Premission Issue(I guess)

Problems with the Windows version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

Premission Issue(I guess)

Postby antoha91 » 27. June 2012 20:24

well, lately i have been trying to mess with the fopen() function, and it dosent seem to work on my Dedicated PC.
im running XAMPP on my home pc and everything is working fine (i.e fopen opens files).
when i try to run this:
Code: Select all
fopen("C:\\xampp\\htdocs\\Uni\\eva\\24-6-2012_uniquekills.txt", "r") or die("cannot open");

on my dedicated pc (Windows 2008 R2) i get a "cannot open" error.

my guess is that its the premission's fault.
i did set a read to Everyone (right click - > propretys -> Security -> New Group -> Everyone).

Help will be appritiated
Thnx ^_^
antoha91
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 27. June 2012 20:20
Operating System: Windows 2008 R2

Re: Premission Issue(I guess)

Postby JonB » 27. June 2012 21:14

fopen() opens files in WHAT mode?

Good Luck
:wink:
User avatar
JonB
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 3210
Joined: 12. April 2010 16:41
Location: Land of the Blazing Sun
Operating System: Windows XP/7 - Fedora 15 1.7.7

Re: Premission Issue(I guess)

Postby antoha91 » 27. June 2012 21:21

read? sorry didnt get ur point O_O
antoha91
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 27. June 2012 20:20
Operating System: Windows 2008 R2

Re: Premission Issue(I guess)

Postby JonB » 27. June 2012 21:23

User avatar
JonB
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 3210
Joined: 12. April 2010 16:41
Location: Land of the Blazing Sun
Operating System: Windows XP/7 - Fedora 15 1.7.7

Re: Premission Issue(I guess)

Postby antoha91 » 27. June 2012 21:30

aiight i have turned off my Safe_mode in php.ini, restarted appache, still nothing. "cannot connect"
antoha91
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 27. June 2012 20:20
Operating System: Windows 2008 R2

Re: Premission Issue(I guess)

Postby JonB » 27. June 2012 22:02

There are more specific rights on Windows Servers than on workstation OS'es

I'd recommend you give Full Control in that folder to Everyone (just for now) See if that fixes things, if so, dial back the settings until only the needed rights.
Then do the right thing and make some good .htaccess files. On Windows, Apache relies entirely on .htaccess to make sure things are 'OK'.

My guess is that the specific missing right is 'list folder contents' BUT I am not sure of that, Its been a while since I took an MS Certification test.

You 'can' create a special user to run Apache and have an Apache group in theory as well.

Good Luck
8)
User avatar
JonB
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 3210
Joined: 12. April 2010 16:41
Location: Land of the Blazing Sun
Operating System: Windows XP/7 - Fedora 15 1.7.7


Return to XAMPP for Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: DrSeussFreak and 74 guests