Page 1 of 1

MySQL my.ini editting error!

PostPosted: 09. March 2014 08:26
by grestin
I just got XAMPP today. When I edited, for example
# The port the master is listening on.
# optional - defaults to 3306
master-port = 3306


ORIGINAL WAS:
# The port the master is listening on.
# optional - defaults to 3306
#master-port = <port>

I got a log error, saying the code was nil. Any help?

Re: MySQL my.ini editting error!

PostPosted: 09. March 2014 16:10
by grestin
2014-03-09 11:10:52 2140 [ERROR] c:\xampp\mysql\bin\mysqld.exe: unknown variable 'master-port=3306'

Re: MySQL my.ini editting error!

PostPosted: 09. March 2014 21:32
by JJ_Tagy
Are you replicating a slave or just trying to change the MySQL port? If the latter, you are editing the wrong section. If the former, you need to change more than just that one line. That and 3306 is default anyways.

Re: MySQL my.ini editting error!

PostPosted: 10. March 2014 01:24
by grestin
Another example, when I change the host on it. I get what you mean, but is it the same processes for changing the host IP?

Re: MySQL my.ini editting error!

PostPosted: 10. March 2014 01:27
by grestin
And what else do I need to change besides that one line?

Re: MySQL my.ini editting error!

PostPosted: 10. March 2014 03:55
by JJ_Tagy
That all depends on what you are trying to do - as asked above.

Re: MySQL my.ini editting error!

PostPosted: 14. March 2014 21:48
by grestin
I'm trying to replicate the slave.

Re: MySQL my.ini editting error!

PostPosted: 14. March 2014 23:36
by JJ_Tagy
A lot of information/instructions on replication: http://dev.mysql.com/doc/refman/5.6/en/replication.html

Re: MySQL my.ini editting error!

PostPosted: 16. March 2014 02:25
by grestin
I got a tutorial
When I set the MASTER-HOST to the IP, I got this:
2014-03-15 21:26:02 2040 [ERROR] c:\xampp\mysql\bin\mysqld.exe: unknown variable 'master-host=00.00.00.00'

(I replaced it with 0s cause I dont want my IP out there)
Then it proceeded to abort.

Re: MySQL my.ini editting error!

PostPosted: 16. March 2014 04:29
by JJ_Tagy
Looks like as of MySQL 5.5, they removed the config options. In order to set up replication, you should follow the current instructions.

http://dev.mysql.com/doc/refman/5.5/en/ ... slave.html