Using Joomla and Xampp

Problems with the Windows version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

Using Joomla and Xampp

Postby zain121 » 31. December 2009 14:58

Hi,

I have been running a website and wanted to use Joomla as my templates and CMS.

I was reading the quickguide for Joomla and it asked me to install xampp.

After following the steps I tried 'testing the installation' by typing http://localhost in my browser and was told that I would see a XAMPP webpage.

However, when I enter the url I see the IIS7 (Internet Information Services) webpage.

My question was therefore:

1. Is my installation of Xampp correct? If not, what am I doing wrong?
2. Do I need Xampp installed on my computer to be able to use Joomla CMS (Frontend and Backend) for my website

I am a novice at this and look forward to your replies.

Thanks
zain121
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 31. December 2009 14:41

Re: Using Joomla and Xampp

Postby Wiedmann » 31. December 2009 15:37

1. Is my installation of Xampp correct?

I guess yes. (whithout running ist, you can't test if its working)

If not, what am I doing wrong?

You can only start one webserver, IIS or Apache.

However, when I enter the url I see the IIS7 (Internet Information Services) webpage.

If you want use XAMPP/Apache, you must stop IIS.

2. Do I need Xampp installed on my computer to be able to use Joomla CMS (Frontend and Backend) for my website

No, Joomla is running on each PHP enabled webserver. (so installing PHP for IIS (and MySQL) is also working)
Wiedmann
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 17106
Joined: 01. February 2004 12:38
Location: Stuttgart / Germany


Return to XAMPP for Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 53 guests