Page 1 of 1

Vhost and router problem.

PostPosted: 26. May 2010 05:03
by osugregor
Ok guys, ive searched and searched multiple forums to try and find an answer to my problem, i cant though.

I am using XAMPP along with dyndns.com(I have pro so wilcards are enabled).

I want to set up subdomains with my dyndns account so I can go to multiple sites, for example going to
"mysite.dyndns.com would take you to my htdocs root folder.
"site1.mysite.dyndns.com would take you to htdocs/site1/ folder
"site2.mysite.dyndns.com would take you to htdocs/site2/ folder
etc, etc.
After following serveral tutorials Ive added these to VirtualHost to the /apache/conf/extra/http-vhost.conf file in XAMPP:
Code: Select all
<VirtualHost *:80>
   ServerName mysite.dyndns.com
   ServerAlias www.mysite.dyndns.com
   DocumentRoot "F:/xampp/htdocs"
   ServerAdmin email@email.com
   <Directory "F:/xampp/htdocs" >
      Options Indexes FollowSymLinks Includes ExecCGI
      AllowOverride All
      Order allow,deny
      Allow from all
   </Directory>
</VirtualHost>

<VirtualHost *:80>
   ServerName site1.mysite.dyndns.com
   ServerAlias www.site1.mysite.dyndns.com
   DocumentRoot "F:/xampp/htdocs/site1"
   ServerAdmin email@email.com
   <Directory "F:/xampp/htdocs/site1" >
      Options Indexes FollowSymLinks Includes ExecCGI
      AllowOverride All
      Order allow,deny
      Allow from all
   </Directory>
</VirtualHost>


Going to
mysite.dyndns.com
works fine and takes me to the htdocs root, however going to
site1.mysite.dyndns.com
takes me to my router login.

Any help please :?:

Re: Vhost and router problem.

PostPosted: 26. May 2010 09:37
by Nobbie
Where is the "NameVirtualHost" Directive in your configuration?

Re: Vhost and router problem.

PostPosted: 26. May 2010 14:08
by osugregor
I uncommented the one in the httpd-vhosts.conf, the line is:
Code: Select all
NameVirtualHost *:80

Sorry, should of added that to the code above.

Re: Vhost and router problem.

PostPosted: 26. May 2010 15:54
by JonB
I suspect the issue is with DynDNS. Are you using their free basic service or their custom service?

http://www.dyndns.com/support/kb/custom.html

Good Luck
8)

Re: Vhost and router problem.

PostPosted: 04. June 2010 20:14
by osugregor
Sorry for such a late response, I was out of town and a little busy catching up when I got back, but I am paying for the premium services. I have wildcards enabled and for service type I have Host with IP address.

Re: Vhost and router problem.

PostPosted: 04. June 2010 20:22
by osugregor
Its working now, I dont know what happened or changed but, it seems fine.
I think it may have been a router setting, cause we had a huge storm yesterday which cut off the power and one of my roommates reset the router for some reason.

But thanks for the help anyways, nice to know theres always someone out there!

Re: Vhost and router problem.

PostPosted: 04. June 2010 23:42
by JonB
Thanks for getting back to us, glad it worked out!

:D