Move php pages to server

Problems with the Windows version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

Move php pages to server

Postby scamquist » 21. July 2011 04:21

Greetings,

I am new to developing php pages. Jumping into the deep end with both feet. I used xampp to develop some pages that connect to a ms sql server. I have a few pages working and now want to move to a production server.

The pages are to replace some Cold Fusion pages. I need to keep the Cold Fusion running...for now. My development server uses a backup copy fo the SQL database, so names and permissions are the same. Can I just move the pages to the Inetpub\wwwroot folder and access throught the browser?

I tried that but the php file is not recognized.

I know I am probably missing alot, but can someone point me in the right direction.

Thanks,

Steve
scamquist
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 21. July 2011 03:35

Re: Move php pages to server

Postby Altrea » 21. July 2011 04:48

Hi Steve and welcome to the beautiful world of php programming :D

scamquist wrote:I need to keep the Cold Fusion running...for now.

In most cases that should not be a problem.

scamquist wrote:My development server uses a backup copy fo the SQL database, so names and permissions are the same.

That makes it easier.

scamquist wrote:Can I just move the pages to the Inetpub\wwwroot folder and access throught the browser?

That should work if the server has a build in and correct configurated php parser.

scamquist wrote:I tried that but the php file is not recognized.

What does that mean? Do you get some error messages? More information please.
We don't provide any support via personal channels like PM, email, Skype, TeamViewer!

It's like porn for programmers 8)
User avatar
Altrea
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 8294
Joined: 17. August 2009 13:05
XAMPP version: several
Operating System: Windows 10 Pro x64

Re: Move php pages to server

Postby scamquist » 21. July 2011 10:22

Thank you for the reply. - Can you recommend a good PHP Parser. In windows explorer, the PHP extension is unrecongized.



When I enter http://localhost/TestConn.php, the browser displays the php code:

<?php
/*

http://social.technet.microsoft.com/wik ... m-php.aspx
http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library ... 1(v=sql.90).aspx


Connect to the local server using Windows Authentication and specify
the AdventureWorks database as the database in use. To connect using
SQL Server Authentication, set values for the "UID" and "PWD"
attributes in the $connectionInfo parameter. For example:
$connectionInfo = array("User" => $uid, "password" => $pwd, "Database"=>"OrdersDB");
*/

$serverName = "(local)";
$connectionInfo = array( "Database"=>"OrdersDB");
$conn = sqlsrv_connect( $serverName, $connectionInfo);

if( $conn )
{
ETC....
scamquist
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 21. July 2011 03:35

Re: Move php pages to server

Postby Nobbie » 21. July 2011 10:38

scamquist wrote:Can you recommend a good PHP Parser


There is only one...

What kind of server is your productive server? Tell us everything you know about it. And who is responsible for that server, who is the administrator?
Nobbie
 
Posts: 8775
Joined: 09. March 2008 13:04

Re: Move php pages to server

Postby scamquist » 21. July 2011 14:53

There is a test environment I will start in. My previous post was from the test server.

Server 2000 Service Pack 4. It will connect to a SQL 2000 server. I have administrator rights on this server. It appears that this server is running IIS.

The production environment it will ultimately reside on is
Server 2003 for Small Business Server Service Pack 2. It will connect to a SQL 2005 server. The server is administrated by an outside consultant. It appears this server is running apache 1.3
scamquist
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 21. July 2011 03:35

Re: Move php pages to server

Postby Nobbie » 21. July 2011 17:02

scamquist wrote:Server 2000 Service Pack 4. It will connect to a SQL 2000 server. I have administrator rights on this server. It appears that this server is running IIS.


So if i get it right, you need support for IIS?
Nobbie
 
Posts: 8775
Joined: 09. March 2008 13:04

Re: Move php pages to server

Postby scamquist » 21. July 2011 21:43

Correct. IIS
scamquist
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 21. July 2011 03:35

Re: Move php pages to server

Postby Nobbie » 21. July 2011 22:34

scamquist wrote:Correct. IIS


Unfortunately, this is the "Apache Friends" Forum - not the "IIS Friends" Forum. You should look for an IIS Forum, here you wont find proper IIS knowledge.
Nobbie
 
Posts: 8775
Joined: 09. March 2008 13:04

Re: Move php pages to server

Postby scamquist » 22. July 2011 01:38

point taken,

Thanks.
scamquist
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 21. July 2011 03:35


Return to XAMPP for Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 49 guests