Problem with GD? (2003 Server) 1.7.3 [SOLVED]

Problems with the Windows version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

Problem with GD? (2003 Server) 1.7.3 [SOLVED]

Postby rvanherp » 10. September 2011 12:05

For some reason GD is acting strange (read not working)

I noticed that a graphic img. from the traffic info did not load, later I saw that also captcha images are not loading.

Sometimes when I request the img. directly it shows a img, but mostly I get a something like this
Code: Select all
‰PNG  IHDRX쪝· üIDAThm™M^WV…ŸµÏ­J;UmaGjçÃA¶cHí&™ÝcZê€Gù̘´à_0f‚ÚQO@rZ"0ºI#©ó!%±“4


I restored two backups and reinstalled the full system, but nothing seems to fix it.

Anyone have a idea what the problem is and how to fix it.

Thanks,
Last edited by rvanherp on 14. September 2011 13:23, edited 1 time in total.
rvanherp
 
Posts: 46
Joined: 27. November 2006 23:23
Location: Some where on the WWW or in a red truck
Operating System: Windows Server 2003

Re: Problem with GD?

Postby JonB » 10. September 2011 13:48

it might be somewhat useful to know what version of XAMPP and what Windows version.

8)
User avatar
JonB
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 3210
Joined: 12. April 2010 16:41
Location: Land of the Blazing Sun
Operating System: Windows XP/7 - Fedora 15 1.7.7

Re: Problem with GD?

Postby rvanherp » 10. September 2011 15:03

JonB wrote:it might be somewhat useful to know what version of XAMPP and what Windows version.
8)


Oops, forgot that...
I'm running Windows server 2003 and XAMPP 1.7.3
rvanherp
 
Posts: 46
Joined: 27. November 2006 23:23
Location: Some where on the WWW or in a red truck
Operating System: Windows Server 2003

Re: Problem with GD?

Postby JonB » 10. September 2011 15:12

this is in the WAG (Wild A** Guess) department from my experiences with other thing CGI on Server 2003.

Check the tmp workspace that GD is using, it could be that no garbage collection is occurring, and you may have hit a roadblock for that reason. (like disk quota, or file count). Also check if there are some huge temp files.

I say this cause a lot of cross platform cleanup routines don't run right on Windows servers. It often has to do with permissions or filesystem differences.

Good Luck
8)
User avatar
JonB
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 3210
Joined: 12. April 2010 16:41
Location: Land of the Blazing Sun
Operating System: Windows XP/7 - Fedora 15 1.7.7

Re: Problem with GD?

Postby rvanherp » 10. September 2011 16:13

JonB wrote:Check the tmp workspace that GD is using~ Also check if there are some huge temp files


Can you be a bit more specific ??
That folder do I have to check? The only folder with tmp data in it I found is xampp/tmp
and the files there are small.

Thanks.
rvanherp
 
Posts: 46
Joined: 27. November 2006 23:23
Location: Some where on the WWW or in a red truck
Operating System: Windows Server 2003

Re: Problem with GD?

Postby JonB » 10. September 2011 16:46

To be honest, I don't know that answer -

BUT I suspect its the problem -
Google 'GD temp files'

here's an unanswered post - sound familiar??
http://www.webhostingtalk.com/showthread.php?t=356468

You might look in the root of your C:\ drive.

I have had the same problem with similar tools, particularly on Windows Server (I have 2 W2k3 servers used to host many sites and forums).

You could use Java DiskReport (or another disk usage tool) to see if you have a folder that should not be jam full of stuff.

Here's another question/thought or two ->
Did this start when you updated something apparently unrelated?
Another possibility - the functions are timing out - you probably couldn't tell from INSIDE you network.

I think Coppermine uses GD, I'll have a look on one of my servers that runs it and see if I can tell where its doing things... The difference is - I am running IIS on that server, not Apache.

Oooo (last thought for now)- Did you recently switch from ISO encoding to UTF8 by any chance???


Good Luck
8)
User avatar
JonB
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 3210
Joined: 12. April 2010 16:41
Location: Land of the Blazing Sun
Operating System: Windows XP/7 - Fedora 15 1.7.7

[SOLVED] Re: Problem with GD?

Postby rvanherp » 14. September 2011 13:23

JonB wrote:You might look in the root of your C:\ drive.

After the reinstall I only restored the xampp folder so that should fix it if it used the C:\ drive.

Anyway,
Two days ago I noticed some strange errors and code on a page and opened it in dreamweaver.
After some googeling of the errors and code I found out that a outdated WordPress install gave malware access to include that code to allot of .php pages.
I found a cleaner script and everything is working and fast again :)

Thanks JonB for you help :)

Regards,
rvanherp
 
Posts: 46
Joined: 27. November 2006 23:23
Location: Some where on the WWW or in a red truck
Operating System: Windows Server 2003


Return to XAMPP for Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 47 guests