SSL for all sites w/ vhosts set-up

Problems with the Windows version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

SSL for all sites w/ vhosts set-up

Postby skunkbad » 19. May 2010 06:50

I found the file in conf/extra that allows me to change the SSL for use with one of my sites at a time. Is it possible to make a change to this file that will allow SSL for all sites, so I don't have to come back and switch it every time I want to work on a different site?
skunkbad
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 17. May 2010 07:36

Re: SSL for all sites w/ vhosts set-up

Postby skunkbad » 19. May 2010 10:14

I figured it out. Don't know if it is the best way, but I just added a virtualhost for every site:

Code: Select all
NameVirtualHost *:80
NameVirtualHost *:443

<VirtualHost *:80>
   ServerName rbg72.web
   ServerAdmin webmaster@localhost
   DocumentRoot "E:\xampp\htdocs"
</VirtualHost>
<VirtualHost *:443>
   DocumentRoot "E:\xampp\htdocs"
   ServerName rbg72.web
   ServerAlias rbg72.web
   SSLEngine on
   SSLCertificateFile conf/ssl.crt/server.crt
   SSLCertificateKeyFile conf/ssl.key/server.key
</VirtualHost>

<VirtualHost *:80>
   ServerName rbg72.community-cart
   ServerAdmin webmaster@localhost
   DocumentRoot "E:\xampp\htdocs\community-cart"
</VirtualHost>
<VirtualHost *:443>
   DocumentRoot "E:\xampp\htdocs\community-cart"
   ServerName rbg72.community-cart
   ServerAlias rbg72.community-cart
   SSLEngine on
   SSLCertificateFile conf/ssl.crt/server.crt
   SSLCertificateKeyFile conf/ssl.key/server.key
</VirtualHost>

#... and so on


I don't know if I need the server alias line, but haven't got around to testing without it.
skunkbad
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 17. May 2010 07:36

Re: SSL for all sites w/ vhosts set-up

Postby skunkbad » 24. May 2010 05:52

I guess this works, but I have no errors generated if I go to a URL that doesn't exist. Instead it says server misconfigured... looks like a 500 error. Also, I get a bunch of errors in the error log on start up, even though everything works fine for development (or at least I think it does). I have wasted so much time with this XAMPP, it is really frustrating. Yes, I don't understand. I am missing my wampserver a lot tonight. What I fear is that since XAMPP is telling me I have misconfigured it, that it will not perform when I really need it to. What else might not be working right? ARG!
skunkbad
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 17. May 2010 07:36


Return to XAMPP for Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 214 guests