RewriteBase in .htaccess is ignored

Problems with the Windows version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

RewriteBase in .htaccess is ignored

Postby skunkbad » 17. May 2010 07:55

I'm a new XAMPP user. Switching from wampserver2, which I do like as well, but like XAMPPs built in SSL.

I use subdirectories of /htdocs/ for all of my websites, and there are many. I would like to be able to use a RewriteBase in an .htaccess for each site. Normally if the subdirectory holding a site is /example/, then I would simply add RewriteBase /example/ to my .htaccess file, but it is being ignored. It is as if AllowOverride is None, but I did set to All! I can change my rewrite rules to include the subdirectory, and then they work fine, but this is a nuisance. What can I do to the .conf files so that I can set it and forget it? I've had some basic Apache experience, but I can't figure out something like this.
skunkbad

Re: RewriteBase in .htaccess is ignored

Postby Wiedmann » 17. May 2010 08:09

I use subdirectories of /htdocs/ for all of my websites,

In this case the usage of RewriteBase is not necessary (it's only necessary in an Alias path).

but it is being ignored.

And other (ReWrite) directives are working? (in this case RewriteBase is working and you have an other problem)
Wiedmann
AF Moderator

Postby skunkbad » 17. May 2010 08:23

Yes, the rewriting is working, but I can change the rewritebase to anything, and it does not make a difference.

For instance:

Code: Select all
RewriteEngine On
RewriteRule ^sitemap.xml /tv-sewingcenter/sitemap.php [NC]

The above works as expected, but on the production server I would have it like this:

RewriteEngine On
RewriteRule ^sitemap.xml /sitemap.php [NC]

Ideally, in XAMPP I would use a rewritebase like this:

RewriteEngine On
RewriteBase /tv-sewingcenter/

But apache tries to find sitemap.php at /xampp/htdocs/sitemap.php, and this results in a 404 error.