Setting up sub-domains and directories

Problems with the Windows version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

Setting up sub-domains and directories

Postby puttsy » 24. December 2011 09:44

Hello all, I'm new to these parts but have been using XAMPP for some time now. Currently I am trying to setup several subdomains, such as wiki.mydomain.com and forum.mydomain.com. I DO own a domain that IS hosted(ish) elsewhere and want to keep it that way (hosted on blogger) but I want to direct wiki.mydomain.com and forum.mydomain.com to my personal server. I've creadted the subdomains with the registrar and when I enter the address in a browser (internal or external of my network) I get directed to XAMPP. I provide credentials (username and password) but, wiki.mydomain.com changes to wiki.mydomain.com/xampp and I'm at the xampp control panel. I tried working with the vhosts.conf and that doesn't seem to have really done much. I've got the forum and wiki 'applications' in c:\xampp\htdocs so those should be in the right place.

What do I need to do in order to get the subdomains directed to the right places? And why are all the subdomains just taking me to the XAMPP control panel? I've looked at a bunch of the "Editing vhosts" walkthroughs and that hasn't gotten me to succeed. Any thoughts or advice? It seems like it *should* work and since it doesn't, it seems like there's something small that I'm missing but I can't figure it out.
puttsy

Operating System: Windows 7 Pro x64

Re: Setting up sub-domains and directories

Postby Sharley » 24. December 2011 09:48

Try deleting or renaming the index.php and index.html files in the htdocs folder as they belong to XAMPP and the index.php will redirect you to the orange xampp Welcome page.
Sharley
AF Moderator

Operating System: Win 7 Pro 32bit/XP Pro SP3

Postby puttsy » 24. December 2011 19:46