XAMPP SMTP Mercury question?

Problems with the Windows version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

XAMPP SMTP Mercury question?

Postby piperazine » 27. December 2009 03:23

Hello,

I've just installed XAMPP on my windows XP machine for the first time (I used the ZIP install not the .exe, and ran the setup script). I'm pretty new to all this, and want to make sure I've got everthing working.

Ive started Mercury, Filezilla, MySQL, and Apache from the Control Panel and all of them say that they are running. Everything seems to be working OK. I can type localhost in the browser and I get the XAMPP welcome screen etc.

But, when I check Status I get everthing activated except IPv6 (which I believe is normal), and SMTP. I thought SMPT should be activated as I have Mercury allready running.

Could anyone confirm if SMTP being deactivated is normal, and/or explain why this is the case.

Thanks in advance

Matt
piperazine

Re: XAMPP SMTP Mercury question?

Postby Izzy » 27. December 2009 05:04

Until you configure Mercury Mail to listen for incoming mail then SMTP will remain deactivated in the Status page - to configure Mercury there are good help files in the MercuryMail folder.

When Mercury is first started from a default installation of XAMPP nothing is automagically configured as it would be impossible to know how to do this with everyone having differing needs for this component.

BTW unless you are specifically requiring a full blown email service on your LAN then there would normally be no need to start Mercury and that would also apply to FileZilla if you have no need of a full blown FTP server - this will help conserve your system resources etc. etc.