XPPro/SP3 & Apache issues?

Problems with the Windows version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

XPPro/SP3 & Apache issues?

Postby JVRudnick » 07. June 2011 20:31

Hello all..
I'm an MCSD with over 35 years of coding exp...and I'm having an issue with Xampp.1.7.4 and installing it on an XPPro/SP3/IIS6 box...

Turned off IIS, ran the installer, and got the error message at the very end about "xampp component status check failure" and a string [2118300673] ?

Have searched quite diligently for the answer to same, found nothing for that string anywhere...but still this is what exists --

- while mySQL runs out of port 3306 fine and Apache seems to be running alone on port 80...Apache will not start.

- running xampp-portcheck.exe shows that port 80 is free (so is 81 for Apache WedDav) but Apache service will not start...

- and therefore when I go to http://localhost/xampp/xampp-control.exe - I get a blank page...

Can I ask pls for a pointer at what seems to be the trouble with this?

Jim
JVRudnick
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 07. June 2011 20:20

Re: XPPro/SP3 & Apache issues?

Postby Altrea » 07. June 2011 23:23

your pointer is the \xampp\apache\logs\error.log file.
Apache logs his starting attempts in there.

Please take a look in that file for anything interesting
We don't provide any support via personal channels like PM, email, Skype, TeamViewer!

It's like porn for programmers 8)
User avatar
Altrea
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 8294
Joined: 17. August 2009 13:05
XAMPP version: several
Operating System: Windows 10 Pro x64

Re: XPPro/SP3 & Apache issues?

Postby JVRudnick » 08. June 2011 02:16

Um...usually that's true and yes, I've checked...but there is NO log file in that folder...ie error.log was never created or written...ie the folder is empty, eh!

most likely due to...well, I dont' know...as usually error logs do show what the process has recorded....

so...next idea?

:-)

Jim
JVRudnick
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 07. June 2011 20:20

Re: XPPro/SP3 & Apache issues?

Postby Altrea » 08. June 2011 02:30

JVRudnick wrote:so...next idea?


Open your command line
navigate to your xampp folder
start the file apache_start.bat

You should get all starting messages in your command line.

I guess it's a permission (UAC) Problem. Apache don't seem to have the rights to create it's logfiles.
We don't provide any support via personal channels like PM, email, Skype, TeamViewer!

It's like porn for programmers 8)
User avatar
Altrea
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 8294
Joined: 17. August 2009 13:05
XAMPP version: several
Operating System: Windows 10 Pro x64

Re: XPPro/SP3 & Apache issues?

Postby Sharley » 08. June 2011 04:33

Hello Jim,

JVRudnick wrote:...got the error message at the very end about "xampp component status check failure" and a string [2118300673] ?
There is a topic about this issue, not the exact string you referenced but the various solutions offered may help your case and might well be worth a read (start from the last post page if you prefer):
viewtopic.php?f=16&t=44320

Or you could try version 3 of the XAMPP Control Panel - download from here and extract the exe file into your C:\xampp folder and double click to start it:
http://arloh.de/xampp/xampp_control3.0.2.zip
It does work very well after a few minor issues were quickly ironed out by the developer:
viewtopic.php?f=16&t=46743


Jim, your main issue has sometimes been resolved by doing a reboot after installing XAMPP, but not always. ;)

You may also try removing any ticks in the Apache Svc check box when you get the XAMPP Control Panel up and running, then you can try and start Apache again - often, after many attempts at installing and uninstalling XAMPP, it can cause inexplicable issues to arise especially if the Svc check boxes remained ticked when an uninstall was attempted.

Jim, another option available is to change the method you used for installing XAMPP as the installer version has been known to throw up all sorts of strange issues that using the ZIP method has eliminated completely.
You can download and extract XAMPP from the ZIP version using these simple instructions here:
viewtopic.php?p=179699#p179699

JVRudnick wrote:...when I go to http://localhost/xampp/xampp-control.exe - I get a blank page
This is not the correct method to start an application, plus the URL is incorrect anyway, there is no such xampp-control.exe file in the C:\xampp\htdocs\xampp folder in a default installation, the file is in the C:\xampp folder and for the security of your server those files in that folder are not accessible from a URL in your browser.

Start the C:\xampp\xampp-control.exe file the same way you start any application by double clicking on it or by creating a shortcut on your desktop for easy access.

The rest of your issues are being taken care of by Altrea and btw, no log files means that Apache has never been able to start ever since you installed XAMPP as Apache does create it's log files after a successful start.

Altrea wrote:I guess it's a permission (UAC) Problem...
UAC was introduced in Vista and in it's Vista form does not apply to XP Pro SP3 - mostly permissions are set correctly if the user logs in as an Administrator (a member of the Administrator Group), which Jim should really be, to be able to do anything useful with XP and specifically with any sort of web server installation.

Unless World Wide Publishing (aka. IIS,inetserv or other name MS conjures up to confuse everyone) is absolutely disabled, not simply stopped, then Apache will still conflict and maybe it is port 443 not 80 that is preventing Apache from starting, but as you say running the bat file should give some clues - also there are now many apps like TeamViewer for example that can hog server ports.

Good luck Jim and best wishes. :)
User avatar
Sharley
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 3316
Joined: 03. October 2008 05:10
Location: Yeppoon, Australia Time Zone: GMT/UTC+10
Operating System: Win 7 Pro 32bit/XP Pro SP3

Re: XPPro/SP3 & Apache issues?

Postby Altrea » 08. June 2011 17:04

Sharley wrote:UAC was introduced in Vista and in it's Vista form does not apply to XP Pro SP3

Argh, you are so right :D I thought i have read something about Windows 7. Sorry for that.

Sharley wrote:and maybe it is port 443 not 80 that is preventing Apache from starting

But then Apache should create these log files. What can be a reason for that?
We don't provide any support via personal channels like PM, email, Skype, TeamViewer!

It's like porn for programmers 8)
User avatar
Altrea
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 8294
Joined: 17. August 2009 13:05
XAMPP version: several
Operating System: Windows 10 Pro x64

Re: XPPro/SP3 & Apache issues?

Postby JVRudnick » 08. June 2011 20:45

@Sharly....and @Altrea....

first, lots of info, thanks. will work my way thru same....

first, I have d/l that new control panel...installed and much better than the one that came originally...
have tried to get it to run Apache...but all it says is "Starting Apache service..." and never progresses,
never makes either .log file (access nor error) and it's like frozen in time...sigh....

always reboot after an install - Apache still wont run....

then yup, took away all of the auto start items from the CP and left it for me to manually start...still no Apache....

will now try the .zip d/l and install...

sorry, but the correct path TO Xampp is here - I did NOT accept the default path for a plain jane C:\xampp folder but
instead used C:inetpub\wwwroot\xampp as my folder so that all my web folders remain together...if you don't know
wwwroot is the MS folder of choice for all IIS stuff...oh, it's also where i put the new CP3 too...

and dbl/clicking the CP app gives me the same answer as always....no apache!

so....where did I finally find solace...ahh... a .bat file that I've not used or written since....since...heck, 1984 I think....
still love DOS...hated the interface but yup - start_apache.bat got her up and running...sigh....

:-)

Jim

PS now all I need is a new CodeIgniter contractor and I'm a happy guy! #loveMS #hateOpenSource

pls, someone mark this as SOLVED and list it for other windows users to follow too!
JVRudnick
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 07. June 2011 20:20

Re: XPPro/SP3 & Apache issues?

Postby JVRudnick » 08. June 2011 20:49

sigh...too happy too quick...

php now refuses to run....just trying my php test page with this - <?php phpinfo(); ?>

and nothing....ie it's not served from the xampp folder...shouldn't it be? should that
phptest.php file be "located" somewhere else maybe?

...sigh....

Jim
JVRudnick
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 07. June 2011 20:20

Re: XPPro/SP3 & Apache issues?

Postby JVRudnick » 08. June 2011 21:07

strange...but now php IS running....but ONLY if i leave the commandprompt window up and running...

CP3 reports that Apache is running....all is well, and yes I now can 'see' the Xampp for Windows orange/yellow page...and have clicked most of the left hand sidebar and the status shows --

MySQL database ACTIVATED
PHP ACTIVATED
HTTPS (SSL) ACTIVATED
Common Gateway Interface (CGI) ACTIVATED
Server Side Includes (SSI) ACTIVATED
SMTP Service DEACTIVATED
FTP Service DEACTIVATED
Tomcat Service DEACTIVATED
(exactly what I wanted so this is good)

But soon as I then close the commandprompt window...ie X it out....that automatically stops Apache and this is both seen
and noted in CP3...

Is "this" funcionality normal for this app?

sure doesnt' seem like it should be...but php does run if it's left open etc....

...sigh...

:-)

Jim
JVRudnick
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 07. June 2011 20:20


Return to XAMPP for Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 42 guests