Page 1 of 1

Apache is listening to two ports

PostPosted: 20. January 2013 00:11
by matthew1246
The Xammp control panel saids Apache is listening to two ports.
The control panel is also saying there are two Apache processes.
The two processes might be making Apache listening to two ports.
How do I make xammp only run one Apache process because xammp has been
running two processes since installation.

Re: Apache is listening to two ports

PostPosted: 20. January 2013 00:27
by Altrea
Hi matthew1246,

A short salutation is an act of politeness. Even if the internet is an virtual area, there is always a human being behind the screen. A polite beginning helps to get polite answers too.

matthew1246 wrote:The two processes might be making Apache listening to two ports.

No. Apache on Windows has by default two processes. One is the (parent) observer process, the other one is the child process which processes the requests.
The two ports are port 80 (HTTP) and port 443 (HTTPS/SSL). If you don't want to use HTTPS, you can deactivate it by commenting out one line in your \xampp\apache\conf\httpd.conf:
Code: Select all
LoadModule ssl_module modules/mod_ssl.so

But you will still have two Apache processes.

best wishes,
Altrea

Re: Apache is listening to two ports

PostPosted: 20. January 2013 00:37
by matthew1246
Yeh sorry. I am new to forums. Thankyou for the help. :)

Re: Apache is listening to two ports

PostPosted: 20. January 2013 00:41
by matthew1246
Altrea wrote:Hi matthew1246,

A short salutation is an act of politeness. Even if the internet is an virtual area, there is always a human being behind the screen. A polite beginning helps to get polite answers too.

matthew1246 wrote:The two processes might be making Apache listening to two ports.

No. Apache on Windows has by default two processes. One is the (parent) observer process, the other one is the child process which processes the requests.
The two ports are port 80 (HTTP) and port 443 (HTTPS/SSL). If you don't want to use HTTPS, you can deactivate it by commenting out one line in your \xampp\apache\conf\httpd.conf:
Code: Select all
LoadModule ssl_module modules/mod_ssl.so

But you will still have two Apache processes.

best wishes,
Altrea

It works.