Newbee - Setup..please help

Problems with the Windows version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

Newbee - Setup..please help

Postby Jaykappy » 09. June 2013 20:23

I know this is loaded questions and info here but dont know how else to explain....

I installed XAMPP on my Windows 8 64 Bit machine...Well I unzipped the files to c root drive
I ran the controller and started Apache, MySQL etc.
I was able to login as Root user
I added Security on my installs with a user and password

I tried to create a user (PHPMyAdmin page) and give it full permissions with a password but cant seem to login in from the PHPMyAdmin page, only with the Root user????
Logged in as the Root User I was able to create a new database.

I am a bit confused on where to go next....I want to use Dreamweaver and create a test php website that allows the user to login in against a users table in MySQL, and then access some data from a table that houses other test records. I did this in IIS and a couple minutes but dont have IIS on this computer as why I installed XAMPP.

Do I have to use the root htdocs folder to start creating my WebSite? In IIS I was able to create a new website folder to house my php pages, CSS, and images and point IIS to this folder. Seems the htdocs folder will only house one database. If Apache is running and MySql is running, where do I go from here? Create a new site in dreamweaver and point to the Apache server?

Trying to see the large picture here. I have a Server running (apache), I have a MySQL instance running. How do I tie it all together with dreamweaver?

Thanks
Jaykappy
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 28. May 2013 19:50
XAMPP Version: 5.6.3
Operating System: Win 8

Re: Newbee - Setup..please help

Postby Jaykappy » 09. June 2013 20:27

In the htdocs folder I changed the HTML extension to PHP seeing thats what my pages will be.
I run in Chrome from Dreamweaver adn it asks my to set up Testing Server...I assume this is the Apache server I just installed.
But I dont want my files in the htdocs folder...can I store elsewhere....created through dreamweaver so confused.

In Dreamweaver when it asks me for a server setup and I choose LOCAL Network it asks me for the ServerFolder and WEB URL....

Trying to get all 3 pieces to talk and confused. Thanks
Jaykappy
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 28. May 2013 19:50
XAMPP Version: 5.6.3
Operating System: Win 8

Re: Newbee - Setup..please help

Postby Altrea » 09. June 2013 20:56

Jaykappy wrote:[...] I want to use Dreamweaver [...]

Don't. Dreamweaver is the root of the evil.

Jaykappy wrote:and create a test php website that allows the user to login in against a users table in MySQL, and then access some data from a table that houses other test records.

you want to rebuild phpMyAdmin!?

Jaykappy wrote:I did this in IIS and a couple minutes but dont have IIS on this computer as why I installed XAMPP.

Why not installing IIS?

Jaykappy wrote:Do I have to use the root htdocs folder to start creating my WebSite?

By default htdocs and it's subfolders are requestable with a browser, so if you want to make it easy, use htdocs or create a subfolder for your scripts there.
But there are ways to define other document folders for Apache too if needed.

Jaykappy wrote:Seems the htdocs folder will only house one database.

Databases are completely independend from the htdocs folder.

Jaykappy wrote:If Apache is running and MySql is running, where do I go from here? Create a new site in dreamweaver and point to the Apache server?

Create an own subfolder inside of htdocs and create your files there, but not with Dreamweaver.
We don't provide any support via personal channels like PM, email, Skype, TeamViewer!

It's like porn for programmers 8)
User avatar
Altrea
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 6758
Joined: 17. August 2009 13:05
XAMPP Version: 5.5.19
Operating System: W7Ux64

Re: Newbee - Setup..please help

Postby Jaykappy » 11. June 2013 13:50

I know everyone has their team....Can you explain why Dreamweaver is so evil? Or is this just a vendetta you have against DW

No I dont want to rebuild phpMyAdmin....this site is going to be eventually moved to something like Amazon for web hosting. phpMyAdmin is not going to be there. I will have a MySQL db that has a User table in it, the php code will then authenticate off this table.

I dont have IIS or I would not be using XAMPP. I would have to upgrade to Win Pro 8....

Meant to say the htdocs filder looks like it will only house one website folder....I suppose it sort of acts like the inetpub folder for IIS? I can have multiple folders in the htdocs folder...one for each website?
Jaykappy
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 28. May 2013 19:50
XAMPP Version: 5.6.3
Operating System: Win 8

Re: Newbee - Setup..please help

Postby Altrea » 11. June 2013 15:16

Jaykappy wrote:Can you explain why Dreamweaver is so evil? Or is this just a vendetta you have against DW

My experience is that the Dreamweaver configuration is far away from being user friendly and self speaking. Many of the issues where someone was also using Dreamweaver was at the end Dreamweaver configuration issues and not XAMPP issues.
I was using Dreamweaver myself long time ago (Macromedia Dreamweaver MX 2004).

Jaykappy wrote:Meant to say the htdocs filder looks like it will only house one website folder....I suppose it sort of acts like the inetpub folder for IIS? I can have multiple folders in the htdocs folder...one for each website?

You are free to have your files whereever you want. You can make an own folder for each webapplication, you can save all together directly in htdocs, you can save them outside of htdocs, on other HDDs, even on shared network devices or cloud drives. It's all a configuration issue and not all solutions have just positive aspects.
And from the database side of view, you can have one database for many webapplications, or one database per webapplication or many databases for one webapplication. Or maybe you have webapplications which don't need any databases.
We don't provide any support via personal channels like PM, email, Skype, TeamViewer!

It's like porn for programmers 8)
User avatar
Altrea
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 6758
Joined: 17. August 2009 13:05
XAMPP Version: 5.5.19
Operating System: W7Ux64

Re: Newbee - Setup..please help

Postby Jaykappy » 11. June 2013 17:39

So you only issue with DW was connectivity and setting issues? Just trying to understand here...I am sure they have made many many changes since 2004.
Jaykappy
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 28. May 2013 19:50
XAMPP Version: 5.6.3
Operating System: Win 8

Re: Newbee - Setup..please help

Postby Altrea » 12. June 2013 04:09

Jaykappy wrote:So you only issue with DW was connectivity and setting issues? Just trying to understand here...I am sure they have made many many changes since 2004.

No. I don't have had any problems with DW. Simply search at our Board for Dreamweaver. Many other users here have.
If you like to use DW, feel free to do so. But we don't provide any "how to configure IDE XY" issues here :D
We don't provide any support via personal channels like PM, email, Skype, TeamViewer!

It's like porn for programmers 8)
User avatar
Altrea
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 6758
Joined: 17. August 2009 13:05
XAMPP Version: 5.5.19
Operating System: W7Ux64

Re: Newbee - Setup..please help

Postby Jaykappy » 12. June 2013 18:08

Thanks.....was able to get all info here....setup took a couple minutes once I had XAMPP up and running (apache and MySQL)

http://www.webassist.com/community/tutorials/view_tutorial.php?tid=90
http://www.webassist.com/community/tutorials/view_tutorial.php?tid=92
http://www.webassist.com/community/tutorials/view_tutorial.php?tid=94
Jaykappy
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 28. May 2013 19:50
XAMPP Version: 5.6.3
Operating System: Win 8


Return to XAMPP for Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 42 guests