Page 1 of 1

My php code shows up blank in the browser

PostPosted: 26. June 2012 04:41
by Zepher48
Hello Everybody,
This is my code (very simple)
Code: Select all
<html>
<head>
<title>My First PHP Page</title>
</head>
<body>
<?php
echo "Hello World!";
?>
</body>
</html>

I have it saved on my computer as test.php and when i run it, it shows up blank in the web browser, Im not sure how to get my php script working, in the XAMPP control panel, my apache service when ever i press start it wont say running like it does for mysql :( if anybody could help me i would appreciate it :) thank you! Id like to be able to see my php scrips run in chrome

Re: My php code shows up blank in the browser

PostPosted: 26. June 2012 04:46
by Altrea
Hi Zepher48,

i have moved your topic because it was in the german only part of the board.

Relating to your problem that your php code is not showing please read this post here: viewtopic.php?f=16&t=50849

Relating to your start issues please check if the needed ports are free (your XAMPP comes with a beta control panel which has much more functiinality. One of these is a netstat Button which shows you all the used ports. Check for the ports 80, 443 and 3306).
If this will not give any hint whats going on please check your \xampp\apache\logs\error.log for information.
And please check if you have already installed the Microsoft Visual C++ 2008 SP1 Redistributable Package (x86) Runtime. Thats a requirement for the Apache binary coming with the current XAMPP.


best wishes,
Altrea

Re: My php code shows up blank in the browser

PostPosted: 26. June 2012 05:48
by Zepher48
My bad about posting in the wrong section.
Thank you for helping me, When i type in http://localhost/ in chrome, it says "Oops this link appears to be broken"

And for the ports, Skype is using 80, and 443, and mysql is using 3306.
What would be the best way to fix this, without disabling skype?
Thank you I really appreciate it

Re: My php code shows up blank in the browser

PostPosted: 26. June 2012 15:05
by Altrea
Zepher48 wrote:What would be the best way to fix this, without disabling skype?

You can configure Skype to not use these ports.
Fix is described here: viewtopic.php?f=16&t=50078&p=193085&hilit=Skype#p193085

best wishes,
Altrea

Re: My php code shows up blank in the browser

PostPosted: 26. June 2012 20:04
by Zepher48
That was the fix!!!
After Doing that i reinstalled Xampp, and It works now!!!
Thank you so much Altrea! You are very helpful :D :D :D