64bits vs 32bits, Windows 7 Home premium version

Problems with the Windows version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

64bits vs 32bits, Windows 7 Home premium version

Postby PietDN » 05. June 2011 13:47

Hello, I'm new to this and need advice.

I'm working on a Windows 7 home premium version, 64bit computer and installed Windows 2010 Student (no access).
After download of XAMPP version 1.7.4 I got access to the XAMPP welcome page via 127.0.0.1. Phpinfo() listed as promised the whole set of settings. Checking from this XAMPP welcome page the phpMyAdmin it generated a error : "Welcome on phpMyAdmin - error 2002, server not responding (or MySQL-server was not installed on the correct socket)". XAMPP control panel application lists Apache, MySQL and FileZilla as 'running', whereas the status page on 127.0.0.1 lists MySQL database as inactivated (php, https (SSL), CGI, SSI and FTP are indicated as activated).

Now, Ive been searching around for reasons and possible fixes. Can someone confirm or correct my findings :
(1) Windows 7 should not be a problem working with all components of XAMPP
(2) Office 2010 Student (without Access) is not a problem
(3) version 1.7.4 is designed for 32bits computers
(4) conclusion : 64bit is the problem

Now here's my question : what should I do? I'm stuck with this computer... Any other version or other software that does the job (helping me set up my dreamweaver library website based on SQL end PHP)? Is 64bit application coming up soon? I'm not a computer fanatic, just want to set up a website. I don't even know the meaning of this 32 or 64bit thing, so if possible a "reply for dummies" ;-)

Thanks for any advice,
Piet
PietDN
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 05. June 2011 13:25

Re: 64bits vs 32bits, Windows 7 Home premium version

Postby Altrea » 05. June 2011 14:59

PietDN wrote:(1) Windows 7 should not be a problem working with all components of XAMPP

- The Windows UAC can be a problem. Turn it off or run the XAMPP control panel as Administrator (rightclick context menu)
- Some Windows Services can block Ports needed by the XAMPP components
- XAMPP shouldn't be installed in the Program Files (x86) Folder.

PietDN wrote:(2) Office 2010 Student (without Access) is not a problem

correct.

PietDN wrote:(3) version 1.7.4 is designed for 32bits computers
(4) conclusion : 64bit is the problem

Yeah, but some guys got v1.7.4 working on a Windows 7 Home Premium 64Bit.
But v1.7.4 is not very stable and feature complete. I recommend you to use v1.7.3 instead.

If you want to stay with v1.7.4 you should replace the control panel with the new XAMPP control panel v3.0.2 which can be found here
This version give you much more information and is not as buggy as the original control panel.
We don't provide any support via personal channels like PM, email, Skype, TeamViewer!

It's like porn for programmers 8)
User avatar
Altrea
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 8299
Joined: 17. August 2009 13:05
XAMPP version: several
Operating System: Windows 10 Pro x64

Re: 64bits vs 32bits, Windows 7 Home premium version

Postby Sharley » 06. June 2011 02:53

Some users have had issues using the installer .exe version of 1.7.4 and they fixed most of their problems by uninstalling the installer version and then downloading the ZIP version, here are some instructions how to do this successfully:
viewtopic.php?p=179699#p179699

The ZIP method has been know to fix some of these inexplicable issues that arise with using the installer version of 1.7.4.

Good luck. :)
User avatar
Sharley
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 3316
Joined: 03. October 2008 05:10
Location: Yeppoon, Australia Time Zone: GMT/UTC+10
Operating System: Win 7 Pro 32bit/XP Pro SP3

Re: 64bits vs 32bits, Windows 7 Home premium version

Postby PietDN » 13. June 2011 15:29

Hello,

Thanks for the info : I got started, jiehoee!

But than again there are other issues you run into. Not sure if this is the correct medium (it certainly does not fit the "64bits vs 32bits..." title anymore. But here I go, if you can make any suggestions another "thank you from the bottom of my heart" is coming your way...

I'm developping a site in Dreamweaver and installed http://localhost/ as my web URL for viewing my work. Firefow is my default browser. Now here's what happens : my index page is in the root of my website. When I want to view it in my browser, I get the "It works!" page. Any other page (root or not, html or php) returns a "Object not found" page. In both cases (it works and object not found), there is the small xampp-icon in the tab of my browser. So, somehow I think there is a connection between xampp and things I do.

Just one step away from speeding up using php and mySQL (I hope). Thanks for any advice!

Piet
PietDN
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 05. June 2011 13:25

Re: 64bits vs 32bits, Windows 7 Home premium version

Postby Altrea » 13. June 2011 19:20

Very common this is a Dreamweaver configuration issue.
In which directory does Dreamweaver save your file?
We don't provide any support via personal channels like PM, email, Skype, TeamViewer!

It's like porn for programmers 8)
User avatar
Altrea
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 8299
Joined: 17. August 2009 13:05
XAMPP version: several
Operating System: Windows 10 Pro x64

Re: 64bits vs 32bits, Windows 7 Home premium version

Postby PietDN » 13. June 2011 19:50

Wow Altrea, you're relay quick in responses... Much appreciated !

My site is saved on a location named D:\websites\LET\6011 in which 6011 is the name of my website.

Rgds,
Piet
PietDN
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 05. June 2011 13:25

Re: 64bits vs 32bits, Windows 7 Home premium version

Postby Altrea » 13. June 2011 20:16

And now take a minute to realize where XAMPPs Apache saves it's files.
One hint: it's somewhere inside your XAMPP installation path.
We don't provide any support via personal channels like PM, email, Skype, TeamViewer!

It's like porn for programmers 8)
User avatar
Altrea
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 8299
Joined: 17. August 2009 13:05
XAMPP version: several
Operating System: Windows 10 Pro x64

Re: 64bits vs 32bits, Windows 7 Home premium version

Postby PietDN » 13. June 2011 21:04

OK. You teached me...

I found this 'it works' index page on C:xampp:apache:htdocs. I assume I should be saving all my site stuf in this folder, overwriting 'it works'-index page. Correct?

I even looked further and the sql databases used in my site are stored in C:xampp:mysql:data:6011. Great.

When transfering both (site + databased), guess my selected webhost should tell me how to transfer them both in order for my site to work life on the internet the same way it does on my localhost. Hein?

Thanks for your time.
PietDN
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 05. June 2011 13:25

Re: 64bits vs 32bits, Windows 7 Home premium version

Postby Altrea » 13. June 2011 21:10

PietDN wrote:I assume I should be saving all my site stuf in this folder, overwriting 'it works'-index page. Correct?

Not exactly. You can create new folders inside your htdocs folder. It's all up to the dreamweaver configuration to access the files correctly.

PietDN wrote:When transfering both (site + databased), guess my selected webhost should tell me how to transfer them both in order for my site to work life on the internet the same way it does on my localhost. Hein?

Well... no. That depends on your webhost if and how deeply it explains you how to transfer your local website to the webhost.
All static data (your .html, .php, .css, .js... files) can be uploaded to your webhost (maybe some configurations files have to be updated first for the correct database data, or something else).
All your database data have to be exported local and can be imported in your webhost because in most cases it won't work to simply upload your mysql data folders to your webhost
We don't provide any support via personal channels like PM, email, Skype, TeamViewer!

It's like porn for programmers 8)
User avatar
Altrea
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 8299
Joined: 17. August 2009 13:05
XAMPP version: several
Operating System: Windows 10 Pro x64


Return to XAMPP for Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: JJ_Tagy and 73 guests