Error if Variable not Pre-assigned [Answered]

Problems with the Windows version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

Error if Variable not Pre-assigned [Answered]

Postby Coastalguy » 22. February 2012 04:51

I am finding, on my XAMPP, that I get an error if I use a variable without setting it up first with something. However, I do not get an error online. I am using your version 5.3.8. My Provider's online version is 5.2.17.

Is this something new for this later XAMPP PHP version?
Coastalguy
 
Posts: 47
Joined: 06. March 2011 21:06
Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium

Re: Error if Variable not Pre-assigned

Postby Altrea » 22. February 2012 07:11

Hi Coastalguy,

Coastalguy wrote:Is this something new for this later XAMPP PHP version?

No. Your hoster (and many others) just set some configuration to prevent many support requests because of sloppy programming styles. They just hide such messages.
In your development environment you shouldn't hide such messages but get rid of all of them. Some sloppy programming styles can produce other errors or security issues.

best wishes,
Altrea
We don't provide any support via personal channels like PM, email, Skype, TeamViewer!

It's like porn for programmers 8)
User avatar
Altrea
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 8286
Joined: 17. August 2009 13:05
XAMPP version: several
Operating System: Windows 10 Pro x64

Re: Error if Variable not Pre-assigned

Postby Coastalguy » 22. February 2012 22:39

Althrea,

That's what I have been doing, but I was just curious if it was a version change or just my coding. Thanks again,
Coastalguy
 
Posts: 47
Joined: 06. March 2011 21:06
Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium


Return to XAMPP for Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 42 guests