XAMPP 1.7.7 menu does not display on localhost [Solved]

Problems with the Windows version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

Re: XAMPP 1.7.7 menu does not display on localhost

Postby bluelantern1163 » 19. June 2012 05:34

Wait, does the XAMPP menu page require php to run? If so, this may be the problem.
bluelantern1163
 
Posts: 31
Joined: 17. June 2012 02:18
Operating System: Windows 7

Re: XAMPP 1.7.7 menu does not display on localhost

Postby Altrea » 20. June 2012 03:01

bluelantern1163 wrote:Wait, does the XAMPP menu page require php to run? If so, this may be the problem.

Sure it does, but XAMPP already comes with PHP configurated and enabled. Why should this make a difference?
We don't provide any support via personal channels like PM, email, Skype, TeamViewer!

It's like porn for programmers 8)
User avatar
Altrea
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 8294
Joined: 17. August 2009 13:05
XAMPP version: several
Operating System: Windows 10 Pro x64

Re: XAMPP 1.7.7 menu does not display on localhost

Postby bluelantern1163 » 21. June 2012 07:47

Ok, I finally found out the issue as to why I could not access the XAMPP Menu page: I was supposed to type in just localhost/xampp; I did not need to include the xampp.php at the end of the address.

That still leaves one question unanswered: Where do I store the pages for a site for example (i.e. where is the folder I can add contents to, so I can change the localhost page?)
bluelantern1163
 
Posts: 31
Joined: 17. June 2012 02:18
Operating System: Windows 7

Re: XAMPP 1.7.7 menu does not display on localhost

Postby Altrea » 21. June 2012 18:25

bluelantern1163 wrote:Where do I store the pages for a site for example (i.e. where is the folder I can add contents to, so I can change the localhost page?)

static/dynamic content like .html, .php, .css, .js and so on should be saved inside your \xampp\htdocs\ folder or a subfolder in it (exept its xampp folder, this is for the XAMPP Administration page only. Simply create a new one).
We don't provide any support via personal channels like PM, email, Skype, TeamViewer!

It's like porn for programmers 8)
User avatar
Altrea
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 8294
Joined: 17. August 2009 13:05
XAMPP version: several
Operating System: Windows 10 Pro x64

Re: XAMPP 1.7.7 menu does not display on localhost

Postby bluelantern1163 » 21. June 2012 21:00

That is the problem though Altea,

When I type in localhost on the address bar, it bring me to a page that says "It Works"

When I modify the index document in xampp/htdocs/ to say something else (for example, "Hello World"), it still says "It Works", it did not change the text.

However, when I make a folder in the htdocs page (under the name "New"), and add the "Hello World" html document, and type in localhost/New to the address bar, it says "Hello World" so I know I am in the right folder.

Why is this happening, and how do I fix this?
bluelantern1163
 
Posts: 31
Joined: 17. June 2012 02:18
Operating System: Windows 7

Re: XAMPP 1.7.7 menu does not display on localhost

Postby Altrea » 22. June 2012 01:29

Browser Cache Settings?
We don't provide any support via personal channels like PM, email, Skype, TeamViewer!

It's like porn for programmers 8)
User avatar
Altrea
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 8294
Joined: 17. August 2009 13:05
XAMPP version: several
Operating System: Windows 10 Pro x64

Re: XAMPP 1.7.7 menu does not display on localhost

Postby bluelantern1163 » 22. June 2012 05:58

What about browser cache settings? Does it need to be cleared, or do I need to change a setting, and what setting?
bluelantern1163
 
Posts: 31
Joined: 17. June 2012 02:18
Operating System: Windows 7

Re: XAMPP 1.7.7 menu does not display on localhost

Postby bluelantern1163 » 22. June 2012 06:06

Clearing my browser cache caused the page to automatically redirect to the XAMPP menu page when I type in localhost on the address bar (i.e. typing "localhost" on the address redirects the page to localhost/xampp/)

How do I make sure that the homepage for a website for example, is displayed when I type in "localhost" on the address bar?
bluelantern1163
 
Posts: 31
Joined: 17. June 2012 02:18
Operating System: Windows 7

Re: XAMPP 1.7.7 menu does not display on localhost

Postby Altrea » 22. June 2012 06:35

bluelantern1163 wrote:What about browser cache settings? Does it need to be cleared, or do I need to change a setting, and what setting?

The Browser Cache settings have to be set to a value that the browser take automatically care of it's cache and request the site if needed. In your case i believe your cache always displayes the page in its cache and never request for a new version.
I don't have any idea how the setting is named in english.

bluelantern1163 wrote:How do I make sure that the homepage for a website for example, is displayed when I type in "localhost" on the address bar?

Three options:
  • change the redirect rule in your \xampp\htdocs\index.php file to that location
  • change the Apache DocumentRoot Path to that location
  • Create unique virtual hosts for any of your webapplications (XAMPP Administration Page, Your Website, ...)

There are more possibilities, but these are the most common with XAMPP and Apache.

best wishes,
Altrea
We don't provide any support via personal channels like PM, email, Skype, TeamViewer!

It's like porn for programmers 8)
User avatar
Altrea
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 8294
Joined: 17. August 2009 13:05
XAMPP version: several
Operating System: Windows 10 Pro x64

Re: XAMPP 1.7.7 menu does not display on localhost

Postby bluelantern1163 » 22. June 2012 07:39

I changed the name of the document root path to a different folder. The localhost page still redirects to the XAMPP menu :(
bluelantern1163
 
Posts: 31
Joined: 17. June 2012 02:18
Operating System: Windows 7

Re: XAMPP 1.7.7 menu does not display on localhost

Postby lenmorvash » 22. June 2012 11:55

clearing the cache on Firefox worked for me [ctrl+shift+del] and i chose to delete everything , saved passwords, history, all of them and chose everything for the time range just to make sure


the "it works" did not show, it was replaced by the XAMPP panel
lenmorvash
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 22. June 2012 11:06
Operating System: Windows XP

Re: XAMPP 1.7.7 menu does not display on localhost

Postby JonB » 22. June 2012 14:17

MS Sysinternals 'Process Explorer' (free) can help you with that

http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/sysi ... 96653.aspx

Good Luck
8)
User avatar
JonB
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 3210
Joined: 12. April 2010 16:41
Location: Land of the Blazing Sun
Operating System: Windows XP/7 - Fedora 15 1.7.7

Re: XAMPP 1.7.7 menu does not display on localhost

Postby Altrea » 22. June 2012 16:08

JonB wrote:MS Sysinternals 'Process Explorer' (free) can help you with that

http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/sysi ... 96653.aspx

Good Luck
8)

Are you sure you have answered on the very last posts and not on the last post of page 1? :D
We don't provide any support via personal channels like PM, email, Skype, TeamViewer!

It's like porn for programmers 8)
User avatar
Altrea
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 8294
Joined: 17. August 2009 13:05
XAMPP version: several
Operating System: Windows 10 Pro x64

Re: XAMPP 1.7.7 menu does not display on localhost

Postby bluelantern1163 » 22. June 2012 16:56

I installed the program, not sure exactly how it makes the localhost as the home page of a site...
bluelantern1163
 
Posts: 31
Joined: 17. June 2012 02:18
Operating System: Windows 7

Re: XAMPP 1.7.7 menu does not display on localhost

Postby JonB » 22. June 2012 17:25

@ bluelantern

The 'problem' you are "now having" has to do with what is the default 'index' set in the Apache configuration.

Code: Select all
#
# DirectoryIndex: sets the file that Apache will serve if a directory
# is requested.
#
<IfModule dir_module>
    DirectoryIndex index.php index.pl index.cgi index.asp index.shtml index.html index.htm \
                   default.php default.pl default.cgi default.asp default.shtml default.html default.htm \
                   home.php home.pl home.cgi home.asp home.shtml home.html home.htm
</IfModule>


IF you use the URL http://localhost, XAMPP will always redirect to the index.php file in the DocumentRoot - that being /htdocs/index.php ==> which redirects to the XAMPP Welcome Page.

Good Luck
8)
User avatar
JonB
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 3210
Joined: 12. April 2010 16:41
Location: Land of the Blazing Sun
Operating System: Windows XP/7 - Fedora 15 1.7.7

PreviousNext

Return to XAMPP for Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 58 guests