start up error

Problems with the Windows version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

start up error

Postby jonh » 10. September 2011 04:30

When I start the control panel a message pops up saying "XAMPP Component Status Check failure {-2}. Current directory: c:\xampp. Run this program only from your XAMPP root directory." What do I need to do?
jonh
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 10. September 2011 04:13

Re: start up error

Postby Sharley » 10. September 2011 05:35

Download then extract the superior xampp_control3.exe file to C:\xampp folder then double click on it to use it instead of the buggy control panel that came with the XAMPP release.

You will find the download link in my sig and some relevant reading here:
viewtopic.php?f=16&t=46743

Here is some reading and alternative solution for your error message:
viewtopic.php?f=16&t=44320
User avatar
Sharley
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 3316
Joined: 03. October 2008 05:10
Location: Yeppoon, Australia Time Zone: GMT/UTC+10
Operating System: Win 7 Pro 32bit/XP Pro SP3

Re: start up error

Postby jonh » 10. September 2011 07:14

How do I install it?
jonh
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 10. September 2011 04:13

Re: start up error

Postby Sharley » 10. September 2011 07:24

jonh wrote:How do I install it?
The Control Panel V3 does not need installing.

Simply open the zip file and drag the xampp_control.exe file into the C:\xampp folder and then double click on it to run it.
User avatar
Sharley
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 3316
Joined: 03. October 2008 05:10
Location: Yeppoon, Australia Time Zone: GMT/UTC+10
Operating System: Win 7 Pro 32bit/XP Pro SP3

Re: start up error

Postby jonh » 10. September 2011 08:10

So I can't go through the start menu to run it I have to go to C:\XAMPP then double click control panel v3, correct?
jonh
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 10. September 2011 04:13

Re: start up error

Postby Sharley » 10. September 2011 08:25

jonh wrote:So I can't go through the start menu to run it I have to go to C:\XAMPP then double click control panel v3, correct?
Incorrect.

The links in your start menu are only shortcuts to the original files.

So you can right click on it and then select 'Create a shortcut' and then stick the shortcut (drag the shortcut) on to the desktop or stick it where ever it will be most handy including a start menu if you prefer and if you know how (see above) you can stick it into any or all of your start menus - doing this manually gives you complete control of where it will be best suited as opposed to an installation process which will have the shortcut placed where the installer wants it placed which is not always the most convenient.
User avatar
Sharley
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 3316
Joined: 03. October 2008 05:10
Location: Yeppoon, Australia Time Zone: GMT/UTC+10
Operating System: Win 7 Pro 32bit/XP Pro SP3

Re: start up error

Postby JonB » 10. September 2011 10:31

You can even add your new shortcut to the Start Menu. Among other ways, Right Click on Shortcut, select 'Pin to Start Menu'. 8)

:mrgreen:
User avatar
JonB
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 3210
Joined: 12. April 2010 16:41
Location: Land of the Blazing Sun
Operating System: Windows XP/7 - Fedora 15 1.7.7


Return to XAMPP for Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 45 guests