how to xammp running

Problems with the Windows version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

how to xammp running

Postby s14akouki » 19. December 2011 00:49

Hi guys...

I am a newbie, i was following this youtube installation but, I do not get why it is not working for me.

Basically I have XAMMP and I want to run Apache.

When i click "start" it doesn't seem to be running, it'll say "running" and then it will stop.... I do not get what I am doing wrong here.

Then when i go to my browser to try out a testerpage, http://localhost, i get a error 404 resources cannot be found.

I am confused, some one please help!
s14akouki
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 19. December 2011 00:43
Operating System: windows 7 ultimate 64bit

Re: how to xammp running

Postby Sharley » 19. December 2011 00:56

First see if there are any log files in the \xampp\apache\logs folder and if there are none then download and install the VC9 runtime file from this link:
http://www.microsoft.com/download/en/de ... px?id=5582
After a reboot see if you can start Apache again.

If there is an error.log file in there then drag it into an open text editor and see if it contains a clue why Apache can't start.

If using Skype then open Skype's configuration and uncheck use port 80 and port 443.
Try and start Apache again.

Can you start MySQL?

Try using the new control panel found in the xampp folder after first exiting the older version:
xampp-control-3-beta.exe

The latest XCPv3 version can be found in my signature link.
User avatar
Sharley
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 3316
Joined: 03. October 2008 05:10
Location: Yeppoon, Australia Time Zone: GMT/UTC+10
Operating System: Win 7 Pro 32bit/XP Pro SP3

Re: how to xammp running

Postby s14akouki » 19. December 2011 01:09

Shirley thank you so much for replying to me I really appreciate it, I have been looking to try to figure this out for about 2 hours now and no go....

mysql works just fine

I just installed the visual c++ and the new xampp-control-3-beta.exe.

It says

[apache] possible problem detected: Port 80 in use by "system"!

how would I change it? or do something to make it work?
s14akouki
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 19. December 2011 00:43
Operating System: windows 7 ultimate 64bit

Re: how to xammp running

Postby Sharley » 19. December 2011 01:31

There is something using port 80.

Click on the Netstat button in the XCPv3 and see if it has more details about what the SYSTEM is.

Usually it is related to IIS the Windows default server which can be disabled as it uses port 80 and port 443 by default which Apache needs exclusively.

Because this issue has been covered here many times before I did a an advanced form search for post I have made for port 80 system in the XAMPP for Windows in English forum and came up with these results, see if any have the solution for you - you will see unrelated posts that you can skip and some that relate to Vista that may also be relevant for Win7.

After reading the results above please let me know if you find a solution.

Good luck. :)
User avatar
Sharley
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 3316
Joined: 03. October 2008 05:10
Location: Yeppoon, Australia Time Zone: GMT/UTC+10
Operating System: Win 7 Pro 32bit/XP Pro SP3

Re: how to xammp running

Postby s14akouki » 19. December 2011 02:30

I actually did find a solution, much easier then what everyone else is saying though.

just click 'config > Apache httpd.conf'

then looking for these two

listen 80

change it to

listen 8666

also change

ServerName localhost:value

to

ServerName localhost:8666

voila thats it, you can change the number to whatever you want but make sure you change both listening and servername localhost to the same numbers for it to work.

Then when you go to browser type in

http://localhost:8666

and done.

Thank you
s14akouki
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 19. December 2011 00:43
Operating System: windows 7 ultimate 64bit

Re: how to xammp running

Postby Altrea » 19. December 2011 04:08

Yes, thats one solution.

But:
- why should IIS run, if someone don't use it?
- you have to add the port number on every (!!) HTTP request (especially if you install PHP CMS/Framework scripts or use absolute URLs or mod_rewrite)

best wishes,
Altrea
We don't provide any support via personal channels like PM, email, Skype, TeamViewer!

It's like porn for programmers 8)
User avatar
Altrea
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 8299
Joined: 17. August 2009 13:05
XAMPP version: several
Operating System: Windows 10 Pro x64

Re: how to xammp running

Postby Sharley » 19. December 2011 05:02

s14akouki wrote:I actually did find a solution, much easier then what everyone else is saying though.
That is not a solution but a band aid that will cause you much pain in the long term.

Best to find the correct solution and one would be to use Google and ask how to disable IIS in Win7 if that is indeed the culprit or at the very least know what exactly is using port 80.

You could use a utility called Process Hacker that may be able to help with what process is running that could affect port 80/443:
http://processhacker.sourceforge.net/

Your Apache server is designed to work correctly on port 80 the Internet standard port for http, any other port is a botch up solution and one not recommended by this forum.
User avatar
Sharley
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 3316
Joined: 03. October 2008 05:10
Location: Yeppoon, Australia Time Zone: GMT/UTC+10
Operating System: Win 7 Pro 32bit/XP Pro SP3

Re: how to xammp running

Postby s14akouki » 19. December 2011 07:10

I googled IIs in win7 and i do not even have the IIs service at all, so that means I do not have it.

However, i did find this...

when i went in the cmd prompt and typed in

-netstat -an i have

TCP Local Address 0.0.0.0:80 Foreign Address 0.0.0.0:0 Listening PID 4

When I went to task manager

under process tab.. it says

system, PID 4, user name system, cpu 00, memory 68k, description NT kernel & system.

I tried to end process and nothing happens...

I am officially stumped.

I am not trying to be lazy and have you do all the leg work for me, I really appreciate you helping me out.

I do all these google searches how to change host port 80, etc... all come up with the same things that do not work...

please help.
s14akouki
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 19. December 2011 00:43
Operating System: windows 7 ultimate 64bit


Return to XAMPP for Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: JJ_Tagy and 38 guests