Problem in Loading newly installed APACHE from XAMPP v 3.10

Problems with the Windows version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

Problem in Loading newly installed APACHE from XAMPP v 3.10

Postby hotspring02 » 17. December 2012 15:58

Please do help me with this..thank you.
Error Messages being shown in XAMPP Control Panel v3.1.0 3.1.0

10:37:33 PM [Apache] Error: Apache shutdown unexpectedly.
10:37:33 PM [Apache] This may be due to a blocked port, missing dependencies,
10:37:33 PM [Apache] improper privileges, a crash, or a shutdown by another method.
10:37:33 PM [Apache] Check the "/xampp/apache/logs/error.log" file
10:37:33 PM [Apache] and the Windows Event Viewer for more clues
10:41:31 PM [main] Executing "services.msc"
10:42:10 PM [Apache] Attempting to start Apache app...
10:42:10 PM [Apache] Status change detected: running
10:42:11 PM [Apache] Status change detected: stopped
10:42:11 PM [Apache] Error: Apache shutdown unexpectedly.
10:42:11 PM [Apache] This may be due to a blocked port, missing dependencies,
10:42:11 PM [Apache] improper privileges, a crash, or a shutdown by another method.
10:42:11 PM [Apache] Check the "/xampp/apache/logs/error.log" file
10:42:11 PM [Apache] and the Windows Event Viewer
hotspring02
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 17. December 2012 15:48
Operating System: windows 7 32bit

Re: Problem in Loading newly installed APACHE from XAMPP v 3

Postby JonB » 18. December 2012 17:43

ahh, did you do this:

Check the "/xampp/apache/logs/error.log" file and the Windows Event Viewer

Post the tail of the apache error log.

Good Luck




ysf
User avatar
JonB
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 3210
Joined: 12. April 2010 16:41
Location: Land of the Blazing Sun
Operating System: Windows XP/7 - Fedora 15 1.7.7

Re: Problem in Loading newly installed APACHE from XAMPP v 3

Postby matthew3041230 » 19. December 2012 20:32

I am having the same trouble; albeit weird because just last night I was using it myself.. I am not sure why it began to act up. The only thing different that I did was install VMware Station 9.0. It was after that I restarted my pc and logged in only to receive the same error message as you are.... Here is a copy of the error, and a copy of my logs... (dates are not co rrect)

[Apache] Status change detected: running
2:02:30 PM [Apache] Status change detected: stopped
2:02:30 PM [Apache] Error: Apache shutdown unexpectedly.
2:02:30 PM [Apache] This may be due to a blocked port, missing dependencies,
2:02:30 PM [Apache] improper privileges, a crash, or a shutdown by another method.
2:02:30 PM [Apache] Check the "/xampp/apache/logs/error.log" file
2:02:30 PM [Apache] and the Windows Event Viewer for more clues

as I read through the log it seems as if the SSL Cache is wrong... Is that the only item u noticed wrong as well? How do I fix this, or other errors if they exist?
Please Email me the fix and leave it here as well for others to see... That way just incase I cannot locate this thread again, atleast I will have it in my box. Greatly Appreciated my friends...




(date is right, time is not)

[Tue Dec 18 00:08:18.177534 2012] [mpm_winnt:notice] [pid 6096:tid 248] AH00455: Apache/2.4.3 (Win32) OpenSSL/1.0.1c PHP/5.4.7 configured -- resuming normal operations
[Tue Dec 18 00:08:18.177534 2012] [mpm_winnt:notice] [pid 6096:tid 248] AH00456: Server built: Aug 18 2012 12:41:37
[Tue Dec 18 00:08:18.177534 2012] [core:notice] [pid 6096:tid 248] AH00094: Command line: 'c:\\xampp\\apache\\bin\\httpd.exe -d C:/xampp/apache'
[Tue Dec 18 00:08:18.193134 2012] [mpm_winnt:notice] [pid 6096:tid 248] AH00418: Parent: Created child process 3888
[Tue Dec 18 00:08:23.512744 2012] [ssl:warn] [pid 3888:tid 260] AH01873: Init: Session Cache is not configured [hint: SSLSessionCache]
[Tue Dec 18 00:08:23.762344 2012] [mpm_winnt:notice] [pid 3888:tid 260] AH00354: Child: Starting 150 worker threads.
[Tue Dec 18 01:51:37.630602 2012] [mpm_winnt:notice] [pid 6096:tid 248] AH00428: Parent: child process exited with status 1073807364 -- Restarting.
[Tue Dec 18 20:51:56.972022 2012] [core:warn] [pid 5176:tid 248] AH00098: pid file C:/xampp/apache/logs/httpd.pid overwritten -- Unclean shutdown of previous Apache run?
[Tue Dec 18 20:51:58.830128 2012] [ssl:warn] [pid 5176:tid 248] AH01873: Init: Session Cache is not configured [hint: SSLSessionCache]
[Tue Dec 18 20:51:59.296155 2012] [mpm_winnt:notice] [pid 5176:tid 248] AH00455: Apache/2.4.3 (Win32) OpenSSL/1.0.1c PHP/5.4.7 configured -- resuming normal operations
[Tue Dec 18 20:51:59.296155 2012] [mpm_winnt:notice] [pid 5176:tid 248] AH00456: Server built: Aug 18 2012 12:41:37
[Tue Dec 18 20:51:59.297155 2012] [core:notice] [pid 5176:tid 248] AH00094: Command line: 'c:\\xampp\\apache\\bin\\httpd.exe -d C:/xampp/apache'
[Tue Dec 18 20:51:59.312156 2012] [mpm_winnt:notice] [pid 5176:tid 248] AH00418: Parent: Created child process 6052
[Tue Dec 18 20:52:04.197435 2012] [ssl:warn] [pid 6052:tid 260] AH01873: Init: Session Cache is not configured [hint: SSLSessionCache]
[Tue Dec 18 20:52:04.398447 2012] [mpm_winnt:notice] [pid 6052:tid 260] AH00354: Child: Starting 150 worker threads.
matthew3041230
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 19. December 2012 20:14
Operating System: Window 7

Re: Problem in Loading newly installed APACHE from XAMPP v 3

Postby matthew3041230 » 19. December 2012 20:33

Oh yes, I forgot.. What should I also look for in the Windows Event Viewer??
matthew3041230
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 19. December 2012 20:14
Operating System: Window 7

Re: Problem in Loading newly installed APACHE from XAMPP v 3

Postby hackattack142 » 20. December 2012 02:51

Could you post the entire control panel log and not just the error message.

I have seen parts of VMWare block ports before.
XAMPP Control Panel Developer
Latest CP: viewtopic.php?f=16&t=48932
hackattack142
 
Posts: 703
Joined: 20. May 2011 23:29
Operating System: Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 64-Bit

Re: Problem in Loading newly installed APACHE from XAMPP v 3

Postby matthew3041230 » 21. December 2012 03:47

I have lost it in the process of re-installing; I've still the same problem.. I want to manually un-install everything... When re-installed it, I used a new folder because the old folder would not be deleted.. so I named it Xampp2. With that being said, I was able to delete everything and reinstall it.. but when the contol panel now comes up its reading the old path. Some thing is wrong some where. So how can I manually uninstall it all? I am gonna go back to the site and DL the file again. I have been using the same zip file to install it with, but I am gonna redownload it. The thing is, wont do any good until I delete the command path.... Not sure how to do that. Also, what in VMware could be blocking Filezilla?>>


Thank you, Have a Merry Christmas $ Happy New Year
matthew3041230
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 19. December 2012 20:14
Operating System: Window 7

Re: Problem in Loading newly installed APACHE from XAMPP v 3

Postby matthew3041230 » 21. December 2012 03:53

Oh yes, I found where I had copied the Control Panel Log: As Follows:

9:52:06 PM [filezilla] Status change detected: running
9:52:10 PM [filezilla] Status change detected: stopped
9:52:10 PM [filezilla] Error: FileZilla shutdown unexpectedly.
9:52:10 PM [filezilla] This may be due to a blocked port, missing dependencies,
9:52:10 PM [filezilla] improper privileges, a crash, or a shutdown by another method.
matthew3041230
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 19. December 2012 20:14
Operating System: Window 7

Re: Problem in Loading newly installed APACHE from XAMPP v 3

Postby matthew3041230 » 21. December 2012 06:46

-----P.S.S.= I may have solved the trouble- Although not the correct way..

What I did was, I went and downloaded separately the FileZilla Server Separate from Xampp. In the control panel, when I started the Filezilla server separate, it reads that a version of filezilla is currently running; I'm able to run all my apps as before... Its just the same, but I don't have control over filezilla from the panel. I can deal with that, at least I'm back to where I need to be. So if any one else runs into a similar problem I'd suggest to download: FileZilla Server version 0.9.41 beta separate and start it before running xammp; If anybody has any trouble, just email or post me and I will do as I can for you. matthew3041230@gmail.com


Thanks be to: hackattack142

graciously.......


Matthew R.
matthew3041230
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 19. December 2012 20:14
Operating System: Window 7

Re: Problem in Loading newly installed APACHE from XAMPP v 3

Postby hackattack142 » 21. December 2012 23:37

The old folder could not be removed because XAMPP was not uninstalled from the system yet. Running the uninstaller/trying to delete the files will not remove a Windows Service. If the service is running, those files are in use and the system will not let you delete them.

You can uninstall them manually via the command line then you should be able to install the new one and not have conflicts. If the old version is still running/loaded, it will not allow you to use it in a different location unless you reconfigure the control panel.

You can uninstall them manually be opening a command prompt (Start > Run > cmd) with admin privileges and running the following 3 commands (assuming you only had Apache, MySQL, and FileZilla installed as services):
Code: Select all
sc delete Apache2.4
sc delete mysql
sc delete FileZillaServer
XAMPP Control Panel Developer
Latest CP: viewtopic.php?f=16&t=48932
hackattack142
 
Posts: 703
Joined: 20. May 2011 23:29
Operating System: Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 64-Bit

Re: Problem in Loading newly installed APACHE from XAMPP v 3

Postby matthew3041230 » 22. December 2012 03:46

Yes, those were the only services that I had installed. I am unsure of how to stop them correctly other than just shutting them down. Obviously, there are registry errors too, but I have a tool to delete\repair\replace those. Even though I have it working, I will uninstall everything as per-reply and see if I can re-install it as posted. I will let you know how that goes soon as I have finished it; (with-in the hour)

Now, you were talking about configuring the control panel... what do you mean by that? I am either thinking too hard about it, or just completely missing the point.. Perhaps both at this point.. lol Thanks again...


Matthew R.
matthew3041230
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 19. December 2012 20:14
Operating System: Window 7

Re: Problem in Loading newly installed APACHE from XAMPP v 3

Postby matthew3041230 » 22. December 2012 04:37

I have just finished following your direction and I was successful in restoring xampp and such files back to original directives. I am greatly thankful for the information in making this happen. Thanks again,

Matthew R.

P.S. Merry Christmas & a Happy New Year!!!
matthew3041230
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 19. December 2012 20:14
Operating System: Window 7


Return to XAMPP for Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 72 guests