How to implement WinCache in XAMPP?

Problems with the Windows version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

How to implement WinCache in XAMPP?

Postby baijianpeng » 06. May 2010 04:38

Read this first: http://www.iis.net/download/wincacheforphp

I want to test WinCache on XAMPP, but I can't.

I copied php_wincache.dll file into the PHP extensions folder. Then I added the correct code to the php.ini file.

Next, when I tried to restart Apache, there was a pop-up dialog showing following error message:

php5.dll is missing


(not the exact sentence, I translated from the original Chinese message)

Though the WinCache official said wincache can only work on IIS, in fact, someone mentioned that wincache can also work on Apache.

So, I hope you can add this caching method into XAMPP.

Thanks.
http://www.joomlagate.com

Chinese Joomla Users' Portal
baijianpeng
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 12. May 2009 15:56

Re: How to implement WinCache in XAMPP?

Postby JonB » 06. May 2010 19:24

someone mentioned that wincache can also work on Apache


who?

:?:
User avatar
JonB
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 3210
Joined: 12. April 2010 16:41
Location: Land of the Blazing Sun
Operating System: Windows XP/7 - Fedora 15 1.7.7

Re: How to implement WinCache in XAMPP?

Postby baijianpeng » 07. May 2010 02:13

Read this:

http://www.nexdot.net/blog/2010/02/09/wincache-apache-and-a-pretty-graph/

The author mentioned that:

The documentation makes no mention of Apache, only IIS. I decided to give it a try, and to my amazement, WinCache worked in Apache on Windows. After that I decided to compare the performance of WinCache with the other available options for Windows+Apache.


But he did not elaborate how to implement WinCache on Apache.

I hope XAMPP team will add this feature to XAMPP then we can just use it.

Thanks.
http://www.joomlagate.com

Chinese Joomla Users' Portal
baijianpeng
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 12. May 2009 15:56

Re: How to implement WinCache in XAMPP?

Postby JonB » 08. May 2010 14:17

It may work, its not really an MS IIS extension:

http://pecl.php.net/package/WinCache

@ baijianpeng:

read this thread about missing php5.dll from (cough, cough) the wampserver forum:

http://www.wampserver.com/phorum/read.php?2,57881,57889

:shock:
User avatar
JonB
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 3210
Joined: 12. April 2010 16:41
Location: Land of the Blazing Sun
Operating System: Windows XP/7 - Fedora 15 1.7.7

Re: How to implement WinCache in XAMPP?

Postby baijianpeng » 08. May 2010 14:43

I think the php5.dll comes with the independent PHP for Windows installer. Since I was testing on XAMPP, so the wincache script can't find php5.dll.

I guess, if I install PHP, Apache and MySQL respectively on Windows, then wincache will work. But I hate such a procedure.

I hope wincache will be included inside XAMPP for Windows by default (not enabled by default).

Thanks.
http://www.joomlagate.com

Chinese Joomla Users' Portal
baijianpeng
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 12. May 2009 15:56

Re: How to implement WinCache in XAMPP?

Postby JonB » 08. May 2010 17:25

I don't think that is necessary. You only need make sure that the version of the binaries you are using is consistent. I''m in the 99% sure range that all that is needed is the correct binary/ies, AND a modified single php.ini that makes the correct reference to it/them. XAMPP and WAMP are registry agnostic, so all that matters is the location of the files.

read this:
http://hubpages.com/hub/Using-PHP-on-Windows

Good Luck
:)
User avatar
JonB
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 3210
Joined: 12. April 2010 16:41
Location: Land of the Blazing Sun
Operating System: Windows XP/7 - Fedora 15 1.7.7


Return to XAMPP for Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 37 guests