XAMPP runs on a 404 error in win7 64bit. Why?

Problems with the Windows version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

XAMPP runs on a 404 error in win7 64bit. Why?

Postby hwalker1 » 03. December 2011 17:23

I have Dreamweaver installed and use Xamp for running php sites. However, when I test a site that is in asp (one that I have to maintain) I still use local host, but the IIS version. I always get a 404 error, and the localhost that it refers to is reported as:
localhost
03/12/2011 16:15:13
Apache/2.2.14 (Win32) DAV/2 mod_ssl/2.2.14 OpenSSL/0.9.8l mod_autoindex_color PHP/5.3.1 mod_apreq2-20090110/2.7.1 mod_perl/2.0.4 Perl/v5.10.1
When the localhost link is clicked, Xampp does appear as the text suggests.
When it should be localhost for IIS, which I don't think runs on Apache.
Is this normal?
If it is, how do I fix it?
hwalker1
 
Posts: 29
Joined: 10. November 2010 11:59
Location: United Kingdom
Operating System: Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit

Re: XAMPP runs on a 404 error in win7 64bit. Why?

Postby JonB » 03. December 2011 18:43

You probably have Apache installed as a service - you can't do that if you want to manually Stop/start Apache and IIS

Good Luck
8)



ycf
User avatar
JonB
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 3210
Joined: 12. April 2010 16:41
Location: Land of the Blazing Sun
Operating System: Windows XP/7 - Fedora 15 1.7.7

Re: XAMPP runs on a 404 error in win7 64bit. Why?

Postby hwalker1 » 04. December 2011 01:13

Does this only apply to Windows 7?
It worked fine on XP an automatically switched between the PHP server and the IIS one.
hwalker1
 
Posts: 29
Joined: 10. November 2010 11:59
Location: United Kingdom
Operating System: Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit

Re: XAMPP runs on a 404 error in win7 64bit. Why?

Postby JonB » 04. December 2011 03:23

Does this only apply to Windows 7?


Its impossible to guess how things are set up on your machine or on your XP machine

BUT - regardless of the Windows version - you can't have two services that start automatically that use the same port. Its like trying to drive two cars down a one line highway at the same time.

IIS and Apache both need manual starts OR you need to let one start, knowing you will have to stop it if you wish to use the other one. Its the same with ALL services (and always has been).

Good Luck
8)
User avatar
JonB
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 3210
Joined: 12. April 2010 16:41
Location: Land of the Blazing Sun
Operating System: Windows XP/7 - Fedora 15 1.7.7


Return to XAMPP for Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 50 guests