Why does xampp start two httpd processes?

Problems with the Windows version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

Why does xampp start two httpd processes?

Postby dhinged » 05. September 2011 00:19

I was looking through my Task Manager processes (Windows XP) because my computer was running slow, and I saw two httpd processes, both about 40MB. When I opened Process Explorer, one showed as a child of the other. The parent was httpd -k and the child was httpd -d... I don't understand why the httpd -d process uses 40MB. I don't want to be running duplicate httpd processes just to have one do something slightly different.

Can someone explain why this is happening and how to optimize this? Is xampp working on fixing this?
dhinged
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 05. September 2011 00:15

Re: Why does xampp start two httpd processes?

Postby Altrea » 05. September 2011 01:12

There is nothing to fix. It's not a bug, it's a feature.
The parent process observes the child process, restarts it if it stops, read the configuration, etc and the child process processes all the requests. So they are not duplicates of each other. Two processes are fine on windows.
We don't provide any support via personal channels like PM, email, Skype, TeamViewer!

It's like porn for programmers 8)
User avatar
Altrea
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 8286
Joined: 17. August 2009 13:05
XAMPP version: several
Operating System: Windows 10 Pro x64

Re: Why does xampp start two httpd processes?

Postby darius » 11. September 2011 12:50

Ok, but 2 apache processes are not a standard with other apache triad, quad stacks for windows.

Could you be more specific why two apache processes are required by XAMMP and not by others ?

btw

How to standard Zend for windows to work with compressed php ?
Installed zend but it doesn't look to work properly, decompressing php files.

Any hint how to get zend started with apache server ?
darius
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 31. August 2011 22:57

Re: Why does xampp start two httpd processes?

Postby JonB » 11. September 2011 13:38

Darius -

I'm afraid you are poorly informed, and its not really a XAMMP issue, its an Apache issue. XAMPP uses the 'standard Apache model'.
http://httpd.apache.org/docs/2.1/platfo ... .html#cust

It only is of consequence if you are using code that assumes it is on a Linux box, and is using direct manipulation of the worker processes. :shock: It should not affect most things a developer will do, as the ASF developers have made the proper measures to handle things.

And, as for the rest - I guess you will have some work to do.
:)
User avatar
JonB
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 3210
Joined: 12. April 2010 16:41
Location: Land of the Blazing Sun
Operating System: Windows XP/7 - Fedora 15 1.7.7

Re: Why does xampp start two httpd processes?

Postby darius » 11. September 2011 16:31

Nothing wrong.

"
Instead there are usually only two Apache processes running: a parent process, and a child which handles the requests. Within the child process each request is handled by a separate thread.
"
hint: "there are usually"

btw

installed xampp on d:\xampp
and
apache, mysql, filezilla, mercury
all started to work from XAMPP Control Panel App

Now need to get c:\xampp back to work, since my Joomla, Mediawiki, Wordpress, Drupal all sit on c:\xampp\mysql

thanks for XAMPP
darius
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 31. August 2011 22:57


Return to XAMPP for Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 49 guests