Apache can't start (Vista 32 SP2) 1.7.7 [SOLVED]

Problems with the Windows version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

Apache can't start (Vista 32 SP2) 1.7.7 [SOLVED]

Postby norrinRadd026 » 06. November 2011 20:32

First, let me say that I have been reading through the thread for the past few hours and have identified the problem but am not clear of the proper solution. Apache starts, runs for approximately one second then stops. I ran the port check and it indicates that Port 80 is being used by httpd or system. I have very modest skills and knowledge in this area and am not sure of how to reassign httpd or if I can reassign apache.

thanks in advance,

norrin
norrinRadd026
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 06. November 2011 20:21
Operating System: Vista Home Premium x32 bit SP2

Re: Apache would not Start Fix (Win7 64) 1.7.7

Postby Altrea » 06. November 2011 21:27

Hi norrin,

Please update your Operating System information in your Profile. Vista is not accurate enough. This will make helping you much easier for us. Thank you.

best wishes,
Altrea
We don't provide any support via personal channels like PM, email, Skype, TeamViewer!

It's like porn for programmers 8)
User avatar
Altrea
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 8288
Joined: 17. August 2009 13:05
XAMPP version: several
Operating System: Windows 10 Pro x64

Re: Apache would not Start Fix (Win7 64) 1.7.7

Postby Sharley » 06. November 2011 23:48

Hello Norrin,

First always check the \xampp\apache\logs\error.log file for clues when Apache can't start.

Use the xampp-control-3-beta.exe found in the xampp folder but first exit the older 2.5 version Control Panel.

This new CP has more features and a better error reporting log window, a log file is also created in the xampp folder.

Let me know what you find in the log files.
User avatar
Sharley
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 3316
Joined: 03. October 2008 05:10
Location: Yeppoon, Australia Time Zone: GMT/UTC+10
Operating System: Win 7 Pro 32bit/XP Pro SP3

Re: Apache can't start (Vista 32 SP2)

Postby norrinRadd026 » 07. November 2011 02:11

Thank you both for of your responses.

I have updated my profile as requested. I am running Vista Home Premium x32 bit sp2. I used the xampp-control 3-beta.exe as you suggested. I was somewhat concerned about using the beta because the service models were checked for Apache, MYSQL, and Filzila. When I tried to uncheck them, an uninstall window opened. So I had to leave them checked. The log states. "Possible problem detected: Port 80 in use by "system."

My question, is it possible to reassign the "system" to another port and then assign apache to Port 80 or should I just try to reassign apache to another port. In either case could someone provide me with instructions or a link. I would appreciate it.

My plan was to run Joomla locally and then upload the site to the server.

thank again.


NR
norrinRadd026
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 06. November 2011 20:21
Operating System: Vista Home Premium x32 bit SP2

Re: Apache can't start (Vista 32 SP2)

Postby Altrea » 07. November 2011 02:45

Please search your Windows services for a World Wide Web Publishing service.
You can simply stop this service. It is just useful, if you want to use IIS.
We don't provide any support via personal channels like PM, email, Skype, TeamViewer!

It's like porn for programmers 8)
User avatar
Altrea
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 8288
Joined: 17. August 2009 13:05
XAMPP version: several
Operating System: Windows 10 Pro x64

Re: Apache can't start (Vista 32 SP2)

Postby Sharley » 07. November 2011 02:46

Thanks for updating your profile as requested by Altrea. 8) :)

You can't do anything about the system using port 80 except follow the below methods to get rid of what ever the system is that's using port 80.

Make sure that IIS is disabled (the Windows default web server) aka. World Wide Publishing Service:
viewtopic.php?p=175526#p175526
viewtopic.php?p=186588#p186588
http://forums.iis.net/p/1150139/1872824.aspx

The CP3 beta is only by name as it has been thoroughly tested with an the latest updated version found here:
viewtopic.php?p=186862#p186862


Try and remove the Ticks in the service module and answer the question asked. This will not affect your PC in any way and is more than likely the cause of the system entry in the netstat results - make sure you are logged into Vista as an administrator as this is a requirement to run and administer a web server or at least disable the UAC.


If that fails then click on the Win-services button and find Apache2.2.
Click on either Start or Stop depending on what is presented.

Next go back to the CP3 and see if either the tick has gone or Apache is started.

Repeat for mysql.

The reason the ticks are there is when you installed XAMPP you selected to start XAMPP every time Windows starts and is really not needed for the purpose XAMPP was developed for.


If all else fails or you don't feel confident in learning how to do things as a web server administrator then follow these instructions to uninstall this installer exe version and then reinstall using the zip or 7zip version which is much simpler to get up and running:
viewtopic.php?p=179699#p179699

The current installer used has been known to be buggy on some systems.

At least one of the above suggestions should have you moving forward - please let us know back which one did it for you. :)

Good luck. :)
User avatar
Sharley
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 3316
Joined: 03. October 2008 05:10
Location: Yeppoon, Australia Time Zone: GMT/UTC+10
Operating System: Win 7 Pro 32bit/XP Pro SP3

Re: Apache can't start (Vista 32 SP2)

Postby norrinRadd026 » 08. November 2011 07:46

I uninstalled XAMPP and then reinstalled it using the zip file. I was able to disable the IIS using the instructions on one of the links you supplied. Everything seems to be working fine.

Thank you both for your assistance.

nr
norrinRadd026
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 06. November 2011 20:21
Operating System: Vista Home Premium x32 bit SP2

Re: Apache can't start (Vista 32 SP2)

Postby Sharley » 08. November 2011 07:51

Your welcome and thanks for the feedback. 8)

Best wishes. :)
User avatar
Sharley
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 3316
Joined: 03. October 2008 05:10
Location: Yeppoon, Australia Time Zone: GMT/UTC+10
Operating System: Win 7 Pro 32bit/XP Pro SP3


Return to XAMPP for Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 53 guests