Page 1 of 1

ISSUE STARTING MYSQL XAMPP 1.8.1

PostPosted: 11. April 2013 10:20
by sakamboh
Dear All,

My xampp installation was working, i need to install an application that uses innodb, for that i tried configuring innodb on xampp in 'C:\xampp\mysql\bin\my.ini' file. Previously the configuration was as below.

Code: Select all
# Comment the following if you are using InnoDB tables
#skip-innodb
innodb_data_home_dir = "C:/xampp/mysql/data"
innodb_data_file_path = ibdata1:10M:autoextend
innodb_log_group_home_dir = "C:/xampp/mysql/data"
#innodb_log_arch_dir = "C:/xampp/mysql/data"
## You can set .._buffer_pool_size up to 50 - 80 %
## of RAM but beware of setting memory usage too high
innodb_buffer_pool_size = 16M
innodb_additional_mem_pool_size = 2M
## Set .._log_file_size to 25 % of buffer pool size
innodb_log_file_size = 5M
innodb_log_buffer_size = 8M
innodb_flush_log_at_trx_commit = 1
innodb_lock_wait_timeout = 50


I have change it to as below.

Code: Select all
# Comment the following if you are using InnoDB tables
skip-innodb
innodb_data_home_dir = "C:/xampp/mysql/data"
innodb_data_file_path = ibdata1:10M:autoextend
innodb_log_group_home_dir = "C:/xampp/mysql/data"
#innodb_log_arch_dir = "C:/xampp/mysql/data"
## You can set .._buffer_pool_size up to 50 - 80 %
## of RAM but beware of setting memory usage too high
innodb_buffer_pool_size = 16M
innodb_additional_mem_pool_size = 2M
## Set .._log_file_size to 25 % of buffer pool size
innodb_log_file_size = 5M
innodb_log_buffer_size = 8M
innodb_flush_log_at_trx_commit = 1
innodb_lock_wait_timeout = 50



Now when i am trying to start mysql it gives me below erros.

Code: Select all
130411  1:19:40 [Note] Plugin 'FEDERATED' is disabled.
130411  1:19:40 [Note] Plugin 'InnoDB' is disabled.
130411  1:19:40 [ERROR] Unknown/unsupported storage engine: InnoDB
130411  1:19:40 [ERROR] Aborting

130411  1:19:40 [Note] c:\xampp\mysql\bin\mysqld.exe: Shutdown complete


Please help me out in resolving this issue.

Re: ISSUE STARTING MYSQL XAMPP 1.8.1

PostPosted: 11. April 2013 13:07
by Altrea
Hi sakamboh,

sakamboh wrote:i need to install an application that uses innodb
...
I have change it to as below.

Code: Select all
skip-innodb

Why do you disable InnoDB if you want to use it?

Best wishes,
Altrea