Cant get localhost to work [SOLVED]

Problems with the Windows version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

Cant get localhost to work [SOLVED]

Postby bigjohn2029 » 24. June 2011 09:52

Hello,

I have Windows 7. I recently installed windows32 1.7.4 XAMPP and everything appears to be running fine. Im very new to testing servers so please bare with me. I cant seem to get the http://localhost/ to work. I try and put it in my browser from a folder where the ht docs are stored.

I put http://localhost/index.html in my browser and nothing happens.

I have Apache running. Do the others also have to be running like Filezilla and Mercury?

Thanks for your help,
John
bigjohn2029
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 24. June 2011 09:47

Re: Cant get localhost to work

Postby JonB » 24. June 2011 10:42

A. - Do you get an error or a blank screen when you go to http://localhost ???

B. - In the XAMPP Control Panel - does it show Apache as 'running' ???

I'm a little lost on what you mean here:
I try and put it in my browser from a folder where the ht docs are stored.


(are you trying to start it in Windows Explorer????)

:?:
User avatar
JonB
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 3210
Joined: 12. April 2010 16:41
Location: Land of the Blazing Sun
Operating System: Windows XP/7 - Fedora 15 1.7.7

Re: Cant get localhost to work

Postby Sharley » 24. June 2011 11:05

bigjohn2029 wrote:I put http://localhost/index.html in my browser and nothing happens.
Good to see that you used your browser and not the Windows Explorer.

bigjohn2029 wrote:I have Apache running. Do the others also have to be running like Filezilla and Mercury?
You say Apache is running, thats good but you only need to start MySQL also, Mercury and FileZilla do not need to be started.

Check the Windows firewall and or ZoneAlarm are allowing access to localhost and in particular, port 80 and port 443 for Apache, also port 3306 for MySQL.

See if there are any clues in the C:\xampp\apache\logs\error.log file - drag it into your text editor (notepad for example) to read.

Some have had success with this blank behavior by doing a reboot and after starting Apache and MySQL again try the http://localhost in your browser - you don't need to add index.html either.

If all is now working you select your language when offered and then you will see the orange XAMPP Welcome Page, test all the demos and your set to go.


Please also read the C:\xampp\readme_en.txt file.
User avatar
Sharley
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 3316
Joined: 03. October 2008 05:10
Location: Yeppoon, Australia Time Zone: GMT/UTC+10
Operating System: Win 7 Pro 32bit/XP Pro SP3

Re: Cant get localhost to work

Postby bigjohn2029 » 24. June 2011 22:21

Thanks so much for the input. I have Apache and Mysql running. I have tried http://localhost and I just get a webpage with all the listing for localhost through Firefox.I can view my document in Dreamweaver in live view through the testing server. Am I suppose to view the document in firefox? How do I get back to the page on XAMPP where I can test the status?

Thanks again for your help...I really appreciate it!
bigjohn2029
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 24. June 2011 09:47

Re: Cant get localhost to work

Postby Milehigh8710 » 24. June 2011 23:28

Now correct me if I'm wrong but you said (http://localhost/xampp/) but you put .html on the end of the direction in your Original Post, why?
just type into the browser Http://localhost and press enter.

I hope your fix is this simple solution I just gave :)
Milehigh8710
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 23. June 2011 19:25

Re: Cant get localhost to work

Postby Sharley » 25. June 2011 00:48

Type http://localhost/xampp/status.php in your browser or click on this link.
User avatar
Sharley
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 3316
Joined: 03. October 2008 05:10
Location: Yeppoon, Australia Time Zone: GMT/UTC+10
Operating System: Win 7 Pro 32bit/XP Pro SP3

Re: Cant get localhost to work

Postby Sharley » 26. June 2011 03:23

welco1968 wrote:did you place index.html in htdocs
Did you even bother to look in the \xampp\htdocs folder?
If you had then you would see that there is already an index.html placed in there by default during install.


welco1968 wrote:check your xampp control make sure apache is running
Please do read the whole topic before replying as it does make you seem inadequate. ;)

This post and the OP's post clearly establishes that the XCP is showing that Apache is indeed running:
viewtopic.php?p=181648#p181648
User avatar
Sharley
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 3316
Joined: 03. October 2008 05:10
Location: Yeppoon, Australia Time Zone: GMT/UTC+10
Operating System: Win 7 Pro 32bit/XP Pro SP3

Re: Cant get localhost to work

Postby bigjohn2029 » 26. June 2011 21:15

Hey I dont appreciate the saracastic comments and that is to you Sharley referring me to be inadequate. I said Im new to this so be friendly and supportive or dont reply at all
bigjohn2029
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 24. June 2011 09:47

Re: Cant get localhost to work

Postby Nobbie » 26. June 2011 23:31

bigjohn2029 wrote: or dont reply at all


.. or you should not read it at all, because you got that ALL COMPLETELY WRONG. So either dont read it, or read it carefully and avoid such horrible misunderstandings!
Nobbie
 
Posts: 8779
Joined: 09. March 2008 13:04

Re: Cant get localhost to work

Postby JonB » 26. June 2011 23:38

Nobbie is right, Bigjohn - Ms. Sharley is responding to 'welco' - not you.

-- Apologies are needed in the other direction --

Good Luck with your issue.
8)
User avatar
JonB
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 3210
Joined: 12. April 2010 16:41
Location: Land of the Blazing Sun
Operating System: Windows XP/7 - Fedora 15 1.7.7

Re: Cant get localhost to work

Postby Sharley » 27. June 2011 00:24

Many thanks Nobbie and JonB for jumping in with your support for me on this obvious mistake by the OP bigjohn 2029.

As the OP is a new forum user, I will overlooked his error in reading carefully posts by other members and to please read carefully the forum etiquette link in my signature.
User avatar
Sharley
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 3316
Joined: 03. October 2008 05:10
Location: Yeppoon, Australia Time Zone: GMT/UTC+10
Operating System: Win 7 Pro 32bit/XP Pro SP3

Re: Cant get localhost to work

Postby bigjohn2029 » 27. June 2011 20:00

I do apologize. I have reread the post from top to bottom and I owe an apology to Sharley. I was wrong and Im big enough to admit it.
Hope all is forgiven?
bigjohn2029
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 24. June 2011 09:47

Re: Cant get localhost to work

Postby Sharley » 27. June 2011 20:23

bigjohn2029 wrote:I do apologize...
...Hope all is forgiven?
Absolutely and thanks for that. 8)
Anyone can make mistakes and it takes courage and character to admit them.

Good luck with XAMPP and my best wishes. :)
User avatar
Sharley
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 3316
Joined: 03. October 2008 05:10
Location: Yeppoon, Australia Time Zone: GMT/UTC+10
Operating System: Win 7 Pro 32bit/XP Pro SP3

Re: Cant get localhost to work

Postby bigjohn2029 » 27. June 2011 20:52

Here is the latest.....I have a local host. I’m having trouble getting html documents and php documents to show up in browser. I double click the file from the ht docs folder and its right there in the browser but when I type it into browser and hit return I get a page saying:
Object not found!
The requested URL was not found on this server. If you entered the URL manually please check your spelling and try again.
If you think this is a server error, please contact the webmaster.
Error 404
localhost
27/06/2011 20:42:57
Apache/2.2.17 (Win32) mod_ssl/2.2.17 OpenSSL/0.9.8o PHP/5.3.4 mod_perl/2.0.4 Perl/v5.10.1

Also when I try and get a php document it takes me back to dreamweaver. Do I need to change the program? If so which one?

Any help would be appreciated!!!
bigjohn2029
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 24. June 2011 09:47

Re: Cant get localhost to work

Postby Sharley » 27. June 2011 21:05

1. First make sure that Apache and MySQL are both showing green Running in your XAMPP Control Panel.

2. Can you run all the demos on this page http://localhost/xampp/index.php

3. Next read the C:\xampp\apache\logs\error.log file for the reason you have a 404 not found error.

4. What are you typing in your browser's address bar for the html file?

5. What are you typing in your browser's address bar for the php file?

8. Did you associate files with a php extension with DreamWeaver?

Apache will parse php files if you have the server running and you type the URI to the file in your browser.

If you double click on a php file in the htdocs folder or anywhere on your PC then the file will be opened for reading or editing the code in which ever application has been associated with php files.

I have mine associated with a text editor for easy code manipulation but I open it in my browser to see how the code is parsed and so what it will look like to my web site visitors.
User avatar
Sharley
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 3316
Joined: 03. October 2008 05:10
Location: Yeppoon, Australia Time Zone: GMT/UTC+10
Operating System: Win 7 Pro 32bit/XP Pro SP3

Next

Return to XAMPP for Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 65 guests