Apaches start then stop

Problems with the Windows version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

Apaches start then stop

Postby addACUMEN » 13. February 2011 10:36

I have been a happy XAMPP user for many years. However, I updated to the current version and am having problems.

Symptom: On the XAMPP control panel click Start and get a green light which goes out in a few seconds.

System XP-SP2, Skype not using 80, Windows Firewall disabled

Log says
(OS 10048)Only one usage of each socket address (protocol/network address/port) is normally permitted. : make_sock: could not bind to address 0.0.0.0:80
no listening sockets available, shutting down
Unable to open logs

netstat -o does not show any process using port 80

httpd version is 2.2.17.0

Could you please help me?
Thank you for your help

Tony D
addACUMEN
 
Posts: 15
Joined: 02. March 2007 22:26
Location: Wengen, Switzerland

Re: Apaches start then stop

Postby Altrea » 13. February 2011 11:22

Try
Code: Select all
netstat -aon |find ":80"
We don't provide any support via personal channels like PM, email, Skype, TeamViewer!

It's like porn for programmers 8)
User avatar
Altrea
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 8288
Joined: 17. August 2009 13:05
XAMPP version: several
Operating System: Windows 10 Pro x64

Re: Apaches start then stop

Postby robert99 » 13. February 2011 17:10

If you have Microsoft IIS server installed, see my post:
viewtopic.php?f=16&t=44552

This gives same symptoms with Apache not starting.
netstat does not show anything either.
robert99
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 28. January 2010 21:08

Re: Apaches start then stop

Postby Altrea » 13. February 2011 17:27

robert99 wrote:netstat does not show anything either.

Sorry, but that's simply false.
If IIS uses Port 80 netstat with the right parameters will show this port as used.
We don't provide any support via personal channels like PM, email, Skype, TeamViewer!

It's like porn for programmers 8)
User avatar
Altrea
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 8288
Joined: 17. August 2009 13:05
XAMPP version: several
Operating System: Windows 10 Pro x64

Re: Apaches start then stop

Postby addACUMEN » 13. February 2011 17:58

Thank you altrea.

However, I am unable to create a vertical bar in my CMD window. My keyboard does not seem to have one and I cannot work out which keys to press to produce one.

Any advice?

Thanks

Tony D
Thank you for your help

Tony D
addACUMEN
 
Posts: 15
Joined: 02. March 2007 22:26
Location: Wengen, Switzerland

Re: Apaches start then stop

Postby Altrea » 13. February 2011 18:47

addACUMEN wrote:However, I am unable to create a vertical bar in my CMD window. My keyboard does not seem to have one and I cannot work out which keys to press to produce one.

The vertical bar is called "pipe" and it depends on your keyboard layout where to find it.
On my german layout its next to the left shift key (on my keyboard the symbol is interrupted in the middle).

But the part from the pipe on is just a filter for the first command. So you can simply use
Code: Select all
netstat -aon
We don't provide any support via personal channels like PM, email, Skype, TeamViewer!

It's like porn for programmers 8)
User avatar
Altrea
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 8288
Joined: 17. August 2009 13:05
XAMPP version: several
Operating System: Windows 10 Pro x64

Re: Apaches start then stop

Postby addACUMEN » 13. February 2011 21:26

Thank you.
However it does not show any port 80 activity.

Tony

(I have to travel till Tuesday now so I will be absent for a bit.)
Thank you for your help

Tony D
addACUMEN
 
Posts: 15
Joined: 02. March 2007 22:26
Location: Wengen, Switzerland

Re: Apaches start then stop

Postby robert99 » 15. February 2011 15:37

robert99 wrote:netstat does not show anything either.

Sorry, but that's simply false.
If IIS uses Port 80 netstat with the right parameters will show this port as used.


netstat -aon |find":80"
does not find IIS - try it before you make such statements.

It only finds one PID = 4 which is possibly the main ntkernel

The thread which shows the Microsoft avice how to change Microsoft IIS to another port does help and I now get the xampp page at localhost/xampp using port 80.

MYSQL database still wont start for me on port 3306 however - any thoughts?
(I can get a separate installation of MySQL to work on port 3307 but not 3306)
robert99
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 28. January 2010 21:08

Re: Apaches start then stop

Postby Altrea » 15. February 2011 16:14

robert99 wrote:robert99 wrote:netstat does not show anything either.

Sorry, but that's simply false.
If IIS uses Port 80 netstat with the right parameters will show this port as used.


netstat -aon |find":80"
does not find IIS - try it before you make such statements.

It only finds one PID = 4 which is possibly the main ntkernel

I haven't said, that netstat will find a string like IIS. I just have said, that netstat will find anything for a port that is in use. Read my posts carefully before you try to lecture me.
We don't provide any support via personal channels like PM, email, Skype, TeamViewer!

It's like porn for programmers 8)
User avatar
Altrea
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 8288
Joined: 17. August 2009 13:05
XAMPP version: several
Operating System: Windows 10 Pro x64


Return to XAMPP for Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 58 guests