Apache Can't Start

Problems with the Windows version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

Apache Can't Start

Postby puntoman » 28. September 2011 18:38

Help please

I have installed xampp 1.7.7 and apache will not start with the following error

ERROR: Apache service not started (-1)

I have tried xampp-portchecker.exe as suggested elsewhere but it says port 80 etc is free

any help would be very much appreciated.
Last edited by Sharley on 28. September 2011 20:06, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Moved: if you post in English, then please use the Xampp in English forums.
puntoman
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 28. September 2011 18:13

Re: Apache Can't Start

Postby Sharley » 28. September 2011 21:33

Please read the \xampp\apache\logs\error.log file for clues why Apache can't start.

Thanks.
User avatar
Sharley
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 3316
Joined: 03. October 2008 05:10
Location: Yeppoon, Australia Time Zone: GMT/UTC+10
Operating System: Win 7 Pro 32bit/XP Pro SP3

Re: Apache Can't Start

Postby Roel » 29. September 2011 10:10

If apache doesn't start it won't write to this log file, will it? ;-)
At least in xampp 1.7.4 it doesn't....
I'm thinking it could be the firewall, checking that out now.
Roel
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 29. September 2011 10:00

Re: Apache Can't Start

Postby Sharley » 29. September 2011 10:21

Roel wrote:If apache doesn't start it won't write to this log file, will it?
If Apache has never started after installing then there will be no error log file.

If Apache has started previously but now won't start then there may be clue entries in the error log file.

There are many reasons why Apache won't start after installation including other applications using port 80 and/or port 443 and as you pointed a possible firewall or other security application like ZoneAlarm etc blocking Apache or the above ports.
User avatar
Sharley
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 3316
Joined: 03. October 2008 05:10
Location: Yeppoon, Australia Time Zone: GMT/UTC+10
Operating System: Win 7 Pro 32bit/XP Pro SP3

Re: Apache Can't Start

Postby Roel » 29. September 2011 10:39

Thanks, one application was the problem. In cmd.exe: netstat -a -no showed the pid using port 80, tasklist revealed the application using this pid.
Btw: the error log existed with many entries before, but now no error was entered.
Roel
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 29. September 2011 10:00


Return to XAMPP for Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 98 guests