Setting up with a domain name

Problems with the Windows version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

Setting up with a domain name

Postby jayuk20 » 17. April 2012 12:23

Not sure if I have done things correct but I wanted to use my own domain name which would be live on the net.

I opened up vhosts and this is my settings:

Code: Select all
NameVirtualHost *:80

<VirtualHost *:80>
    ##DocumentRoot "/xampp/htdocs/"
    ##ErrorLog "logs/"
    ##CustomLog "logs/" combined

In http.conf I have

Code: Select all

I am also using No-IP Plus and use their name servers which is pointing to my WAN IP but I just get a "cannot connect to website" error.

I can also ping my domain and get a reply and DNS is active.
Posts: 1
Joined: 17. April 2012 10:57
Operating System: Server 2008

Re: Setting up with a domain name

Postby Altrea » 17. April 2012 19:31

Hi jayuk20,

What did you do to harden your computer, the XAMPP components Apache, Mysql, and PHP to protect against internet attacks?
XAMPP is not made or supported for such environments. It is configured to help local developers to work efficient, not for security.

best wishes,
We don't provide any support via personal channels like PM, email, Skype, TeamViewer!

It's like porn for programmers 8)
User avatar
AF Moderator
Posts: 8248
Joined: 17. August 2009 13:05
XAMPP version: several
Operating System: Windows 10 Pro x64

Return to XAMPP for Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 72 guests