CAN'T GET INDEX.HTML TO WORK WITH APACHE SERVER

Problems with the Windows version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

CAN'T GET INDEX.HTML TO WORK WITH APACHE SERVER

Postby krueger8 » 15. April 2004 22:21

I must to be missing something big-time. I had been using Apache2
using the MSI install pkg previously without problems. Now that I switched to XAMPP, got it up and running just fine, everyting checked out perfectly, it just won'tserve my index.html file for my website. This may be a stupid question, but I am not really knowledgable on this server stuff, and was wondering if XAMPP even recognizes html files?; everything seems to be PHP files; and why can't I get Apache2 to recognize the index.html file in the htdocs on C drive, with httpd.conf set to: DocumentRoot "C:/htdocs". HELP ANYBODY!!
Seeking reliable config.html scripts for Apache2
using SSL
krueger8
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 15. April 2004 21:45
Location: united states

Postby MAGnUm » 15. April 2004 23:44

.html should work, can you go to http://localhost/index.html on your computer? also where are you serving the index page from ie C:\wampp\htdocs ?
~~:M A G n U m:~~
(Disclaimer: if any of this info is confusing or vague tough, its free!!)
User avatar
MAGnUm
 
Posts: 151
Joined: 16. October 2003 18:08
Location: USA

Figured the problem out myself

Postby krueger8 » 17. April 2004 04:48

:?: The index.html file in the XAMPP htdocs folder has a redirect
script to a php file that is never going to open by clicking onto it in its
htdocs location, or at least I never could get it to open that way (it, of course, can open under the localhost through the browser). But,
when you substitute your own index.html file for that one and change
your local server to your www.whatever.com in the html.conf, the index.html is recognized immediately by Apache2 & works just fine as your home page while serving it on the web.
Seeking reliable config.html scripts for Apache2
using SSL
krueger8
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 15. April 2004 21:45
Location: united states

Postby MAGnUm » 18. April 2004 01:12

yeh, then what is your question. it seems you answered it. and php requires the webserver to run, no dclick like html.
~~:M A G n U m:~~
(Disclaimer: if any of this info is confusing or vague tough, its free!!)
User avatar
MAGnUm
 
Posts: 151
Joined: 16. October 2003 18:08
Location: USA

Postby myhelipad » 18. May 2004 05:05

Try find
Code: Select all
DirectoryIndex
on httpd.conf file, is there index.html on the list or just put index.html on DirectoryIndex.
..::help me to help someone else::..
User avatar
myhelipad
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 01. March 2004 04:48
Location: Malaysia


Return to XAMPP for Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 68 guests