Installing Apache to "h" not "c" (XP) 1.7.7 [SOLVED]

Problems with the Windows version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

Installing Apache to "h" not "c" (XP) 1.7.7 [SOLVED]

Postby cdelorm » 19. October 2011 19:03

I have downloaded version 1.7.7 of xampp and am installing it on a desktop with windows xp. When our computer was built, the root drive was assigned to "h" and not "c". When executing the program, the xampp folder was designated to install on drive "h".

While installing xampp, the process did not follow the same flow as on our other machine (with c as the root drive). With our other machine, a "dos-type" window appeared at the end of the installation and before the control panel launched. Once the "dos-type" window disappeared, the control panel launched. When we tried to run Apache, we needed to allow access, which we did. Once that completed, we were able to run Apache (and SQL) with no problems.

With the machine with the "h" root drive, there was no "dos-type" screen that appeared. We can run SQL, but not Apache. When we try to run Apache, we got a busy message and it never runs.

Is there an issue with Apache loading properly because the root is not "c"? Is there something else we can check into - we ran netstat and there does not appear to be a port 80 conflict. Not sure what else to do - and this is the machine where we need the local server.

Thank you for any suggestions!

Caprice
cdelorm
 
Posts: 11
Joined: 19. October 2011 04:14
Operating System: Windows XP

Re: Installing Apache when root directory designated to "h"

Postby Sharley » 19. October 2011 21:19

Please check the H:\xampp\apache\logs\error.log file and see if there are any entries that might give a clue.

If there are no log files in this folder then it means that Apache has never started and so may be associated with 1.7.7 being compiled using VC9 inlike older version that used VC6 and so you may be missing the runtime file required.

You can downloaded and installed the runtime file from here:
http://www.microsoft.com/download/en/de ... px?id=5582

Please let me know if the above helps.
Thanks. :)
User avatar
Sharley
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 3316
Joined: 03. October 2008 05:10
Location: Yeppoon, Australia Time Zone: GMT/UTC+10
Operating System: Win 7 Pro 32bit/XP Pro SP3

Re: Installing Apache when root directory designated to "h"

Postby Altrea » 20. October 2011 05:14

You can execute the \xampp\setup_xampp.bat file on your own if it don't pot up automatically after extraction process.
Normally apache should be able to run without that, because without that setup_xampp.bat file, Apache assumed to be installed in the root directory of the current HDD it is running from.

Please check Sharleys advices, it will help you to find the error source quickly.
We don't provide any support via personal channels like PM, email, Skype, TeamViewer!

It's like porn for programmers 8)
User avatar
Altrea
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 8294
Joined: 17. August 2009 13:05
XAMPP version: several
Operating System: Windows 10 Pro x64

Re: Installing Apache when root directory designated to "h"

Postby cdelorm » 20. October 2011 17:00

Thank you for the information about the runtime program. That was the issue, and I am so glad to have the solution. I had noticed that there was no error log and the .bat file would not run, so this is what was needed.

Much appreciated! :D

~ Caprice
cdelorm
 
Posts: 11
Joined: 19. October 2011 04:14
Operating System: Windows XP

Re: Installing Apache when root directory designated to "h"

Postby Sharley » 20. October 2011 22:23

Thanks for the feedback. 8)

Best wishes. :)
User avatar
Sharley
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 3316
Joined: 03. October 2008 05:10
Location: Yeppoon, Australia Time Zone: GMT/UTC+10
Operating System: Win 7 Pro 32bit/XP Pro SP3


Return to XAMPP for Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 70 guests