Page 1 of 1

xampp 1.7.3 - php recognizing > instead of ?> as script end

PostPosted: 20. January 2010 06:46
by doctorriee
php is failing in xampp 1.7.3

php is recognizing > instead of ?> as the end of php script - see example below. Have checked 11 pages with the same result.

<?
// ---------------------- read scan file --------------------
if(isset($_COOKIE['graph_table_data_d']))
{
$row = $_COOKIE['graph_table_data_d'];
$row1 = $_COOKIE['graph_table_data_squelch'];
}

$base_file_name = explode('_',$row);
$base_file_name1 = explode('____',$row);

$address = "$base_file_name[0].$base_file_name[1].$base_file_name[2]_$base_file_name[3].$base_file_name[4].$base_file_name[5].txt";
//echo $address."-address<br>\n"; <------- php script stops here instead of at end (?>)
$directory = '../Scans/demo_database/';
$counter_file = $directory.$address;
//print("counter_file = $counter_file <br>");

does any one have a cure??????

Re: xampp 1.7.3 - php recognizing > instead of ?> as script end

PostPosted: 24. January 2010 21:24
by y0ursource
use v1.7.1 anything else just does not work, v1.7.1 works perfectly on any script.
Hopefully enough people will see this try for themselves and then make a big enough fuss for someone to listen.

Re: xampp 1.7.3 - php recognizing > instead of ?> as script end

PostPosted: 31. January 2010 14:33
by echo9
version 1.7.2 works well in the above case!

Re: xampp 1.7.3 - php recognizing > instead of ?> as script end

PostPosted: 31. January 2010 20:09
by Wiedmann
version 1.7.2 works well in the above case!

No, short tags are deactivated also in 1.7.2.

Re: xampp 1.7.3 - php recognizing > instead of ?> as script end

PostPosted: 31. January 2010 20:31
by echo9
don't know that..but it worked for me out of the box on my clean install of xampp v.1.7.2 (without any addons installed). 8)

Re: xampp 1.7.3 - php recognizing > instead of ?> as script end

PostPosted: 31. January 2010 20:39
by Wiedmann
but it worked for me out of the box

Maybe your script, but the above case and sample code can't work in a out of the box clean install of xampp v.1.7.2.

Re: xampp 1.7.3 - php recognizing > instead of ?> as script end

PostPosted: 31. January 2010 21:00
by echo9
Wiedmann wrote:
but it worked for me out of the box

Maybe your script, but the above case and sample code can't work in a out of the box clean install of xampp v.1.7.2.


hmm.. you are right some what..

I tried running this:

Code: Select all
<?php
    echo '<b>Can gophers really code PHP?</b>';
?>

<?php echo '<hr><b>line 2 test</b><hr>' ?>


this worked as it should.. but the one below..? check it out for yourself~

Code: Select all
<?php
print("<b>Can gophers really code PHP?</b>");
print("<hr><b>line 2 test</b><hr>");
?>


I am getting extra text/chars in the output ? the parenthesis, the semi-colon all of 'em are pooping up from no where?!

Can anybody tell me why is it so?

Re: xampp 1.7.3 - php recognizing > instead of ?> as script end

PostPosted: 31. January 2010 21:58
by Wiedmann
I am getting extra text/chars in the output ?

Hmm, I have both times the same (correct) output.

Re: xampp 1.7.3 - php recognizing > instead of ?> as script end

PostPosted: 22. August 2010 02:20
by potimo
I think I have a similar issue. Was not able to extract a solution from the thread. So here it is:

I created this .php page:

<html>
<head>
<title>PHP Test</title>
</head>
<body>
<?php echo '<p>Hello World</p>'; ?>
</body>
</html>

I loaded it in the browser (mozilla firefox) and got this as output:

Hello World

'; ?>

It is as if the recognition of php command is not fully complete.

Which way to solve that issue? I have used xampp 1.7.3

Re: xampp 1.7.3 - php recognizing > instead of ?> as script end

PostPosted: 22. August 2010 19:00
by WilliL
when I started firefox 3.6.8 with your excample it works fine. I use XAMPP 1.7.3 too, no changes in any ini or conf
(localhost/test.php)