Specifying Different IP's To Domains

Problems with the Windows version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

Re: Specifying Different IP's To Domains

Postby glitzi85 » 14. July 2009 13:38

Additional to Izzy:

If you have ONLY Webspace data on Partition D, nothing else, then you can use this:
Code: Select all
<Directory "D:/">
  Options Indexes FollowSymLinks Includes ExecCGI
  AllowOverride All
  Order allow,deny
  Allow from all
</Directory>

once outside the VirtualHost-Block instead of the same block in every vHost.

glitzi
User avatar
glitzi85
 
Posts: 1920
Joined: 05. March 2004 23:26
Location: Dahoim

Re: Specifying Different IP's To Domains

Postby 3Ddesktops.co.uk » 15. July 2009 14:47

thanks very much for all your help, I think all is working fine now.

Just one last thing if I may..........

I've added to additional ip's to the server for 2 of my other domains.

I've copied the format and added it to my conf file, however, when I check on domaintools both of my newly added url's are showing as my main ip.

Am I doing something wrong or could it be that there is some kind of delay that could be happening?

Here's my code

Code: Select all

<Directory "D:/h***s.org">
       Options FollowSymLinks
       AllowOverride All
       Order allow,deny
       allow from all
</Directory>

<VirtualHost 8***.196:80>
       ServerName www.h***s.org
       ServerAlias h***s.org
       DocumentRoot "D:/h***s.org"
</VirtualHost>

<Directory "D:/w***s.com">
       Options FollowSymLinks
       AllowOverride All
       Order allow,deny
       allow from all
</Directory>

<VirtualHost 8***7:80>
       ServerName www.w***s.com
       ServerAlias w***s.com
       DocumentRoot "D:/w***s.com"
</VirtualHost>


This is pasted directly beneath my first url with the new ip address.

Cheers everybody, your help has been invaluable, so much appreciated.
3Ddesktops.co.uk
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 10. July 2009 13:13

Re: Specifying Different IP's To Domains

Postby glitzi85 » 15. July 2009 16:07

Yeah, DNS takes some time. It can take up to 24h until all DNS servers got the new information. You can check that directly if you want. Go to http://www.internic.net/whois.html enter your Domain and look in the result for the nameserver entries. Then you can make something like this (in the Command line):

Code: Select all
nslookup example.com ns.example.org

Replace:
example.com = Your Domain
ns.example.org = Nameserver entry from the whois-Database

glitzi
User avatar
glitzi85
 
Posts: 1920
Joined: 05. March 2004 23:26
Location: Dahoim

Re: Specifying Different IP's To Domains

Postby 3Ddesktops.co.uk » 16. July 2009 16:28

Hi guys,

I am still having issues with my additional ip's being recognised, I have checked through the links provided.

Here's my conf code, could you please take a look to see I have made an error somewhere

Code: Select all
# Use name-based virtual hosting.
#
NameVirtualHost *:80

#
# VirtualHost example:
# Almost any Apache directive may go into a VirtualHost container.
# The first VirtualHost section is used for all requests that do not
# match a ServerName or ServerAlias in any <VirtualHost> block.
#

   


<Directory "C:/xampp/htdocs">
  Options FollowSymLinks
  AllowOverride All
  Order allow,deny
  allow from all
</Directory>




<Directory "D:/f***s.com">
       Options FollowSymLinks
       AllowOverride All
       Order allow,deny
       allow from all
</Directory>

<VirtualHost 8***9:80>
       ServerName www.f***s.com
       ServerAlias f***s.com
       DocumentRoot "D:/f***s.com"
</VirtualHost>   



<Directory "D:/h***s.org">
       Options FollowSymLinks
       AllowOverride All
       Order allow,deny
       allow from all
</Directory>

<VirtualHost 8***6:80>
       ServerName www.h***s.org
       ServerAlias h***s.org
       DocumentRoot "D:/h***s.org"
</VirtualHost>


<Directory "D:/w***s.com">
       Options FollowSymLinks
       AllowOverride All
       Order allow,deny
       allow from all
</Directory>

<VirtualHost 8***7:80>
       ServerName www.w***s.com
       ServerAlias wi***s.com
       DocumentRoot "D:/w***s.com"
</VirtualHost>


    <VirtualHost *:80>
       ServerName www.3***s.co.uk
       ServerAlias 3***s.co.uk
       DocumentRoot "C:/xampp/htdocs/3***s.co.uk"
    </VirtualHost>



   <VirtualHost *:80>
       ServerName b***s.com
       ServerAlias b***s.com
       DocumentRoot "D:/b***s.com"
       <Directory "D:/b***s.com">
       Options Indexes FollowSymLinks Includes ExecCGI
       AllowOverride All
       Order allow,deny
       Allow from all
       </Directory>
    </VirtualHost>

    <VirtualHost *:80>
       ServerName www.r***o.com
       ServerAlias r***io.com
       DocumentRoot "D:/r***o.com"
       <Directory "D:/r***o.com">
       Options Indexes FollowSymLinks Includes ExecCGI
       AllowOverride All
       Order allow,deny
       Allow from all
       </Directory>
    </VirtualHost>



My url is fine and the first new ip domain is good with the new ip associated to it..... I don't quite understand why this is not working - I have added my new ip's as per the first ones method

Many thanks in advance
3Ddesktops.co.uk
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 10. July 2009 13:13

Re: Specifying Different IP's To Domains

Postby trunk » 23. July 2009 19:55

After running apache on unix systems for 10 years of time, its very sad for me to see that I am still not
able to use this thingy on windows. Tried all the ways but I cannot assign different ip's to virtual hosts.

I started believe I'm dumb.
trunk
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 23. May 2009 20:46

Previous

Return to XAMPP for Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 53 guests