Is Xampp limited to using 3.5GB since it runs in 32-bit mode

Problems with the Windows version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

Is Xampp limited to using 3.5GB since it runs in 32-bit mode

Postby Jog » 20. August 2011 17:37

In Windows Task Manager httpd.exe, mysql.exe, and xampp-control.exe all have "*32" next to them (I'm running Windows 7 64-bit). If they run in 32bit mode, does that mean that can't utalise more than 3.5GB of RAM?

- I've just upgraded to 8GB and altered my php.ini file to have memory_limit = 7168M - but I've not noticed php/mysql use up that much more RAM (and ideally I'd like to store a 2GB table fully in memory to speed up calculations etc)
Jog
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 11. August 2011 09:52

Re: Is Xampp limited to using 3.5GB since it runs in 32-bit

Postby JonB » 21. August 2011 21:15

does that mean that can't utalise more than 3.5GB of RAM?


umm, yes

:shock:
User avatar
JonB
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 3210
Joined: 12. April 2010 16:41
Location: Land of the Blazing Sun
Operating System: Windows XP/7 - Fedora 15 1.7.7


Return to XAMPP for Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 38 guests