Apache wont start

Problems with the Windows version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

Apache wont start

Postby stormie575 » 28. March 2014 20:46

I keep getting this error message when attempting to start Apache. It was working fine, but no matter what I do, I cannot figure out how to unblock port 80. Please help...
1:27:50 PM [Apache] Problem detected!
1:27:50 PM [Apache] Port 80 in use by "Unable to open process" with PID 4!
1:27:50 PM [Apache] Apache WILL NOT start without the configured ports free!
1:27:50 PM [Apache] You need to uninstall/disable/reconfigure the blocking application
1:27:50 PM [Apache] or reconfigure Apache and the Control Panel to listen on a different port
1:27:50 PM [Apache] Attempting to start Apache app...
1:27:50 PM [Apache] Status change detected: running
1:27:54 PM [Apache] Status change detected: stopped
1:27:54 PM [Apache] Error: Apache shutdown unexpectedly.
1:27:54 PM [Apache] This may be due to a blocked port, missing dependencies,
1:27:54 PM [Apache] improper privileges, a crash, or a shutdown by another method.
1:27:54 PM [Apache] Press the Logs button to view error logs and check
1:27:54 PM [Apache] the Windows Event Viewer for more clues
1:27:54 PM [Apache] If you need more help, copy and post this
1:27:54 PM [Apache] entire log window on the forums
Posts: 1
Joined: 28. March 2014 20:41
Operating System: Windows 7

Re: Apache wont start

Postby Nobbie » 29. March 2014 11:22

Posts: 8640
Joined: 09. March 2008 13:04

Re: Apache wont start

Postby sublithium » 29. March 2014 18:23

I had the same issue when I first started using Xampp. I found a solution on my own, and was a bit embarassed when I realized it. When you open the program it also opens a command prompt window (A black screened window that doesn't pop up in front of you but down on the bottom, it's just minimized) If you close that and then hit the apache start button it should come on. That command prompt window is operating on port 80, and that is the same port Apache is trying to use. If you already did that and it's not working use the netstat button to see what ports are open. I don't know if what I just suggested helps you, but sometimes when I am working on programs I never used before I find there are some "help" things that are so simple that people writing "how to's" just assume we all will know or are all common sense, that would may not be so for all of us. Cheers! :D
Posts: 1
Joined: 29. March 2014 18:13
Operating System: Windows 8

Return to XAMPP for Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 51 guests