How can i set up XAMPP to interact with public domain

Problems with the Windows version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

How can i set up XAMPP to interact with public domain

Postby borjaevo » 20. June 2013 13:27

I have a xampp server with some webpages. I can access to this websites using a public IP. Some days ago i bought a domain .com and i want to use it with one of the websites stored in my xampp server.
The problem is only have the option of full redirect (so the IP is showed) or view in a frame (so domain is static across web sections).
i want my domain (for example: www.example.com) is showed like www.example.com/contact.html if i am in contact section.
My system is a windows 2008 server. I read that i have to set up a DNS server and create one virtual host in apache config for each website but i don't how can i do it.
Can help me? Thanks.
borjaevo
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 20. June 2013 13:12
XAMPP Version: 5.6.3
Operating System: Windows Server 2008

Re: How can i set up XAMPP to interact with public domain

Postby CraftyMc » 20. June 2013 13:51

who did you purchase the domain with?
CraftyMc
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 18. June 2013 20:11
XAMPP Version: 5.6.3
Operating System: Windows 7

Re: How can i set up XAMPP to interact with public domain

Postby Altrea » 20. June 2013 17:38

You need an A Record to resolve your Domain to your IP.
But making XAMPP sites public is not recommend and because of that not supported by this board.
So if you have any problems with that, you are on your own.
We don't provide any support via personal channels like PM, email, Skype, TeamViewer!

It's like porn for programmers 8)
User avatar
Altrea
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 6829
Joined: 17. August 2009 13:05
XAMPP Version: 5.5.19
Operating System: Windows 10 Pro x64

Re: How can i set up XAMPP to interact with public domain

Postby borjaevo » 21. June 2013 07:44

Altrea wrote:You need an A Record to resolve your Domain to your IP.
But making XAMPP sites public is not recommend and because of that not supported by this board.
So if you have any problems with that, you are on your own.


I only use apache and mysql of xampp and only have these ports open. Do you think my system is unsafe?
borjaevo
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 20. June 2013 13:12
XAMPP Version: 5.6.3
Operating System: Windows Server 2008

Re: How can i set up XAMPP to interact with public domain

Postby Altrea » 21. June 2013 08:01

borjaevo wrote:I only use apache and mysql of xampp and only have these ports open. Do you think my system is unsafe?

yes!
We don't provide any support via personal channels like PM, email, Skype, TeamViewer!

It's like porn for programmers 8)
User avatar
Altrea
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 6829
Joined: 17. August 2009 13:05
XAMPP Version: 5.5.19
Operating System: Windows 10 Pro x64

Re: How can i set up XAMPP to interact with public domain

Postby borjaevo » 21. June 2013 08:17

Altrea wrote:
borjaevo wrote:I only use apache and mysql of xampp and only have these ports open. Do you think my system is unsafe?

yes!


Ok, thanks! i read your recommend zend server to production enviroments so i will migrate my sites to this web server. Zend server also have apache+php+mysql?
Assuming i'm using zend server now and i'm the same situation with my domain. How can i create an A record to my web? have to install a free DNS server like powerDNS and a virtualhost for my site in apache?What is the ip i have to configure in my domain dns panel to point to? public ip of the server?
Thanks so much!
borjaevo
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 20. June 2013 13:12
XAMPP Version: 5.6.3
Operating System: Windows Server 2008

Re: How can i set up XAMPP to interact with public domain

Postby Altrea » 21. June 2013 08:26

borjaevo wrote:Zend server also have apache+php+mysql?

The installation dialog does have options to install Apache and MySQL and preconfigure them with Zend Server.
But you can also use IIS if you want to.

borjaevo wrote:Assuming i'm using zend server now and i'm the same situation with my domain. How can i create an A record to my web?

Ask your Domain Service Provider. They can tell you exactly what you have to do.

borjaevo wrote:have to install a free DNS server like powerDNS and a virtualhost for my site in apache?

An A Record is not possible for dynamic IPs. There are possibilities to fully redirect the domain to a DynDNS domain, using frames or iframe redirects, etc pp. That all depends on the DynDNS provider.
We don't provide any support via personal channels like PM, email, Skype, TeamViewer!

It's like porn for programmers 8)
User avatar
Altrea
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 6829
Joined: 17. August 2009 13:05
XAMPP Version: 5.5.19
Operating System: Windows 10 Pro x64

Re: How can i set up XAMPP to interact with public domain

Postby borjaevo » 21. June 2013 08:51

Altrea wrote:
borjaevo wrote:Zend server also have apache+php+mysql?

The installation dialog does have options to install Apache and MySQL and preconfigure them with Zend Server.
But you can also use IIS if you want to.

borjaevo wrote:Assuming i'm using zend server now and i'm the same situation with my domain. How can i create an A record to my web?

Ask your Domain Service Provider. They can tell you exactly what you have to do.

borjaevo wrote:have to install a free DNS server like powerDNS and a virtualhost for my site in apache?

An A Record is not possible for dynamic IPs. There are possibilities to fully redirect the domain to a DynDNS domain, using frames or iframe redirects, etc pp. That all depends on the DynDNS provider.


Thanks for your help. It's very useful for me.
We're using IIS for webdav service and mapserver and is very critical for us. I prefer to have the websites in other server if i can. Also i have no experience with IIS.
i have some tomcat services with tomcat port closed so i redirect from apache to tomcat with AJP Connector. I have no idea to do this with IIS. Due to all this things i think is easier for me to do this with apache.

Altrea wrote:An A Record is not possible for dynamic IPs. There are possibilities to fully redirect the domain to a DynDNS domain, using frames or iframe redirects, etc pp. That all depends on the DynDNS provider.


I have a public static external IP on my server so this is not a problem :)

Very fast and cleare answers!I appreciate your patience
borjaevo
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 20. June 2013 13:12
XAMPP Version: 5.6.3
Operating System: Windows Server 2008

Re: How can i set up XAMPP to interact with public domain

Postby borjaevo » 21. June 2013 09:10

I'm installing zend server now. The installation ask me if i want to install MySQL server. I have all databases in MySQL Server of XAMPP. I'm not sure what i have to do...
I have to install another MySQL server and migrate all databases or i can use the same? thanks.
borjaevo
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 20. June 2013 13:12
XAMPP Version: 5.6.3
Operating System: Windows Server 2008

Re: How can i set up XAMPP to interact with public domain

Postby Altrea » 21. June 2013 09:26

borjaevo wrote:I have to install another MySQL server and migrate all databases

yes, you should do that
We don't provide any support via personal channels like PM, email, Skype, TeamViewer!

It's like porn for programmers 8)
User avatar
Altrea
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 6829
Joined: 17. August 2009 13:05
XAMPP Version: 5.5.19
Operating System: Windows 10 Pro x64

Re: How can i set up XAMPP to interact with public domain

Postby borjaevo » 21. June 2013 10:06

Altrea wrote:
borjaevo wrote:I have to install another MySQL server and migrate all databases

yes, you should do that


How can be sure databases of xampp MySQL server will not have to be overwritten or inaccessible when installing new MySQL? Maybe is stupid question but i want to be sure. I created a backup of all databases but i want xampp server working until be sure of zend zerver works well.
borjaevo
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 20. June 2013 13:12
XAMPP Version: 5.6.3
Operating System: Windows Server 2008

Re: How can i set up XAMPP to interact with public domain

Postby Altrea » 21. June 2013 10:31

Databases are saved into a specific folder inside the installation path.
The new MySQL installation don't touch the XAMPP MySQL data directory.

But you cannot have both MySQL Server running at the same time because they are using the same port
We don't provide any support via personal channels like PM, email, Skype, TeamViewer!

It's like porn for programmers 8)
User avatar
Altrea
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 6829
Joined: 17. August 2009 13:05
XAMPP Version: 5.5.19
Operating System: Windows 10 Pro x64

Re: How can i set up XAMPP to interact with public domain

Postby borjaevo » 21. June 2013 10:36

Altrea wrote:Databases are saved into a specific folder inside the installation path.
The new MySQL installation don't touch the XAMPP MySQL data directory.

But you cannot have both MySQL Server running at the same time because they are using the same port


OK, get it. I will try...
Thanks! :)
borjaevo
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 20. June 2013 13:12
XAMPP Version: 5.6.3
Operating System: Windows Server 2008

Re: How can i set up XAMPP to interact with public domain

Postby borjaevo » 21. June 2013 11:20

I succesfully installed zend server. Two problems.
1- The license expires in 7 days. I suppose i can continue with free version.
2- I shutdown xampp MySQL and installed phpmyadmin in zend. I cant start up MySQL of Zend. I exe the mysql.exe but nothing happends. I don't know how can i start MySql from zend control panel. Any help?
borjaevo
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 20. June 2013 13:12
XAMPP Version: 5.6.3
Operating System: Windows Server 2008

Re: How can i set up XAMPP to interact with public domain

Postby Altrea » 21. June 2013 11:57

borjaevo wrote:1- The license expires in 7 days. I suppose i can continue with free version.

yes you can. In 7 days the premium functions will expire, but thats no problem.

borjaevo wrote:2- I shutdown xampp MySQL and installed phpmyadmin in zend. I cant start up MySQL of Zend. I exe the mysql.exe but nothing happends. I don't know how can i start MySql from zend control panel. Any help?

The MySQL which comes with Zend will normaly set a windows service. Check your Windows event log and MySQL log file for further information why MySQL could not be started.
We don't provide any support via personal channels like PM, email, Skype, TeamViewer!

It's like porn for programmers 8)
User avatar
Altrea
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 6829
Joined: 17. August 2009 13:05
XAMPP Version: 5.5.19
Operating System: Windows 10 Pro x64

Next

Return to XAMPP for Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 39 guests