Page 2 of 2

Re: Specifying Different IP's To Domains

PostPosted: 14. July 2009 13:38
by glitzi85
Additional to Izzy:

If you have ONLY Webspace data on Partition D, nothing else, then you can use this:
Code: Select all
<Directory "D:/">
  Options Indexes FollowSymLinks Includes ExecCGI
  AllowOverride All
  Order allow,deny
  Allow from all
</Directory>

once outside the VirtualHost-Block instead of the same block in every vHost.

glitzi

Re: Specifying Different IP's To Domains

PostPosted: 15. July 2009 14:47
by 3Ddesktops.co.uk
thanks very much for all your help, I think all is working fine now.

Just one last thing if I may..........

I've added to additional ip's to the server for 2 of my other domains.

I've copied the format and added it to my conf file, however, when I check on domaintools both of my newly added url's are showing as my main ip.

Am I doing something wrong or could it be that there is some kind of delay that could be happening?

Here's my code

Code: Select all

<Directory "D:/h***s.org">
       Options FollowSymLinks
       AllowOverride All
       Order allow,deny
       allow from all
</Directory>

<VirtualHost 8***.196:80>
       ServerName www.h***s.org
       ServerAlias h***s.org
       DocumentRoot "D:/h***s.org"
</VirtualHost>

<Directory "D:/w***s.com">
       Options FollowSymLinks
       AllowOverride All
       Order allow,deny
       allow from all
</Directory>

<VirtualHost 8***7:80>
       ServerName www.w***s.com
       ServerAlias w***s.com
       DocumentRoot "D:/w***s.com"
</VirtualHost>


This is pasted directly beneath my first url with the new ip address.

Cheers everybody, your help has been invaluable, so much appreciated.

Re: Specifying Different IP's To Domains

PostPosted: 15. July 2009 16:07
by glitzi85
Yeah, DNS takes some time. It can take up to 24h until all DNS servers got the new information. You can check that directly if you want. Go to http://www.internic.net/whois.html enter your Domain and look in the result for the nameserver entries. Then you can make something like this (in the Command line):

Code: Select all
nslookup example.com ns.example.org

Replace:
example.com = Your Domain
ns.example.org = Nameserver entry from the whois-Database

glitzi

Re: Specifying Different IP's To Domains

PostPosted: 16. July 2009 16:28
by 3Ddesktops.co.uk
Hi guys,

I am still having issues with my additional ip's being recognised, I have checked through the links provided.

Here's my conf code, could you please take a look to see I have made an error somewhere

Code: Select all
# Use name-based virtual hosting.
#
NameVirtualHost *:80

#
# VirtualHost example:
# Almost any Apache directive may go into a VirtualHost container.
# The first VirtualHost section is used for all requests that do not
# match a ServerName or ServerAlias in any <VirtualHost> block.
#

   


<Directory "C:/xampp/htdocs">
  Options FollowSymLinks
  AllowOverride All
  Order allow,deny
  allow from all
</Directory>




<Directory "D:/f***s.com">
       Options FollowSymLinks
       AllowOverride All
       Order allow,deny
       allow from all
</Directory>

<VirtualHost 8***9:80>
       ServerName www.f***s.com
       ServerAlias f***s.com
       DocumentRoot "D:/f***s.com"
</VirtualHost>   



<Directory "D:/h***s.org">
       Options FollowSymLinks
       AllowOverride All
       Order allow,deny
       allow from all
</Directory>

<VirtualHost 8***6:80>
       ServerName www.h***s.org
       ServerAlias h***s.org
       DocumentRoot "D:/h***s.org"
</VirtualHost>


<Directory "D:/w***s.com">
       Options FollowSymLinks
       AllowOverride All
       Order allow,deny
       allow from all
</Directory>

<VirtualHost 8***7:80>
       ServerName www.w***s.com
       ServerAlias wi***s.com
       DocumentRoot "D:/w***s.com"
</VirtualHost>


    <VirtualHost *:80>
       ServerName www.3***s.co.uk
       ServerAlias 3***s.co.uk
       DocumentRoot "C:/xampp/htdocs/3***s.co.uk"
    </VirtualHost>



   <VirtualHost *:80>
       ServerName b***s.com
       ServerAlias b***s.com
       DocumentRoot "D:/b***s.com"
       <Directory "D:/b***s.com">
       Options Indexes FollowSymLinks Includes ExecCGI
       AllowOverride All
       Order allow,deny
       Allow from all
       </Directory>
    </VirtualHost>

    <VirtualHost *:80>
       ServerName www.r***o.com
       ServerAlias r***io.com
       DocumentRoot "D:/r***o.com"
       <Directory "D:/r***o.com">
       Options Indexes FollowSymLinks Includes ExecCGI
       AllowOverride All
       Order allow,deny
       Allow from all
       </Directory>
    </VirtualHost>



My url is fine and the first new ip domain is good with the new ip associated to it..... I don't quite understand why this is not working - I have added my new ip's as per the first ones method

Many thanks in advance

Re: Specifying Different IP's To Domains

PostPosted: 23. July 2009 19:55
by trunk
After running apache on unix systems for 10 years of time, its very sad for me to see that I am still not
able to use this thingy on windows. Tried all the ways but I cannot assign different ip's to virtual hosts.

I started believe I'm dumb.