I cannot get multiple domains to work

Problems with the Windows version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

I cannot get multiple domains to work

Postby mrpeabody3119 » 31. January 2014 02:47

I have been working on this for 2 solid days and cannot figure out whats going on please help :(

Im to new of a user so it wont let me copy my config files so ill do what I can web address are coms

NameVirtualHost *:80

<VirtualHost *80>
ServerAdmin postmaster@dummy-host.localhost
Servername austincablingnetwork
ServerAlias austincablingnetwork
DocumentRoot "C:/xampp/htdocs/networkingdb"
<Directory "C:/xampp/htdocs/networkingdb">
Options Indexes FollowSymLinks Includes ExecCGI
AllowOverride All
Order allow,deny
Allow from all
</Directory>
</VirtualHost>

NameVirtualHost *:80

<VirtualHost *:80>
ServerAdmin postmaster@dummy-host.localhost
Servername perfectlymaidintexas
ServerAlias perfectlymaidintexas
DocumentRoot "C:/xampp/htdocs/perfectlymaid/"
<Directory "C:/xampp/htdocs/perfectlymaid">
Options Indexes FollowSymLinks Includes ExecCGI
AllowOverride All
Order allow,deny
Allow from all
</Directory>
</VirtualHost>
mrpeabody3119
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 30. January 2014 23:00
Operating System: windows xp

Re: I cannot get multiple domains to work

Postby JJ_Tagy » 31. January 2014 04:24

First, your profile says 1.8.3 and your system shows WinXP. Make sure you read through the description of the different versions on the main page as certain PHP won't work on XP.

Second, which do you think is correct?
Code: Select all
<VirtualHost *80>

or
Code: Select all
<VirtualHost *:80>


You can check at http://httpd.apache.org/docs/2.2/vhosts/examples.html

EDIT: Are you using NameVirtualHost twice or is that a copy/paste issue?
JJ_Tagy
 
Posts: 788
Joined: 30. January 2012 13:44
XAMPP version: 5.5.15
Operating System: Windows 10 Pro x64

Re: I cannot get multiple domains to work

Postby mrpeabody3119 » 31. January 2014 04:35

It is on there twice, also yes I have 1.8.2

second: :80?
mrpeabody3119
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 30. January 2014 23:00
Operating System: windows xp

Re: I cannot get multiple domains to work

Postby mrpeabody3119 » 31. January 2014 04:43

So i put in "<VirtualHost *:80>"

now when I go to austincablingnetwork it redirects it to austincablingnetwork.xxx:8002
mrpeabody3119
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 30. January 2014 23:00
Operating System: windows xp

Re: I cannot get multiple domains to work

Postby JJ_Tagy » 31. January 2014 12:03

You only need it once as * means all.

I assume you either created a proxy pass or URL rewrite somewhere. Perhaps in a .htaccess? Only you can answer what you did.
JJ_Tagy
 
Posts: 788
Joined: 30. January 2012 13:44
XAMPP version: 5.5.15
Operating System: Windows 10 Pro x64

Re: I cannot get multiple domains to work

Postby mrpeabody3119 » 31. January 2014 23:54

my htaccess file

Code: Select all
# BEGIN WordPress
<IfModule mod_rewrite.c>
RewriteEngine On
RewriteBase /
RewriteRule ^index\.php$ - [L]
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-f
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-d
RewriteRule . /index.php [L]
</IfModule>

# END WordPress
mrpeabody3119
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 30. January 2014 23:00
Operating System: windows xp

Re: I cannot get multiple domains to work

Postby mrpeabody3119 » 31. January 2014 23:56

host file xxx is com


Code: Select all
127.0.0.1       perfectlymaidintexas.xxx
127.0.0.1       Austincablingnetwork.xxx
mrpeabody3119
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 30. January 2014 23:00
Operating System: windows xp

Re: I cannot get multiple domains to work

Postby JJ_Tagy » 01. February 2014 02:02

None of that would change ports. Perhaps you added something to httpd.conf or httpd-xampp.conf
JJ_Tagy
 
Posts: 788
Joined: 30. January 2012 13:44
XAMPP version: 5.5.15
Operating System: Windows 10 Pro x64

Re: I cannot get multiple domains to work

Postby Nobbie » 01. February 2014 11:25

mrpeabody3119 wrote:So i put in "<VirtualHost *:80>"

now when I go to austincablingnetwork it redirects it to austincablingnetwork.xxx:8002


Whats wrong with you? A few hours before you told us that you "somehow" fixed this one:

viewtopic.php?f=16&t=67959
Nobbie
 
Posts: 13171
Joined: 09. March 2008 13:04

Re: I cannot get multiple domains to work

Postby mrpeabody3119 » 01. February 2014 19:58

I would like to delete this post I have done a clean install and I am not getting these particular errors.
mrpeabody3119
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 30. January 2014 23:00
Operating System: windows xp


Return to XAMPP for Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 77 guests