ports 80 and 443 in use by httpd.exe [SOLVED]

Problems with the Windows version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

ports 80 and 443 in use by httpd.exe [SOLVED]

Postby attaboy » 29. March 2012 21:25

I have these messages in cp3
11:03:18 AM [apache] Possible problem detected: Port 80 in use by "httpd.exe"!
11:03:18 AM [apache] Possible problem detected: Port 443 in use by "httpd.exe"!

So what's httpd and what's it doing to my ports?
attaboy
 
Posts: 11
Joined: 27. March 2012 17:59
Location: Boulder Creek, CA
Operating System: windows XP pro, Unbuntu

Re: ports 80 and 443 in use by httpd.exe

Postby hackattack142 » 29. March 2012 22:14

It is Apache. If you have Apache installed as a service, it will start when your computer boots. The 3.0.2 version of the control panel just sees it as a potential issue because something is using the ports before it was started. If you do intentionally have Apache running as a service then it is not a problem. Later versions of the control panel should detect it differently.
XAMPP Control Panel Developer
Latest CP: viewtopic.php?f=16&t=48932
hackattack142
 
Posts: 703
Joined: 20. May 2011 23:29
Operating System: Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 64-Bit

Re: ports 80 and 443 in use by httpd.exe[SOLVED]

Postby attaboy » 30. March 2012 02:17

Thanks I had a feeling it had something to do with how I setup Apache as a service. There seems to be a down side in cp3 I can't stop Apache I have to bring up the older cp to do that. I know with wamp everything is run as a service and it's easy start and stop them.
update:
I set password on Administrator now I can start/stop load and unload services in cp3 so I'm happy :D
attaboy
 
Posts: 11
Joined: 27. March 2012 17:59
Location: Boulder Creek, CA
Operating System: windows XP pro, Unbuntu


Return to XAMPP for Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 54 guests