Cannot start Apache

Problems with the Windows version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

Cannot start Apache

Postby midiweb » 21. April 2010 14:20

Hi, I cannot start Apache anymore (latest version) with the control panel The "start" button stays highlighted.
I have the message in the windows under:

apache started
busy
WARNING terminating worker thread 0
Apache started,....

Mysql starts
I have "Running" in green.

Who can help?

Thanks
midiweb
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 22. September 2008 14:39

Re: Cannot start Apache

Postby twidlar » 21. April 2010 18:47

I actually have the same problem, Apache won't start (Busy). It is probably the result of what I have done.

1. I had XAMPP in C:\xampp on GORT. It ran fine. Eclipse PDT accessed the files in C:\xampp\htdocs\econcurrent.com just fine. I downloaded the database from my remote site and PHPMyAdmin loaded it just fine. My PHP scripts played with it nicely.
2. Having to travel, I copied C:\xampp to L:\GORTC\xampp (L: an external drive) to use with my laptop MARVIN.
3. Having travelled, I downloaded xampp again and installed it by unzipping in L:\xampp and running setup_xampp.bat. It asked a few questions and exited.
4. I then tried to figure out how to move my database from L:\GORTC\xampp to L:\xampp.
5. Figuring I would just ruin L:\xampp, I renamed L:\xampp to L:\xampp2
6. I copied L:\GORTC\xampp to L:\xampp
7. I ran setup_xampp.bat. It just asked 1)Refresh or x)Exit. I refreshed.
8. I tried to start Apache (Busy) and MySQL (OK) from the XAMPP control panel.
9. I ran setup_xampp.bat again. It said "nothing to do".
10. So how do I get old L:\xampp running or get my databade into new L:\xampp2?

Thanks
twidlar
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 05. July 2009 00:28

Re: Cannot start Apache

Postby twidlar » 21. April 2010 21:53

I solved the problem of not being able to start Apache.

1. On the XAMPP Control Panel I clicked the Check Ports button. It told me the Skype had grabbed ports 80 and 443 (HTTP and HTTPS).
2. I stopped Skype.
3. I restarted XAMPP. Apache and MySQL started.
4. I restarted Skype. It evidently found new ports.

Now I still have to move my old webpages and MySQL database to the new XAMPP.
Do I just move L:\xampp0\mysql\data\<database> to L:\xampp\mysql\data\<database>?
twidlar
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 05. July 2009 00:28

Re: Cannot start Apache

Postby midiweb » 21. April 2010 23:16

thanks. This latest fix has worked. It's because SKYPE has the same port. It works now like a charm.
midiweb
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 22. September 2008 14:39

Re: Cannot start Apache

Postby tackyew » 21. May 2010 08:20

Thanks Twidlar! I got the same problem, but now solved.
I was unable to figure out what's wrong with my Xampp, I reinstall it but no use.
Now it is running properly.
tackyew
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 21. May 2010 08:13


Return to XAMPP for Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 49 guests