I am lost

Problems with the Windows version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

I am lost

Postby njena56 » 02. July 2011 07:26

I have tried to install XAMPP but message port 80 in use

I have disabled firewall and even stopped my wireless network to no avaol

I get error 404 not found when I try http://localhost/

XAMPP is installed in c:/

Anyone know what I am doing wrong please. I have been trying everything for 3 days now

Many thanks

Alex :cry:
njena56
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 02. July 2011 06:27

Re: I am lost

Postby Sharley » 02. July 2011 08:07

Alex, lets see if we can change this :cry: into this :D for you.

If port 80 is in use then Apache will not be able to start as it can't share ports that it needs exclusively.

Lets find out what is using port 80 and port 443 which will also prevent Apache from starting.

Download and extract to suitable location ( a folder on your desktop perhaps) this little no install free app CurrPorts from here:
http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/cports.html

Check what is using 127.0.0.1 port 80 and port 443

Let us know back if you can't disable what ever it is using the ports.

You did configure Skype to use alternative ports if you use it?

The 404 error may be associated with Apache not being able to start.

You can also run the C:\xampp\start_apache.bat file as it will usually return a message why apache can't start.
User avatar
Sharley
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 3316
Joined: 03. October 2008 05:10
Location: Yeppoon, Australia Time Zone: GMT/UTC+10
Operating System: Win 7 Pro 32bit/XP Pro SP3

Re: I am lost

Postby njena56 » 02. July 2011 18:49

Hi and thanks for your reply

I am running Windows 7 64 bit
I was able to close all port 80 and 443 port was not being used
127.0.0.1 was used by thunderbird and firefox and these were able to be closed but svchost would not close, I have pasted below what Ncurports show as being used by 127.0.0.1

I don't use skype

Now on checking XAMPP it now has apache as running

Will try and work it use it for a whils and then report back.

Again, many thanks for your help

Alex


svchost.exe 1940 UDP 59343 127.0.0.1 C:\Windows\system32\svchost.exe Microsoft® Windows® Operating System Host Process for Windows Services 6.1.7600.16385 (win7_rtm.090713-1255) Microsoft Corporation 02/07/2011 18:21:06 NT AUTHORITY\LOCAL SERVICE FDResPub, FontCache, SSDPSRV, upnphost A 02/07/2011 18:33:50
svchost.exe 276 UDP 64149 127.0.0.1 C:\Windows\system32\svchost.exe Microsoft® Windows® Operating System Host Process for Windows Services 6.1.7600.16385 (win7_rtm.090713-1255) Microsoft Corporation 02/07/2011 18:20:55 NT AUTHORITY\SYSTEM AeLookupSvc, BITS, Browser, EapHost, gpsvc, IKEEXT, iphlpsvc, LanmanServer, ProfSvc, RasMan, Schedule, SENS, SharedAccess, ShellHWDetection, Themes A 02/07/2011 18:33:50
svchost.exe 1940 UDP 1900 ssdp 127.0.0.1 C:\Windows\system32\svchost.exe Microsoft® Windows® Operating System Host Process for Windows Services 6.1.7600.16385 (win7_rtm.090713-1255) Microsoft Corporation 02/07/2011 18:21:06 NT AUTHORITY\LOCAL SERVICE FDResPub, FontCache, SSDPSRV, upnphost A 02/07/2011 18:33:50

Diese Eingabeforderung nicht waehrend des Running beenden
Bitte erst bei einem gewollten Shutdown schliessen
Please close this command only for Shutdown
Apache 2 is starting ...
(OS 10048)Only one usage of each socket address (protocol/network address/port)
is normally permitted. : make_sock: could not bind to address 0.0.0.0:80
no listening sockets available, shutting down
Unable to open logs

Apache konnte nicht gestartet werden
Apache could not be started
Press any key to continue . . .
njena56
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 02. July 2011 06:27

Re: I am lost

Postby Sharley » 03. July 2011 00:09

No need to worry about everything using 127.0.0.1 only the port numbers are important and port 80 and port 443 being used by anything will prevent Apache from starting.

Good to see Apache has finally started and that you can now move forward,

Good luck.
User avatar
Sharley
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 3316
Joined: 03. October 2008 05:10
Location: Yeppoon, Australia Time Zone: GMT/UTC+10
Operating System: Win 7 Pro 32bit/XP Pro SP3

Re: I am lost

Postby njena56 » 03. July 2011 21:41

Thanks for your help

Now I understand that my portable hard drive back up was using port 80 remotely

Not to get on with building

Alex
njena56
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 02. July 2011 06:27


Return to XAMPP for Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 45 guests