Dropbox setup - but not relative enough? - RESOLVED

Problems with the Windows version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

Dropbox setup - but not relative enough? - RESOLVED

Postby andrewc » 22. August 2012 20:42

Hi Guys,

Total Xampp newbie here but loving the setup, I have used it a bit a few years back and the easy setup for one computer is amazing.

What I set out to do today though was to get it working in dropbox with wordpress so I could do some local dev work. To do this I used the USB version hoping the preset relative paths would do the trick. I messed around with my computer at work and got it all up and running fine in a dropbox folder and was very excited. The only thing I had to change was to comment out ssl part that I found on here earlier as that was prevent MySQL working.

So all excited about my mobile dev platform I tried it at home, unfortunately when I tried it on my laptop I just couldn't get it working :x

I ran the setup_xampp and it said it was all fine and gave me the correct relative path which is different as my computer at work is on a domain so the user path is different to my home laptop.

When I tried to run apache_start I got an error saying:

httpd.exe: Syntax error on line 35 of C:/Users/Andrew/Dropbox/Private/DevTesting/xampp/apache/conf/httpd.conf: ServerRoot must be a valid directory

So I opened up the conf file in Notepad and edited this down from similar to

ServerRoot "/Users/username.domain/Dropbox/Private/DevTesting/xampp/apache"

to

ServerRoot "apache"

I also tried some other stuff but in the end I got a new error of:

AH00526: Syntax error on line 191 of C:/Users/Andrew/Dropbox/Private/DevTesting/xampp/apache/conf/httpd.conf: DocumentRoot must be a directory

Now I had changed the original directory path from:

DocumentRoot "/Users/username.domain/Dropbox/Private/DevTesting/xampp/htdocs"

to

DocumentRoot "htdocs"

And I also tried a few other varieties with a bit more of the path.