Completely Befuddled

Problems with the Windows version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

Completely Befuddled

Postby creacon » 21. August 2009 19:33

I'm brand new to web programming (although I've been a programmer for 50 years), and am trying to learn PHP & MySQL. As a result of some of my research, I came upon XAMPP, have downloaded and installed it. I started XAMPP in my browser (127.0.0.1) and read most of the information. I followed the PHP tutorial, and pretty much understood the code. NOW WHAT DO I DO? I can find nothing in the XAMPP pages that tells me how/where to; begin coding web pages, code php or set up MySQL tables.

Can someone PUHLEEEZZE help me get started?
creacon

Re: Completely Befuddled

Postby OrcaSoul » 25. August 2009 00:14

I'm almost in the same boat - I do know HTML/CSS/JScritp/Python, but am new to PHP...

I'm sure there will be better answers from the experts, but a couple of places I've found that might get you started:

http://www.freewebmasterhelp.com/tutorials/php - starts pretty basic, and goes from there.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KWRB-maT ... ature=fvwp - several videos on youtube. They are a bit techy but not too bad for getting some hints.

What took me the longest was understanding that all the files need to be in the htdocs folder under your xampp install folder.

Hope that helps.

Edit to add: http://www.php.net/ is THE PHP page, look for the documentation link.
OrcaSoul

Postby Ron Newman » 25. August 2009 13:37

I just finished taking this class at Harvard Summer School. Perhaps the recorded lectures (from a previous year) will be useful:

http://cs75.tv
Ron Newman

Postby OrcaSoul » 25. August 2009 17:48

I just took a quick look at the Flash version - looks like it may be worth spending some time in class!
OrcaSoul

Postby Ron Newman » 25. August 2009 18:09

That class is the reason I installed XAMPP, which I'd never heard of two months ago.