phpMyAdmin doesn't work, mySql is showing as deactivated.

Problems with the Windows version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

Re: phpMyAdmin doesn't work, mySql is showing as deactivated.

Postby JonB » 29. August 2010 21:40

Code: Select all
301.; Even when display_errors is on, errors that occur during PHP's startup
302.; sequence are not displayed.  It's strongly recommended to keep
303.; display_startup_errors off, except for when debugging.
304.display_startup_errors = Off
305.
306.; Log errors into a log file (server-specific log, stderr, or error_log (below))
307.; As stated above, you're strongly advised to use error logging in place of
308.; error displaying on production web sites.
309.log_errors = Off
310.
311.; Set maximum length of log_errors. In error_log information about the source is
312.; added. The default is 1024 and 0 allows to not apply any maximum length at all.
313.log_errors_max_len = 1024
314.
315.; Do not log repeated messages. Repeated errors must occur in same file on same
316.; line until ignore_repeated_source is set true.
317.ignore_repeated_errors = Off
318.



:roll:
User avatar
JonB
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 3210
Joined: 12. April 2010 16:41
Location: Land of the Blazing Sun
Operating System: Windows XP/7 - Fedora 15 1.7.7

Re: phpMyAdmin doesn't work, mySql is showing as deactivated.

Postby JonB » 29. August 2010 22:13

Ah, no. Did you think I learned how to install windows yesterday, then XAMPP the day after?


Actually - You probably don't want to know what I think right now, and the point will turn out to be deabtable for sure. I am currently in a moral quandry on if your smart-a** attitude means you are undeserving of any further assistance from me, especially since I'm pretty sure I know what's wrong.

:)
User avatar
JonB
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 3210
Joined: 12. April 2010 16:41
Location: Land of the Blazing Sun
Operating System: Windows XP/7 - Fedora 15 1.7.7

Re: phpMyAdmin doesn't work, mySql is showing as deactivated.

Postby drop_lord » 30. August 2010 13:26

I'm looking. Thanks for those tips on turning on the error reporting.

Here you can make fun of my lack of knowledge by looking at the first error starting Apache2.2:

tinypic.com appears broken, not generating links:

http://tinypic.com/view.php?pic=2s6x07a&s=4
drop_lord
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 24. August 2010 12:11

Re: phpMyAdmin doesn't work, mySql is showing as deactivated.

Postby JonB » 30. August 2010 15:21

Yup - You are on the right track

Considering your show of humility, I will tell you what the problem is:

You can't just dump in a php.ini file from a different installation into a 'suite' setup such as XAMMP or WAMP.

And that error is 'what the problem' is - you can't transplant things. The mysqli that is called is the one that would work with a different compilation of PHP.

That's how I found the problem - I looked in your php.ini for the 'unloadable' extension (from your first post) extension=php_mysqli.dll

Then I searched/compared the original XAMPP php.ini - that extension is NOT present. Then I looked at the structure of the php.ini and knew it came from a different installation. The XAMPP php.ini calls: extension=php_mysqli_libmysql.dll

The PHP.INI you have in there is calling the wrong libraries (DLLs).

Replace it with the original XAMMP php.ini -- then make changes. DON'T try to patch things -- you will only discover other errors, or worse - you will discover them when things are working, you add a new routine and it fails when you activate an extension.

You can't mix and match parts -- enough said.

8)
User avatar
JonB
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 3210
Joined: 12. April 2010 16:41
Location: Land of the Blazing Sun
Operating System: Windows XP/7 - Fedora 15 1.7.7

Re: phpMyAdmin doesn't work, mySql is showing as deactivated.

Postby drop_lord » 30. August 2010 15:46

Yes. Don't know how that happened.

Tried what you suggested, even before getting back to your reply, copying a fresh php.ini from the xampp 1.7.3 zip, no dice.

Next, backing up config files of apache and removing the whole xampp folder and starting over. At this point almost exclusively apache was in use so no big loss.

Thanks. :mrgreen:

I did it... yoooouuuurrr waaay :lol:
drop_lord
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 24. August 2010 12:11

Re: phpMyAdmin doesn't work, mySql is showing as deactivated.

Postby JonB » 30. August 2010 18:08

I did it... yoooouuuurrr waaay :D


If that means its working now, great. Good job. :mrgreen:

Good Luck with your project.
8)
User avatar
JonB
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 3210
Joined: 12. April 2010 16:41
Location: Land of the Blazing Sun
Operating System: Windows XP/7 - Fedora 15 1.7.7

Re: phpMyAdmin doesn't work, mySql is showing as deactivated.

Postby drop_lord » 02. September 2010 19:36

yeah jonb and gremlinguy. We are trying to help a lot of people with it, so we'll see how it goes. Not for commercial gain, it's related to private education.

Meanwhile it is working, I installed it as C:\XAMPP and transferred, very carefully, the httpd.conf and other apache .conf files and it's all running smoothly now. :wink:
drop_lord
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 24. August 2010 12:11

Previous

Return to XAMPP for Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 68 guests