
Posts: 678
Joined: 30. January 2012 13:44
Operating System: Windows 10 Pro x64

Re: apache crash

Postby gsmith » 24. April 2014 17:40

It's not a fatal error (listed as error and keeping Apache from starting) but Apache is not lasting long enough to do it's cleanup of the pid file for some reason. I would imagine that button should be relaying the proper way. You can always check by going into Services in windows administrative tools and shutting down/starting up from there and see if you still get this. If you do then there may be something in the Event Log (also in administrative tools) about it.
gsmith
 
Posts: 194
Joined: 29. November 2013 18:04
Location: San Diego
XAMPP version: 0.0.0
Operating System: Win XP to 2012R2/VS 6,9,11,14

Re: apache crash

Postby JJ_Tagy » 24. April 2014 17:55

I've never seen XAMPP delete the pid file. Not doing so doesn't stop Apache from starting or cause it to crash.
JJ_Tagy
 
Posts: 678
Joined: 30. January 2012 13:44
Operating System: Windows 10 Pro x64

Re: apache crash

Postby gsmith » 24. April 2014 22:03

So you're saying it just terminates the process? Ugly.

for IberoMedia, other ways to shut down Apache are

from a command prompt as administrator cd'd to Apache's bin folder
httpd -k stop

or from anywhere
net stop apache2.4
gsmith
 
Posts: 194
Joined: 29. November 2013 18:04
Location: San Diego
XAMPP version: 0.0.0
Operating System: Win XP to 2012R2/VS 6,9,11,14

Re: apache crash

Postby Altrea » 25. April 2014 00:20

gsmith wrote:So you're saying it just terminates the process? Ugly.

terminating the process is AFAIK the only way Apache can be stopped in all XAMPP purposes (running without administrator priviledges and without windows services.
If you know a better/cleaner way that don't needs administrator rights or windows service let us know.
We don't provide any support via personal channels like PM, email, Skype, TeamViewer!

It's like porn for programmers 8)
User avatar
Altrea
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 8294
Joined: 17. August 2009 13:05
XAMPP version: several
Operating System: Windows 10 Pro x64

Re: apache crash

Postby gsmith » 25. April 2014 02:18

Ok, my mistake, I thought Apache was running as a service but looking at xampp_start.c and xampp_stop.c I see I was in err.
gsmith
 
Posts: 194
Joined: 29. November 2013 18:04
Location: San Diego
XAMPP version: 0.0.0
Operating System: Win XP to 2012R2/VS 6,9,11,14


Return to XAMPP for Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 70 guests