How do I get register_globals on for one site

Problems with the Windows version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

How do I get register_globals on for one site

Postby gwmbox » 10. December 2013 09:12

I use my local xampp for my own local development use so security is not an issue.

I am trying to install an older version of Oscommerce for testing but it requires register_globals to be on.

Can someone please explain how I can get register_globals to work on xampp please for just the one web site please.

Thanks
User avatar
gwmbox
 
Posts: 18
Joined: 15. January 2011 03:34
XAMPP Version: 1.8.3-2
Operating System: Windows 7 64-bit

Re: How do I get register_globals on for one site

Postby Altrea » 10. December 2013 11:40

.htaccess rule!?
We don't provide any support via personal channels like PM, email, Skype, TeamViewer!

It's like porn for programmers 8)
User avatar
Altrea
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 6946
Joined: 17. August 2009 13:05
XAMPP Version: 5.5.19
Operating System: Windows 10 Pro x64

Re: How do I get register_globals on for one site

Postby Nobbie » 10. December 2013 13:36

gwmbox wrote:Can someone please explain how I can get register_globals to work on xampp please for just the one web site please.


There is no solution for Xampp 1.8.2

Altrea wrote:.htaccess rule!?


No.

From http://www.php.net/manual/en/security.globals.php

Warning

This feature has been DEPRECATED as of PHP 5.3.0 and REMOVED as of PHP 5.4.0
Nobbie
 
Posts: 7135
Joined: 09. March 2008 13:04

Re: How do I get register_globals on for one site

Postby Altrea » 10. December 2013 17:22

Thanks for clarification, Nobbie. Didn't need this rule for ages :D

Recommend way to reactivate old applications for testing and development reasons is to use an older version of XAMPP. It is very common that old applications are not able to run with current PHP versions.
We don't provide any support via personal channels like PM, email, Skype, TeamViewer!

It's like porn for programmers 8)
User avatar
Altrea
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 6946
Joined: 17. August 2009 13:05
XAMPP Version: 5.5.19
Operating System: Windows 10 Pro x64

Re: How do I get register_globals on for one site

Postby gwmbox » 12. December 2013 01:33

I am using 1.8.1, so my solution would be to install an older version of xampp like 1.7.2? Can I have both versions installed at the same time on the same computer?

Cheers
User avatar
gwmbox
 
Posts: 18
Joined: 15. January 2011 03:34
XAMPP Version: 1.8.3-2
Operating System: Windows 7 64-bit

Re: How do I get register_globals on for one site

Postby Altrea » 12. December 2013 10:06

gwmbox wrote:I am using 1.8.1, so my solution would be to install an older version of xampp like 1.7.2?

You can use any version using at maximum PHP 5.3 (XAMPP 1.7.7 and below).
Recommend stable versions are XAMPP 1.7.7, XAMPP 1.7.3 or XAMPP 1.7.1.
XAMPP 1.7.2 have had some issues.

gwmbox wrote:Can I have both versions installed at the same time on the same computer?

Using the .zip version is recommend and if you don't register any windows services to start any of the XAMPP installation automatically, then yes you can have multiple XAMPP installations at the same time installed on the same computer (but cannot start them at the same time because they are configurated to use the same ports by default)
We don't provide any support via personal channels like PM, email, Skype, TeamViewer!

It's like porn for programmers 8)
User avatar
Altrea
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 6946
Joined: 17. August 2009 13:05
XAMPP Version: 5.5.19
Operating System: Windows 10 Pro x64


Return to XAMPP for Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 60 guests