Page 1 of 1

My website wont run?

PostPosted: 18. September 2009 17:13
by blgrsguy
Trying to get the company website to run on XAMPP so I can take it to a trade show and let people use it without paying the exorbitant WIFI fee at the trade show. Simple test php files work such as a "hello world". However, I think XAMPP doesn't like the index.php file from our company website. Whenever I try http://localhost/ourwebsite/ I get a "The connection to the server was reset while the page was loading" in firefox. No I did not code the site and the guy that did has never used XAMPP. Hopefully its just as simple as turning a feature on somewhere?

Both Apache and Mysql are running as services (green 'running' lights on both).

I hope somebody can help me out here we are a very small organization and I'm just a marketing guy.

Re: My website wont run?

PostPosted: 18. September 2009 18:52
by Gadrin
2 Questions:

1. What's the path to your XAMPP folder ?
2. Whats the path to your OURWEBSITE folder ?

They should be similar.

For instance, on my laptop my testing folder is where
I keep my PHP files and the path looks like

C:\xampp\htdocs\test

and to get to a web page called Dir-Test.php, I enter:

http://localhost/test/Dir-Test.php

and it runs the PHP script on that page.

>

Re: My website wont run?

PostPosted: 18. September 2009 19:36
by blgrsguy
Gadrin wrote:2 Questions:

1. What's the path to your XAMPP folder ?
2. Whats the path to your OURWEBSITE folder ?

>


C:\xampp\htdocs\xampp

C:\xampp\htdocs\ourwebsite

So what I'm wondering is do my php files need to be tweaked or do some config files need to be tweaked in Apache somewhere and how would I know.

Re: My website wont run?

PostPosted: 18. September 2009 19:55
by Gadrin
Create a file called hfx.php with the following contents:

Code: Select all

<?php

echo "Hello from XAMPP!";

?>



and save it in your c:\xampp\htdocs\ourwebsite folder.

Then click on this link: http://localhost/ourswebsite/hfx.php

and what happens ?

If you don't see the message, then it could be your localhost isn't configured correctly.
See your hosts file

C:\Windows\System32\drivers\etc\hosts

it should look like this:

Code: Select all
# Copyright (c) 1993-2006 Microsoft Corp.
#
# This is a sample HOSTS file used by Microsoft TCP/IP for Windows.
#
# This file contains the mappings of IP addresses to host names. Each
# entry should be kept on an individual line. The IP address should
# be placed in the first column followed by the corresponding host name.
# The IP address and the host name should be separated by at least one
# space.
#
# Additionally, comments (such as these) may be inserted on individual
# lines or following the machine name denoted by a '#' symbol.
#
# For example:
#
#      102.54.94.97     rhino.acme.com          # source server
#       38.25.63.10     x.acme.com              # x client host

127.0.0.1       localhost


>

Re: My website wont run?

PostPosted: 18. September 2009 20:41
by blgrsguy
Gadrin wrote:Create a file called hfx.php with the following contents:

Code: Select all

<?php

echo "Hello from XAMPP!";

?>



and save it in your c:\xampp\htdocs\ourwebsite folder.

Then click on this link: http://localhost/ourswebsite/hfx.php

and what happens ?

>


"Hello from XAMPP!" works. So I'm guessing something in my php files is running differently in XAMPP than when it is on our web server at the hosting company.

Re: My website wont run?

PostPosted: 18. September 2009 21:43
by Gadrin
blgrsguy wrote:"Hello from XAMPP!" works. So I'm guessing something in my php files is running differently in XAMPP than when it is on our web server at the hosting company.


Well, good. Now if you google for the error message text, one of the links mentions that
that error message is usually related to Firewall issues. So maybe start there on
the PC that's having problems and see if you can figure it out.

Maybe the PC's firewall is preventing the PC from getting to the server.

The connection to the server was reset while the page was loading

>

Re: My website wont run?

PostPosted: 18. September 2009 22:08
by blgrsguy
Ok something I tried actually worked. I renamed index.php to homepage.php. Navigated to http://localhost/ourwebsite/homepage.php and it works, well, somewhat. I am now having problems with my sql database but I'm working with the guy who wrote the code to resolve that. I have windows firewall disabled and now I'm checking to see if there might be another firewall running somewhere.

Re: My website wont run?

PostPosted: 18. September 2009 22:21
by Gadrin
Good luck to you. 8)

>