Changed port, but does not work. [Solved]

Problems with the Windows version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

Changed port, but does not work. [Solved]

Postby noname17 » 15. May 2012 11:51

Hello everybody.
May I ask you for help, please?
I used XAMPP 1.7.7 without problems for 2 months on Win XP SP3.
Recenty I decided to change standard 80 port to something like 8001.
I did all instructions, but when I tried to "start" Apache from the control panel, it told "Busy" and refused to start. Apache's log file is empty. I opened new control panel(version 3.0.2). This new control panel writes that:
=====
[apache] Starting apache app...
[main] Executing "d:\xampp\apache"
=====
But the browser still can not open my local website. And the log is still empty. I tried to ping the website's address but without success.
Also I changed port back(to 80), closed Skype. I run command " netstat -an | find /i "listening" " to check which ports are in use. All ports I had assigned to XAMPP and 80 were free. I did reboot several times.
Thanks.
noname17
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 15. May 2012 09:35
Operating System: Windows XP SP3

Re: Changed port, but does not work.

Postby noname17 » 15. May 2012 12:01

Hmm... After I rebooted my PC, new control panel wrote me that:
====
[apache] Starting apache app...
[apache] Status change detected: running
[apache] Status change detected:stopped
====
Maybe it is due to that in the previous case old and new panels were being run simultaneously?
I noticed two icons in the tray just before rebooting. But now there is only one control panel.
noname17
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 15. May 2012 09:35
Operating System: Windows XP SP3

Re: Changed port, but does not work.

Postby hackattack142 » 15. May 2012 12:42

Is there anything in your Apache error log? (/xampp/apache/logs/error.log)?
XAMPP Control Panel Developer
Latest CP: viewtopic.php?f=16&t=48932
hackattack142
 
Posts: 703
Joined: 20. May 2011 23:29
Operating System: Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 64-Bit

Re: Changed port, but does not work.

Postby noname17 » 15. May 2012 16:21

Is there anything in your Apache error log? (/xampp/apache/logs/error.log)?
======

Hi :) As I have mentioned in my post, the log is empty.
Thank you.
noname17
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 15. May 2012 09:35
Operating System: Windows XP SP3

Re: Changed port, but does not work.

Postby JonB » 15. May 2012 17:08

Try running the apache_start.bat file from a Command window. see what it outputs.

Good Luck
User avatar
JonB
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 3210
Joined: 12. April 2010 16:41
Location: Land of the Blazing Sun
Operating System: Windows XP/7 - Fedora 15 1.7.7

Re: Changed port, but does not work.

Postby noname17 » 16. May 2012 08:12

JonB wrote:Try running the apache_start.bat file from a Command window. see what it outputs.

Good Luck


Thank you. It helped. It said that I had a syntax error inside my "httpd-vhosts.conf". So now I am able to fix it.
noname17
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 15. May 2012 09:35
Operating System: Windows XP SP3

Re: Changed port, but does not work.

Postby JonB » 16. May 2012 14:47

Great - Glad it worked out.

Good Luck with XAMPP
8)
User avatar
JonB
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 3210
Joined: 12. April 2010 16:41
Location: Land of the Blazing Sun
Operating System: Windows XP/7 - Fedora 15 1.7.7


Return to XAMPP for Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 56 guests