Apache not starting

Problems with the Windows version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

Apache not starting

Postby ikmbonu » 05. September 2011 22:30

Greetings. I newly installed xampp. The Apache is consistently refusing to start even when I tried to start it in Windows' Services. What could be wrong and how do I correct it?
ikmbonu
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 05. September 2011 20:28

Re: Apache not starting

Postby JonB » 06. September 2011 15:00

Since I didn't put on my wizard's hat this morning, I'm unable to 'guess' what is wrong. :shock:

The Apache is consistently refusing to start even when I tried to start it in Windows' Services.

A. - you should be trying to 'start' it with the XAMPP Control Panel. Are you getting any error messages?

B.- There are many, many, possible reasons Apache will not start.
you can read a few of them here:
http://bravo.newnetenterprises.com/word ... art-helppp

The first step is to look in the Apache error log.

\xampp\apache\logs\error.log

IF there is NO error log - then two problems are likely - another application is using either ports 80 and/or 443. Most likely candidates IIS and Skype.

IF there is an error log, and the reason is not immediately obvious to you, post the 'tail end' of the error log into your reply.

Since v 1.7.4 was released - XAMPP has a new Control Panel with better diagnostics
read:
viewtopic.php?f=16&t=46743
DL it here -
http://arloh.de/xampp/xampp_control3.0.2.zip

The new Control Panel makes it easier to diagnose 'non-starters'

Good Luck
8)


ycf
User avatar
JonB
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 3210
Joined: 12. April 2010 16:41
Location: Land of the Blazing Sun
Operating System: Windows XP/7 - Fedora 15 1.7.7

Re: Apache not starting

Postby ikmbonu » 06. September 2011 19:05

I was eventually able to get Apache running by freeing up ports 80 and 443. Installing xampp_control3.0.2.zip was a great relief in viewing more details.
However, now that both Apache and MySQL are running I am still getting this error on the first setup screen of ProffittCenterPro:

There does not seem to be a MySQL database.
Message: java.sql.SQLException: Access denied for user 'root'@'localhost' (using password: YES)

The above are the exact words in the error pop-up box
ikmbonu
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 05. September 2011 20:28

Re: Apache not starting

Postby JonB » 06. September 2011 19:31

Glad you got it working -

A. - make sure you can access MySQL via phpMyAdmin. If you can then you know your settings are OK. IF you can't then you need to fix that first.

Once you can connect to phpMyAdmin, see if you can make your application run.

If it still does not work - I'd say that's an issue for:
ProffittCenterPro

Good Luck
8)
User avatar
JonB
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 3210
Joined: 12. April 2010 16:41
Location: Land of the Blazing Sun
Operating System: Windows XP/7 - Fedora 15 1.7.7

Re: Apache not starting

Postby ikmbonu » 06. September 2011 20:07

What is phpMyAdmin and where can I go to connect to it?
ikmbonu
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 05. September 2011 20:28

Re: Apache not starting

Postby Altrea » 06. September 2011 21:34

phpmyadmin is an administration application for MySQL Databases written in php.
It already comes with XAMPP. You can access it from the XAMPP administration page http://localhost/xampp/ or directly by URL http://localhost/phpmyadmin/
We don't provide any support via personal channels like PM, email, Skype, TeamViewer!

It's like porn for programmers 8)
User avatar
Altrea
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 8299
Joined: 17. August 2009 13:05
XAMPP version: several
Operating System: Windows 10 Pro x64

Re: Apache not starting

Postby ikmbonu » 06. September 2011 22:00

I was able to log into phpmyadmin via http://localhost/phpmyadmin/ page. I was presented with a page with several tabs: from"Databases" to "Synchronize". I checked every on of them but didn't find any that gave me a connection to proffittcenter pro. What should I do next?
ikmbonu
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 05. September 2011 20:28

Re: Apache not starting

Postby JonB » 07. September 2011 02:44

I was able to log into phpmyadmin via http://localhost/phpmyadmin/ page. I was presented with a page with several tabs: from"Databases" to "Synchronize".


What this means is that your MySQL database engine is working. i.e. not a problem with XAMPP.

In some programs, you have to create/configure the database and user before you start installing the program. Wordpress comes to mind, as do many PHP-based forums.

I suggest you read the documentation on the app, and check with the developers of proffittcenter pro
http://proffittcenter.lunarpages.net/smf/index.php

Good Luck
8)
User avatar
JonB
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 3210
Joined: 12. April 2010 16:41
Location: Land of the Blazing Sun
Operating System: Windows XP/7 - Fedora 15 1.7.7

Re: Apache not starting

Postby ikmbonu » 07. September 2011 23:49

I have never had to work with applications like these before. I only just got to realise that it is actually in the phpmyadmin that I'll do all the setting up of my stock, suppliers, regular customers, staff IDs and passwords, etc. Even though some of this (eg putting in new stock) be done, in some way, through the proffittcenterpro interface the bulk of it is actually done directly in the phpmyadmin pages. I am used to one regular interface which completely hides the complexities of the underlying database (sql or otherwise).
My recent problems had been in trying to do some of the above listed things through the regular proffittcenterpro interface. I am presently reading up on and trying things in the phpmyadmin pages. For example, I checked up the required fields for suppliers table (in the till database), created an excel file of my suppliers - arranged in order of the aforementioned fields, and imported the file using the import file. I then ran proffittcenterpro again (with some tension) and checked for the suppliers. IT WORKED!!! They were all there. I'll try out other things and get back to you in case of difficulties.
Thanks a lot!!!
ikmbonu
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 05. September 2011 20:28

Re: Apache not starting

Postby JonB » 08. September 2011 00:03

WOW!

Yikes. LOL . I spent 25 years as a systems integrator specializing in mid-range accounting & management systems. I'm just blown away by using a database administration tool as your 'input method' - that's over the top! How in the world do you enforce data integrity??? :shock: :shock: :shock:

Well. I hope it works out... :roll:

Good Luck
8)

hey That's # 1400!! :mrgreen:
User avatar
JonB
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 3210
Joined: 12. April 2010 16:41
Location: Land of the Blazing Sun
Operating System: Windows XP/7 - Fedora 15 1.7.7

Re: Apache not starting

Postby ikmbonu » 08. September 2011 00:08

I stumbled on most of these discoveries on my own. I really think that the tutorials presently available for setting up proffittcenterpro are woefully poor. They assume a lot (and I am saying this in the firm belief that it isn't just because I'm in Africa). One without a prior experience with working with [non-excel] 3d databases (and I KNOW this includes almost all those I know, even those running businesses) would be lost. Despite my profound ignorance and inadequacies, I am seen as a computer guru by them simply because I can follow instructions eg in networking my home and office. If not for the fact that I simply done have the money to afford a POS that is robust with the many options proffittcenterpro offers, I would have paid for a packaged POS-cum-database already.
I really think that a much more straightforward tutorial, merging proffittcenterpro-xampp(& its control panel)-phpmyadmin-mysql in a simple learning curve can be easily done.
Anyway, thanks the help thus far. I keep bringing up any problems I unearth.
ikmbonu
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 05. September 2011 20:28

Re: Apache not starting

Postby ikmbonu » 08. September 2011 13:39

With respect to proffittcenterpro, in the "till" database, what do the "sku", "encoded" and "multipack" fields mean/refer to (in the product table)?
ikmbonu
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 05. September 2011 20:28

Re: Apache not starting

Postby JonB » 08. September 2011 15:34

your guess is as good as mine
- did you mean to post this on that proffitcenter Forum???

:shock:
User avatar
JonB
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 3210
Joined: 12. April 2010 16:41
Location: Land of the Blazing Sun
Operating System: Windows XP/7 - Fedora 15 1.7.7

Re: Apache not starting

Postby visnik » 13. September 2011 18:25

Ok, I have been at this for about a day now, and I can't seem to get it to work. I have a fresh copy of xampp XAMPP 1.7.4, just unzipped it. I am running Windows 7. I runt he control panel and and Apache starts for a second, and then stops. Reading all the info on this it is most likely Port 80, Skype or ISS. I have neither of those installed on my machine. I did a
Code: Select all
netstat -a -no
in the comand propt for windows, and nothing listed is using port 80. I then tried the following I found on another forum:

Code: Select all
Apache has problems starting up is because it is usually trying to use ports that are already being used by other programs. Especially Ports 80 and 443. Rather than going to lengths trying to figure out what is using the ports you need and disabling them you can just simply specify new ports for xampp to use.

Change the following lines in your xampp configuration by opening them up in a text editor like notepad or whatever you use

C:\xampp\apache\conf\httpd.conf:

* Scroll down and find “Listen 80″, change to “Listen 8080″
* Also find “ServerName localhost:80″, change to “ServerName localhost:8080"

C:\xampp\apache\conf\extra\httpd-ssl.conf

* Scroll down and find “Listen 443″, change to “Listen 4499″
* Also find “<VirtualHost _default_:443>”, change to “<VirtualHost _default_:4499>”
* and just below that find “ServerName localhost:443″, change this to “ServerName localhost:4499″

Now try re starting xampp and seeing if apache starts correctly. If it does you just have to remember to specify the port when you're using your browser. So now rather than just going to:
http://localhost/xampp/
You should now use: localhost:8080 (or whatever port you specified in httpd-ssl.conf)
http://localhost:8080/xampp/


I tried running Apache again through the control panel and it says Apache started [Port 80], then Apache stops.

When I click the status button it shows the following:
Code: Select all
XAMPP Application Status 1.1.2.2
httpd State 0 Service 0 Start 0 Trhead 0 OP 0 Port 80.


Shouldn't it say port 8080 at this point?

I am at a loss on how to get Apache to run, any help would be appreciated, Thanks a bunch guys.
visnik
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 31. May 2011 18:27

Re: Apache not starting

Postby JonB » 13. September 2011 18:53

Well, it MIGHT be instructive to look and see what is in the Apache error log... :shock:

\xampp\apache\logs\error.log

In the mean time - DL the new beta control panel, it has better diagnostics
Read
viewtopic.php?f=16&t=46743
DL
http://arloh.de/xampp/xampp_control3.0.2.zip

Good Luck
8)
User avatar
JonB
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 3210
Joined: 12. April 2010 16:41
Location: Land of the Blazing Sun
Operating System: Windows XP/7 - Fedora 15 1.7.7

Next

Return to XAMPP for Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 59 guests